为什么家长选择国际学校?

Is an international school right for your child?
在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

父母为孩子选择国际学校的原因有很多。在这篇文章中,我们可以发现为什么外籍人士和本地家长都选择国际学校的教育和课程。

倾向于国际学校教育的外籍家庭往往经常搬家或计划在不久的将来搬家。对于当地父母来说,接受国际学校教育可能是一个优先事项,因为他们的孩子打算在国外继续接受教育,或者至少他们希望他们有机会这样做。但是,我们一再看到家长选择国际学校有5个主要原因。

  1. 孩子的幸福
  2. 与本国相比的教育质量
  3. 机构的规模和基础设施
  4. 课后活动的选择
  5. 国际社会

家长们是怎么说的。

我们请一位已将孩子送入德国国际学校的母亲向我们解释她选择国际学校的原因。以下是她的回答。

从英国搬到德国是一个奇妙的、可怕的但最终是有益的经历。

2015年搬到德国杜塞尔多夫是一次美妙的、令人恐惧的但最终是有益的经历。虽然我们从英国搬到杜塞尔多夫是为了我丈夫的工作,但事实上,我们一直希望能在国外生活的冒险。

在确认工作和福利之前,我们开始研究杜塞尔多夫的教育选择。当时,我们的两个儿子分别是5岁和7岁。他们是(现在也是!)善良、有趣、聪明的男孩。开始寻找时,我们认为我们的任务是三年。这个时间框架已被愉快地延长。

我们在12月抵达德国,体验了传统的圣诞市场
我们在12月抵达德国,体验了传统的圣诞市场

我们很幸运,我们的搬迁代理能够在12月几个非常寒冷的日子里带我们参观当地的国际学校和社区。那绝对是12月,因为每当这种经历让我不知所措时,我丈夫就带我去Weihnachtsmarkt买Glühwein(圣诞市场)。

这一直是我们家庭的正确选择。

最后,我们选择了 杜塞尔多夫国际学校 (ISD)。这对我们家庭来说是正确的选择。我们的孩子在学校的环境中茁壮成长,特别是在开放的教室里,能够作为学校的一部分探索课题。 IB课程.

我相信,每个家庭的学校决定都是独特的,是基于对他们的情况最关键的因素。然而,在做出学校选择时,必须考虑清楚几件事。

以下是我们选择国际学校的5个首要原因。

父母为其子女选择国际学校有几个原因。
父母为其子女选择国际学校有几个原因。

1.儿童的幸福

"我的孩子在这所学校会快乐吗?"这是任何考虑改变孩子的家长的头号问题。我们家同时考虑了短期和长期的幸福。短期:学校是否有良好的反欺凌政策?长期:学校能否为他们提供良好的继续教育资格?我们问了很多关于从不同文化背景开始的学生所得到的支持的问题。孩子们的幸福是我们的首要标准。

2.与本国相比的教育质量

与我们国内的教育理念相比,这里的教育理念如何?这对我们来说是一个痛苦的问题。是让孩子们继续留在同一个学校教育体系中更好,还是我们想为他们提供一个接受不同类型教育的机会?如果我们被遣返回英国,孩子们会好吗?
有几个因素让我感到放心,....

  • "基本事实"。

    你知道吗,我们在任何时候都可以教给孩子至少300万个不同的 "事实"?谁来决定什么是重要和基本的事实?在英国,我们认为亨利八世的六个妻子是重要的事实。但是,如果我的孩子以后生活在日本,有人会在意他们不知道克莱维斯的安妮是第四任妻子吗?
  • 社会技能的重要性。

    学校不仅仅是数学和科学,它也是社交和学习与他人合作的场所。在所有的国际学校中,文化和语言的混合意味着在任何一天,你都可能在操场上与来自欧洲、南美洲和/或亚洲的孩子一起玩耍。
  • 儿童获得成绩的方式。

    我们是想让孩子们定期接受学习测试,还是鼓励探究式学习?说实话,我们从来没有考虑过这些问题,但我们知道我们不喜欢我们的孩子在4岁时就被打分,告诉他们什么是 "好 "或 "坏",特别是在他们的学校生涯中这么早。

3.机构的规模和基础设施

我们希望孩子们能去一个更大的学校,尤其是国际社会经常搬家!我们希望孩子们能去一个更大的学校。我们从经验中得知,看着你的孩子与他们最好的朋友告别,真的很难受。因此,找到一所每个年级都有几个班级的学校--这样我们的孩子就有了选择友谊的机会--是一个重要的标准。作为家长,你要寻找现代化的技术、良好的师生比例和漂亮的学校体育馆,我们的孩子是根据操场来选择他们最喜欢的学校的。

孩子们根据操场挑选他们最喜欢的学校
孩子们根据操场挑选他们最喜欢的学校

4.课后活动的选择

确保孩子们有广泛的机会和运动,让他们忙碌起来也很重要。搬到德国后,我有更多的时间和孩子们在一起,也有更多的机会让我们在课余时间做一些事情。我们希望学校有音乐课、体育课、马戏团技能、戏剧俱乐部等等。这些课后活动意味着大量的本地旅行,但仅在今年,我们就有越野赛、钢琴、小号、游泳、橄榄球和乒乓球等活动!这些都是我们的目标。他们的机会是无穷无尽的。

5.国际社会

(这次是为我准备的。)在我们从英国过渡到德国的过程中,找到一个支持我的社区是非常重要的。从帮助购买食物,到学习在哪里购买学校的鞋子,或者了解到我需要在邮筒上写上我的名字,否则就永远不会收到邮件在ISD,有一个欢迎新家庭的委员会,有在学校做志愿者的机会,有年级的咖啡会,有来自大多数国家的代表,还有很多很多。

根据这些标准,我们选择了适合我们家庭的学校。每个家庭都必须决定什么是适合自己孩子的。在杜塞尔多夫,我们很幸运地有几所国际学校可以选择。

与我交谈的大多数新父母都有一个共同点:他们希望他们的孩子能够快乐。

要对自己的直觉有信心--它可能是正确的!

通过 凯蒂-肯尼迪 - 杜塞尔多夫国际商业妇女组织的创始人和主席

撰写人

杜塞尔多夫国际学校

International School of Düsseldorf

杜塞尔多夫国际学校成立于1968年,是一所非营利性的独立男女混合日间学校,位于凯泽斯韦特国际社区的中心。由于我们的非盈利地位,我们所有的收入都被投资回学校,用于学生的利益。

Why Parents Choose International Schools?

Is an international school right for your child?
Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

There are several reasons why parents might choose an international school for their children. Discover in this article why expats and local parents alike choose the education and curriculum of international schools.

Expat families who favor international schooling tend to move regularly or are planning to move in the near future. For local parents, getting an international school education can be a priority because their kids are planning to continue their education abroad, or at least they want them to have the opportunity to do so. But there are 5 main reasons we see again and again why parents choose an international school:

  1. The Child’s Happiness
  2. The Quality of Education Compared to the Home Country
  3. The Size and Infrastructure of the Institution
  4. The Selection of After School Activities
  5. The International Community

What Parents Are Saying:

We asked a mother who has enrolled her children in an International School in Germany to explain to us the reasons why she chose an International School. Here are her answers:

Moving from England to Germany was a wonderful, terrifying—but ultimately rewarding—experience.

Moving to Düsseldorf, Germany in 2015 was a wonderful, terrifying—but ultimately rewarding—experience. While we moved from England to Düsseldorf for my husband’s job, in truth, we had always wanted the adventure of living abroad.

Before confirming the job and benefits, we began researching education options in Düsseldorf. At the time, our two boys were ages 5 and 7. They were (and still are!) kind, funny, clever boys. When the search began, we believed our assignment would be for three years. That timeframe has been happily extended.

We arrived in Germany in December and experienced the traditional Christmas Market
We arrived in Germany in December and experienced the traditional Christmas Market

We were lucky that our relocation agent was able to show us around the local international schools and neighborhoods during several very cold December days. It was definitely December, because every time the experience overwhelmed me, my husband took me to a Weihnachtsmarkt for Glühwein (Christmas Market).

This has been the right choice for our family.

In the end, we chose the International School of Düsseldorf (ISD). This has been the right choice for our family. Our children thrive in the school environment, particularly with open classrooms and the ability to explore topics as part of the IB programmes.

I believe that each family’s school decision is unique based on the factors that are most critical for their circumstances. However, it is important to think through several things when making your school choice.

Here are the 5 top reasons why we chose an international school:

There are several reasons why a parent would choose international schools for their children.
There are several reasons why a parent would choose international schools for their children.

1. The Child’s Happiness

“Will my child be happy at the school?” This is the number one question that any parent considering a change has for their child. Our family considered both short- and long-term happiness. Short-term: does the school have a good anti-bullying policy? Long-term: will the school provide them with good qualifications for further education? We asked many questions about the support given to students when starting from a different culture. The happiness of our children was our number one criteria.

2. The Quality of Education Compared to the Home Country

How does the education philosophy compare to the one in our home country? This was an agonising question for us. Was it better to have the children remain in the same schooling system or did we want to offer them a chance at a different type of education? If we repatriated back to the UK, would the children be ok?
I was reassured by several factors….

  • “Essential Facts”:

    Did you know there are at least 3 million different “facts” that we could teach our children at any given time? Who decides what is an important and essential fact? In the UK, we think that the 6 wives of Henry VIII are important facts. But if my children go on to live in Japan, does anyone care that they don’t know that Anne of Cleves was wife number 4?
  • The importance of Social Skills:

    School is not just about maths and science, it’s also about socialising and learning to work with others. In all international schools, the mix of cultures and languages means that on any day you can be playing with a child from Europe, South America, and/or Asia on the playground.
  • The way children get grades:

    Do we want the children to be tested regularly on their learning or do we encourage inquiry-based learning? To be honest, we had never considered these questions but we knew we didn’t like the way our children had been graded at 4 years old and told what they were “good” or “bad” at, particularly so early in their school careers.

3. The Size and Infrastructure of the Institution

We wanted the children to go to a larger school, especially since the international community moves around a lot! We learned from experience, it is really hard to watch your children say good-bye to their best friend. As a result, finding a school with several classes for each grade – so our children had a choice of friendships – was an important criterion. As a parent, you look for modern technology, a good student/teacher ratio, and a nice school gym, our children picked their favourite based on the playground!

Children picked their favourite school based on the playground
Children picked their favourite school based on the playground

4. The Selection of After School Activities

Making sure that the children have a wide range of opportunities and sports to keep them busy can also be important. The move to Germany gave me more time with the children and more chances for us to do things after school. We wanted a school with music lessons, sports classes, circus skills, a drama club, and more. These after-school activities mean a lot of local travel, but we have cross country, piano, trumpet, swimming, rugby, and table tennis this year alone! Their opportunities are endless.

5. The International Community

(One for me this time.) It was important to find a community to support me as we made the transition from the UK to Germany. From help with food shopping, to learning where to buy school shoes, or learning that I would need my name on the postbox or would never receive mail! At ISD, there is a Welcome Committee for new families, opportunities to volunteer at the school, grade level coffees, representatives from most countries and much, much more.

With these criteria, we chose the right school for our family. Each family must decide what is right for their children. We are fortunate in Düsseldorf to have several international schools from which to choose.

Most new parents I speak with have one thing in common: they want their children to be happy.

Have confidence in your intuition—it’s probably right!

By Katy Kennedy – Founder and Chair of the International Women in Business Düsseldorf

Written by

International School of Düsseldorf

International School of Düsseldorf

Founded in 1968, the International School of Düsseldorf is a not-for-profit, independent, co-educational day school located in the heart of the international community of Kaiserswerth. Due to our non-profit status, all our income is invested back into the school for the benefit of our students.