实现(心理)飞跃:大学的检查清单

在世界各地,学生们正准备走出巢穴,进入大学的大跃进。在这一时期 北京耀中国际学校辅导员乔纳森-梅伦 他特别忙于帮助学校即将毕业的校友准备离开北京耀中的事宜。上个月,他与我们分享了他为学生准备的关于大学行李的建议,这个月他又带来了帮助你的学子准备思想的建议。

以下是他为毕业生提供的检查清单,以确保他们的头脑具备进行重大转变的能力。
心理检查表列表
1.成长心态
保持开放的心态,知道你将面临不可预见的挑战。不要害怕这一点,但要准备好尝试从每一个挑战和挫折中学习。这些挑战可以成为个人和智力成长的机会。

2.灵活的态度
进入大学,在很多方面都像进入一个全新的世界。你会遇到新的文化、规范和做事的方式。重要的是,你要做好妥协的准备,这将有助于最大限度地减少冲突、文化冲击和挫折感。

3.适度的期望
管理你的期望。大学将是一个令人兴奋的大变化,但它可能不会达到你所有的希望。尽量避免在你开始上课之前就对你的大学经历进行心理规划。不可能知道未来几年会发生什么,最好是顺其自然。

4.清晰的自我意识
接受你是谁,扔掉任何在大学里重塑自己或采用新(假)角色的计划。了解和接受你是谁,是做出符合你最佳利益的决定的最好工具。如果你需要帮助了解你是谁,可以尝试做一个性格测试,并列出你的优势和劣势。这应该有助于你开始更清楚地看到自己。

5.明确的目标
写下你上大学的主要原因,以及你对大学生涯的一些S.M.A.R.T.(具体、可衡量、可实现、相关、有时限)目标。把这份总体目标的清单放在你可以方便查阅的地方。这份清单可以作为你在大学里的指南针,帮助你记住你为什么在那里,你最终想要实现什么,并防止你在即将进入的广阔新世界里迷失方向。

6.社会计划
准备好去玩吧!研究你感兴趣的校园团体并进行联系。尽量在你到达之前建立联系,这样你到了那里就有可以联系的人。学校的网站和在线搜索相关的社交媒体账户是开始的好地方。即使你是一个内向的人,也不要跳过这个步骤。保持最低限度的社交计划是可以的,但课堂和宿舍生活之外的社交活动可以帮助你管理压力,避免孤立。

7.预算
这一点常常被忽视。与你的父母坐下来,审查你将获得的资金(无论是通过工作还是你父母的支持),并将你将面临的所有费用逐项列出。尽量考虑到所有的事情,是的,甚至包括非学术性的费用,以避免紧张的、意外的财务惊喜。从最基本的开始:书本、学校用品、活动、食物、娱乐、交通等。

8.个人护理技能
也许你很幸运,一辈子都有一个阿伊,或者你的父母只是超级照顾你所有的家庭需求,但现在你要自己出去了。学会洗衣服和做基本的食物,练习洗碗,确保你清楚地知道你需要多久换一次毛巾和床单(提示:建议每周一次)。没有人会在你身边照顾你的个人卫生和护理需求,你需要胜任这项工作。

最后,北京耀中国际学校的辅导员乔纳森-梅伦想提供两点临别建议。

"态度是你去任何地方都要带的最重要的东西,大学也不例外。积极的态度是没有人可以给你的,只有你自己可以培养这种态度。

"责任感是在内部培养起来的。人们可以给你提示和指导,但要靠你自己来培养这种特质。"

我们祝愿所有的毕业生在大学及以后的生活中取得圆满成功!

我们希望你认为这份大学 "心理检查表 "对你有帮助。

访问北京耀中的 网站 以找到更多关于为学生的大学成功做准备的提示。

Taking the (Mental) Leap: A Checklist for University

June 5, 2019

Around the world students are preparing to take the big leap out of the nest and into university. During this time Yew Chung International School of Beijing (YCIS Beijing) Guidance Counsellor Jonathan Mellen is particularly busy helping the school’s soon-to-be alumni prepare for their departure from YCIS Beijing. Last month he shared with us the advice he’d prepared for students on packing for university and this month he’s back with tips to help your scholars prepare their minds.

Here is his checklist for graduates, to ensure their minds are equipped to make the big transition.

Mental Checklist List

1. Growth Mindset
Keep an open mind and know you will face unforeseen challenges. Don’t fear this, but be prepared to try to learn from every challenge and set back. These challenges can become opportunities for personal and intellectual growth.

2. Flexible Attitude
Entering university will be in many ways like entering an entirely new world. You will encounter new cultures, norms and ways of doing things. It’s important that you come prepared to compromise, this will help minimise conflict, culture shock and frustration.

3. Moderate Expectations
Manage your expectations. University will be a big exciting change, but it might not live up to all of your hopes. Try to avoid mentally mapping your college experience before you have even started classes. It’s impossible to know what the next few years will hold, and it’s advisable to take things as they come.

4. Clear Sense of Self
Accept who you are and throw out any plans to remake yourself or adopt a new (false) persona at university. Knowing and accepting who you are is the best tool in making decisions in your best interest. If you need help understanding who you are, try taking a personality test and making a list of your strengths and weaknesses. This should help you start to see yourself more clearly.

5. Clear Goals
Write down your main reason for going to university along with some S.M.A.R.T. (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant and Time-bound) goals you have for your university career. Keep this list of over-arching goals somewhere you can easily access it. This list can serve as a compass for you at university, helping you to remember why you are there, what you ultimately want to achieve, and keeping you from getting lost in the broad new world you are about to enter.

6. Social Plans
Prepare to have fun! Research the groups on campus you are interested in and make contact. Try to establish a connection before you arrive, so you have people to connect with when you get there. The school’s website and online searches for the relevant social media accounts are good places to start. Even if you are an introvert, don’t skip this step. It’s ok to keep your social plans minimal, but social interaction outside of classes and dormitory life can help you manage stress and avoid isolation.

7. Budget
This one is far too often overlooked. Sit down with your parents, review the money you will have access to (whether through a job or your parents’ support) and make an itemised list of all the expenses you will face. Try to think of everything, yes even the non-academic costs, to avoid stressful, unexpected financial surprises. (Start with the basics: books, school supplies, activities, food, entertainment, transportation, etc.)

8. Personal Care Skills
Maybe you have been lucky enough to have an Ayi your whole life, or your parents were just super in taking care of all of your home needs, but now you are heading out on your own. Learn to do laundry and cook basic foods, practice washing dishes, be sure you are clear on how often you need to change your towels and bed sheets (hint: once a week is advisable). No one will be around to take care of your personal hygiene and care needs, you need to be up to the task.

 

In closing YCIS Beijing University Guidance Counsellor Jonathan Mellen would like to offer two pieces of parting advice:

“Attitude is the most important thing you will bring with you anywhere you go, university is no different. A positive attitude is something no one can give you, only you can cultivate this within yourself.”

“Responsibility is fostered within. People can give you tips and guidance, but it’s up to you to develop this trait.”

 

We wish all graduates every success at university and beyond!

We hope you found this ‘Mental Checklist’ for university helpful.

Visit YCIS Beijing’s website to find more tips on preparing students for university success.

Related articles Guides How much Chinese can a child realistically learn? Tips The Value of After School Activities Region Guide 3 Benefits of Studying in an International School…

Read more