什么是好的IB成绩?

What does a university consider a good score on International Baccalaureate (IB)?

良好的IB成绩--与任何学术资格一样--是主观的,高度依赖于学生的目标大学(和国家)和首选课程。所有的IB学生都需要在六个科目上获得至少24分。历年的IB平均分数在28-30分之间。

哈佛大学和耶鲁大学等美国顶尖大学要求考生至少达到36-38分才能被考虑录取。

在资格审查过程中,还要对领导素质、体育荣誉和其他非学术成就进行评估。牛津剑桥等著名的英国大学可能会优先考虑IGCSE等国家标准,而不是IB成绩。

另一方面,一些私立大学可能提供27个IBDP点数的医学课程。

然而,一个好的IBDP分数通常可以被解释为创造了加入一所著名大学的快速通道系统的机会。例如,3门高考科目的成绩都是7分,可能会使考生有资格参加哈佛大学的高级课程,学生可以绕过某些入门课程,比同龄人早一年毕业。

虽然学生可以获得IBDP的最高分45分(相当于IB毕业生总数的1%),但大学入学可能最终要通过对考生的潜力(即社会贡献和参与度)和IB核心科目的相关性进行综合分析来决定。

Curricula August 2, 2020

What is a Good IB Score?

Good IB scores as with any academic qualifications, are subjective, being highly dependent on a student’s target university (and country) and preferred course. All IB students are required to score a minimum of 24 points for six subjects. The average IB scores throughout the years have varied between 28-30 points.

Top American universities such as Harvard and Yale require candidates to score at least 36-38 points to be considered for placement.

The qualifying process is followed up with the assessment of leadership qualities, sporting accolades, and other non-academic achievements. Prestigious UK universities such as Oxbridge might prioritize national standards such as IGCSE, over IB scores.

On the other hand, some private universities may offer a medical course for 27 IBDP points.

However, a good IBDP score may be generally interpreted as one that creates opportunities to join a fast-track system within a distinguished university. For example, straight 7s in 3 HL subjects might qualify candidates for Harvard’s advanced standing, where students may bypass certain introduction courses and graduate a year earlier than their peers.

While students may acquire the highest possible score of 45 IBDP points (which translates to1% of the total IB graduates), university entry may be ultimately decided through a comprehensive analysis of a candidate’s potential (i.e.social contributions and participation) and the relevance of IB core subjects.