Was ist das International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP)?

Wir haben 4 International Baccalaureate-Experten gebeten, zu erklären, was das IB Diploma Programme ist und wie es funktioniert. Erfahren Sie mehr darüber in diesem Artikel!

Was ist das IB-Diplom-Programm (IBDP)?
Wie ist das IB-Diplom-Programm (IBDP) aufgebaut?
Was sind die Vorteile des IB Diploma Programme (IBDP)?
Wie sieht es mit der universitären Anerkennung des IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) aus?
Ist das IB-Diplom-Programm (IBDP) das Richtige für Sie?
Lesen Sie die vollständigen Antworten der IB-Experten

Lesen Sie die Antworten der IB-Experten von die besten IB-Schulen der Welt !

Was ist das IB-Diplom-Programm (IBDP)?

Das IBDP (International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme) ist ein hochwertiger zweijähriger IB-Kurs, der Schülern im Alter von 16 bis 19 Jahren aus der ganzen Welt angeboten wird. Das IBDP zielt darauf ab, die Schüler körperlich, intellektuell, emotional und ethisch zu entwickeln, und es gipfelt in der Verleihung eines weltweit anerkannten Diploms.

Experten sagen:
Das IB DP ist ein zweijähriges Programm, das in den letzten zwei Jahren der High School angeboten wird. Die Schüler lernen 6 Fächer und drei Kernelemente und absolvieren am Ende der Programme Prüfungen, die zu einem IB-Diplom führen.

Experten sagen:
Das International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program (DP) richtet sich an Schüler im Alter von 16-19 Jahren, die eine Top-Universität fast überall auf der Welt besuchen möchten. Es ist für Schüler gedacht, die eine umfassende Ausbildung anstreben und ein anspruchsvolles, aber lohnendes Studienprogramm suchen. Das IBDP ist auch für Schüler geeignet, die hoffen, ein besseres Verständnis für verschiedene Sprachen, Kulturen und global bedeutsame Ideen und Themen zu erlangen.

Wie ist das IB-Diplom-Programm (IBDP) aufgebaut?

Experten sagen:
Das International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP), es ist ein strenges 2-Jahres-ProgrammDie Abschlussprüfungen finden am Ende der zwei Jahre im Mai statt. Es gibt 6 Fachgruppen im Angebot für IBDP, und die Schüler wählen einen Kurs aus jeder der Fächergruppen. Es besteht auch die Möglichkeit, anstelle eines Kurses in The Arts einen zusätzlichen Kurs in Sciences, Individuals and Societies oder Languages zu belegen. Das IBDP ist unterteilt in Ebenen, wobei jeder Student verpflichtet ist, die mindestens 3(aber nicht mehr als 4) Fächer auf Higher Level ( HL), und die übrigen auf Standard-Pegel ( SL). HL- und SL-Kurse unterscheiden sich im Umfang, aber weniger Fächer werden nach denselben Notendeskriptoren gemessen, wobei von den Schülern erwartet wird, dass sie einen größeren Umfang an Wissen, Verständnis und Fähigkeiten auf einem höheren Niveau nachweisen. Abgesehen von den Fächergruppen, hat das IBDP 3 obligatorische Kernelemente: Theorie des Wissens( TOK), der Erweiterte Aufsatz( EE), und Kreativität, Aktion, Service ( CAS). Theory of Knowledge fordert die Studierenden auf, über die Natur des Wissens nachzudenken und darüber, wie wir wissen, was wir zu wissen behaupten. Es wird durch eine mündliche Präsentation und einen Aufsatz mit 1.600 Wörtern bewertet. Der Extended Essay ist eine eigenständige Arbeit, die mit einem 4.000 Wörter umfassenden Aufsatz abgeschlossen wird. Schließlich erfordert CAS Studenten mit kreativen, körperlichen und karitativen / freiwilligen Aktivitäten zu engagieren.

Was sind die Vorteile des IB Diploma Programme (IBDP)?

Das IBDP bietet Schülern und Familien eine Menge Vorteile:

  • Es bietet sowohl Breite als auch Tiefe für das Studium;
  • Es ist ein weltweit anerkanntes Programm;
  • Es fördert die akademische Entwicklung der Studenten;
  • Es wird durch umfangreiche und kontinuierliche Forschung in Bezug auf Lehrplan und Pädagogik unterstützt.
Experten sagen:
Das IB-Diplom ist ein strenges Programm, das die Schüler mit dem Wissen, den Fähigkeiten und der Einstellung vorbereitet, um an der Universität und im Leben außerhalb der Universität gut abzuschneiden. Die Stärke des IB-Diploms ist, dass es sowohl tief als auch breit ist. IB-Forschungen zeigen, dass Schüler, die ein IB-Diplom erwerben, mit größerer Wahrscheinlichkeit an Top-Universitäten eingeschrieben werden und ihren Abschluss eher schaffen (www.ibo.org/research, 2014).

Experten sagen:
Die Entscheidung für das IB Diploma Program hat viele Vorteile. Die Schüler sind besser in der Lage, ein anspruchsvolles Arbeitspensum zu bewältigen, die an sie gestellten Erwartungen zu erfüllen und ihre Zeit zu managen. Es gibt den Schülern auch einen viel breiteren Blick auf das Leben und erhöht ihr Verständnis für verschiedene Sprachen, Kulturen und global bedeutsame Ideen und Themen.

Experten sagen:
Erstens ist das IB in (fast) jedem Land der Welt als hervorragende Vorbereitung für den Universitätszugang anerkannt. Das bedeutet, dass die Schüler in ihrer Zukunft mobil sein können, was ihnen erlaubt, ihren Horizont für ein zukünftiges Studium und eine Beschäftigung zu erweitern, da das IBO von Arbeitgebern als Post-16-Qualifikation anerkannt wird.

Experten sagen:
Das IBDP fördert auch die akademische Entwicklung der Schüler und hilft ihnen, akademisch selbstbewusster, unabhängiger und kritischer zu werden. Es lehrt die Schüler, ihre eigene Zeit zu verwalten und Themen über ihre Fächer hinweg zu erforschen, anstatt jedes Fach als in sich geschlossen zu behandeln. Dies bereitet die Schüler darauf vor, echte Akademiker mit einer fortschrittlichen Herangehensweise an das Studium zu werden, so dass sie an der Universität voll durchstarten können.

Wie sieht es mit der universitären Anerkennung des IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) aus?

Experten sagen:
Ausgezeichnet. Während nicht alle Länder den Schwierigkeitsgrad des Programms wirklich erkennen und daher unrealistische Erwartungen in Bezug auf die Noten für die Zulassung setzen, öffnet eine starke IBDP-Punktzahl insgesamt die Türen zu Top-Universitäten weltweit. Eltern und Schüler müssen sich jedoch darüber im Klaren sein, dass das IBDP kein automatischer Zugang ist: Schüler müssen immer noch eine hohe Punktzahl erreichen, wenn sie Weltklasse-Universitäten anstreben. Länder wie Kanada sind IBDP-Schülern gegenüber sehr aufgeschlossen, und einige Universitäten in den USA bieten für gute Noten in den höheren Fächern eine Anrechnung an. Enttäuschend ist, dass russische Universitäten und einige Länder in Mittel- und Südamerika nicht gleichermaßen einladend sind, während deutsche und Schweizer Universitäten strenge Vorschriften darüber haben, welche Fächer akzeptiert werden.

Ist das IB-Diplom-Programm (IBDP) das Richtige für Sie?

Bei der Entscheidung, ob das IBDP die richtige Wahl für Sie ist, spielen so viele Faktoren eine Rolle. Um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die richtige Entscheidung treffen, lesen Sie, was die Experten der besten IB-Schulen sagen!

Sind Sie dem Lernen verpflichtet?
Das IB-Diplom-Programm ist ein anspruchsvoller und inhaltsschwerer Kurs, der konstante Arbeit und hervorragende Leistungen über einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren erfordert.

Experten sagen:
Schüler, die das IB-Diplom ablegen, schneiden besser ab, wenn sie eine gute Einstellung zum Lernen haben und nicht abgeneigt sind, hart zu arbeiten. Das IB ist eine gute Wahl für Schüler, die planen, nach der High School an die Universität zu gehen.

Experten sagen:
Das IBDP ist ein strenges Programm, das Entschlossenheit, Engagement und Durchhaltevermögen erfordert. Als IBDP-Koordinator ist es meine Aufgabe, die Schüler durch den Prozess zu führen und sicherzustellen, dass sie auf dem richtigen Weg sind, um ihre Noten und Universitätsanforderungen zu erfüllen. Wenn Sie mehr wissen möchten, empfehle ich Ihnen, mit dem IBDP-Koordinator an Ihrer Schule zu sprechen!

Was sind Ihre zukünftigen akademischen Ziele?
Das IB-Diplomprogramm verfolgt einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz und zielt darauf ab, "gut abgerundete Schüler" zu entwickeln. Daher setzt es sie einer viel größeren Bandbreite an Fächern aus als andere Lehrpläne, die dazu neigen, sich intensiv auf ein bestimmtes Fach zu konzentrieren.

Experten sagen:
Viele Schüler beschreiben den IB-Lehrplan als anspruchsvoll, aber lohnend. Schüler, die sich lieber auf weniger Fächer konzentrieren möchten, um ein Spezialgebiet zu schaffen, bevorzugen vielleicht andere Lehrpläne. Die Schüler möchten vielleicht auch überlegen, wo sie ihre Ausbildung fortsetzen möchten und welche Studienprogramme am besten zu den von ihnen angestrebten höheren Bildungszielen beitragen.

Lesen Sie die vollständigen Antworten der IB-Experten

KIS Internationale Schule

Was ist das DP-Programm (DP)?
Das IB DP ist ein zweijähriges Programm, das in den letzten zwei Jahren der High School angeboten wird. Die Schüler lernen 6 Fächer und drei Kernelemente und absolvieren am Ende der Programme Prüfungen, die zu einem IB-Diplom führen.

Für wen ist das Programm gedacht?
Das Programm ist für 16-19-Jährige.

Was sind die Vorteile?
Das IB-Diplom ist ein strenges Programm, das die Schüler mit dem Wissen, den Fähigkeiten und der Einstellung vorbereitet, um an der Universität und im Leben außerhalb der Universität gut abzuschneiden. Die Stärke des IB-Diploms ist, dass es sowohl tief als auch breit ist. IB-Forschungen zeigen, dass Schüler, die ein IB-Diplom absolvieren, mit größerer Wahrscheinlichkeit an Top-Universitäten eingeschrieben werden und mit größerer Wahrscheinlichkeit ihren Abschluss machen (www.ibo.org/research, 2014). Schüler, die das IB-Diplom ablegen, müssen sich nicht früh spezialisieren und können sich die Entscheidung, was sie studieren oder in welchem Bereich sie arbeiten möchten, auf später verschieben. Die Kernelemente des Diploms bieten darüber hinaus Vorteile, die andere Curricula nicht beinhalten. Die Schüler lernen, den Status quo in allen ihren Fächern zu hinterfragen, indem sie Wissenstheorie lernen. Sie führen ein ausgeglichenes Leben, indem sie sich in Kreativität, Aktivität und Service engagieren, und durch das Schreiben ihrer originären Forschungsarbeit, dem Extended Essay, festigen sie ihre Fähigkeiten in Recherche, Schreiben, Zitieren und Zeitmanagement. Zusätzlich zu diesen Fähigkeiten sind IB-Schüler unabhängig, aufgeschlossen und kulturbewusst, was ihnen hilft, an der Universität erfolgreich zu sein.

Wie kann ich wissen, ob es die richtige Wahl für mein Kind ist?
Schüler, die das IB-Diplom ablegen, schneiden besser ab, wenn sie eine gute Einstellung zum Lernen haben und nicht abgeneigt sind, hart zu arbeiten. Das IB ist eine gute Wahl für Schüler, die planen, nach der High School an die Universität zu gehen.

Collège Alpin Beau Soleil

Was sind die Vorteile des IBDP? Warum sollten Sie es wählen?
Das Collège Alpin International Beau Soleil plädiert für drei Hauptgründe, das IBDP zu wählen. Erstens ist das IB in (fast) allen Ländern der Welt als hervorragende Vorbereitung für den Hochschulzugang anerkannt. Das bedeutet, dass die Schüler in ihrer Zukunft mobil sein können, was ihnen ermöglicht, ihren Horizont für ein späteres Studium und eine Beschäftigung zu erweitern, da das IBO von Arbeitgebern als Qualifikation für die Zeit nach dem 16. Lebensjahr anerkannt wird. Zweitens bietet das IB sowohl Breite als auch Tiefe des Studiums und ermöglicht es den Schülern, ihre Schwerpunkte zu wählen (Naturwissenschaften, Sprachen, Geisteswissenschaften, darstellende und bildende Künste), während sie gleichzeitig anderen Studienbereichen, wie z. B. der Kommunikation, Bedeutung beimessen. Kommunikation und die Fähigkeit, effektiv zu kommunizieren, ist eine Schlüsselqualifikation in jedem Bereich durch schriftliche, mündliche, mathematische und wissenschaftliche Formen. Der letzte Grund bezieht sich auf die Herausforderung des IB-Programms, das sich nicht nur auf die akademischen Fächer konzentriert, sondern von den Schülern verlangt, auch an andere zu denken, indem sie sich für andere einsetzen und sich durch Reflexion, Aktivität und Kreativität um ihr eigenes Wohlbefinden kümmern. Ein Schüler im IBDP kann sich nicht einfach zwei Jahre lang wegschließen und studieren!

Wie sieht es mit der universitären Anerkennung des IBDP aus?
Ausgezeichnet. Während nicht alle Länder den Schwierigkeitsgrad des Programms wirklich erkennen und daher unrealistische Erwartungen in Bezug auf die Noten für die Zulassung setzen, öffnet eine starke IBDP-Punktzahl insgesamt die Türen zu Top-Universitäten weltweit. Eltern und Schüler müssen sich jedoch darüber im Klaren sein, dass das IBDP kein automatischer Zugang ist: Die Schüler müssen immer noch hohe Punktzahlen erreichen, wenn sie Weltklasse-Universitäten anstreben. Länder wie Kanada sind IBDP-Schülern gegenüber sehr aufgeschlossen, und einige Universitäten in den USA bieten für gute Noten in den höherwertigen Fächern eine Anrechnung an. Enttäuschend ist, dass russische Universitäten und einige Länder in Mittel- und Südamerika nicht gleichermaßen einladend sind, während deutsche und Schweizer Universitäten strenge Vorschriften darüber haben, welche Fächer akzeptiert werden, aber insgesamt profitieren die Schüler, die ihren Abschluss an der Beau Soleil machen, von der Teilnahme am IBDP.

Die Amerikanische Internationale Schule

Was ist das DP-Programm (DP)?
Das International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program (DP) richtet sich an Schüler im Alter von 16-19 Jahren. Es gibt viele Vorteile des Diploma Program, da es darauf abzielt, Schüler zu entwickeln, die eine ausgezeichnete Breite und Tiefe des Wissens haben. In der Regel blühen Schüler, die das Diploma Program absolvieren, körperlich, intellektuell, emotional und ethisch auf. Sie fühlen sich oft vollständig für die Herausforderungen, die sie in der Hochschulbildung begegnen ausgestattet.

Für wen ist das Programm gedacht?
Das International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program (DP) richtet sich an Schüler im Alter von 16-19 Jahren, die eine Top-Universität fast überall auf der Welt besuchen möchten. Es ist für Schüler gedacht, die eine umfassende Ausbildung anstreben und ein anspruchsvolles, aber lohnendes Studienprogramm suchen. Das IBDP ist auch für Schüler geeignet, die hoffen, ein besseres Verständnis für verschiedene Sprachen, Kulturen und global bedeutsame Ideen und Themen zu erlangen.

Was sind die Vorteile?
Die Entscheidung für das IB Diploma Program hat viele Vorteile. Die Schüler sind besser in der Lage, ein anspruchsvolles Arbeitspensum zu bewältigen, die an sie gestellten Erwartungen zu erfüllen und ihre Zeit zu managen. Es gibt den Schülern auch einen viel breiteren Blick auf das Leben und erhöht ihr Verständnis für verschiedene Sprachen, Kulturen und global bedeutsame Ideen und Themen.

Curricula July 11, 2019

What is the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP)?

We asked 4 International Baccalaureate experts to explain what is the IB Diploma Programme and how it works. Learn more about this in this article!

What is the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP)?
How is the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP)structured?
What are the Benefits of the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP)?
What’s the university recognition of the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) like?
Is the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) right for you?
Read the Full Answers by IB Experts

Read the answers provided by the IB Experts from the best IB schools in the world !


What is the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP)?

The IBDP (International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme) is a high-quality two-year IB course offered to students aged 16 to 19 from all over the world. The IBDP aims to develop students physically, intellectually, emotionally and ethically, and it culminates in the award of a worldwide recognized Diploma.
Experts Say:
The IB DP is a two-year programme offered in the last 2 years of high school. Students study 6 subjects and three core elements and complete examinations at the end of the programmes, resulting in an IB Diploma.
Experts Say:
The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program (DP) is for students aged 16-19 who wish to attend a top university almost anywhere in the world. It is for students who are looking to become wholly educated and seeking a challenging, but rewarding program of study. The IBDP is also for students who hope to gain an increased understanding of different languages, cultures, and globally significant ideas and issues.


How is the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) structured?

Experts Say:
The International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP), It’s a rigorous 2-year programme, with students sitting final exams at the end of the two years in May. There are 6 subject groups on offer for IBDP, and students choose one course from each of the subject groups. There is also the option to study an additional Sciences, Individuals and Societies, or Languages course instead of a course in The Arts. The IBDP is divided into levels, with each student required to take at least 3(but not more than 4) subjects at Higher Level ( HL), and the remaining at Standard Level ( SL). HL and SL courses differ in scope but fewer subjects are measured according to the same grade descriptors, with students expected to demonstrate a greater body of knowledge, understanding, and skills at a higher level. Aside from the subject groups, the IBDP has 3 compulsory core elements: Theory of Knowledge( TOK), the Extended Essay( EE), and Creativity, Action, Service ( CAS). Theory of Knowledge asks students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, and on how we know what we claim to know. It is assessed through an oral presentation and a 1,600-word essay. The Extended Essay is an independent piece of study that culminates with a 4,000-word paper. Finally, CAS requires students to get involved with creative, physical and charitable/voluntary activities.


What are the Benefits of the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP)?

The IBDP offers students and families a lot of benefits:

  • It provides both breadth and depth to study;
  • It’s a recognized programme throughout the world;
  • It encourages students’ academic development;
  • It is supported by extensive and continual research into curriculum and pedagogy.
Experts Say:
The IB Diploma is a rigorous programme that prepares students with the knowledge, skills and attitudes to do well at university and life outside of university. The strength of the IB Diploma is that it is both deep and broad. IB research shows that students graduating with an IB Diploma are more likely to be enrolled at top universities and are more likely to complete their degree (www.ibo.org/research, 2014).
Experts Say:
There are many benefits to choosing the IB Diploma Program. Students are better able to cope with demanding workloads, meet expectation placed on them, and manage their time. It also gives students a much broader view of life and increases their understanding of different languages, cultures, and globally significant ideas and issues.
Experts Say:
Firstly, the IB is recognized in (almost) every country in the world as excellent preparation for university entry. This means that students can be mobile in their future, allowing them to broaden their horizons for future study and employment as the IBO is recognised by employers as a post-16 qualification.
Experts Say:
The IBDP also encourages students’ academic development, helping become more academically confident, independent and critical. It teaches students how to manage their own time, and to explore themes across their subjects rather than treating each subject as self-contained. These prepare students to become true academics with an advanced approach to study, allowing them to hit the ground running at university.


What’s the university recognition of the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) like?

Experts Say:
Excellent. While not all countries truly recognize the difficulty of the programme and therefore set unrealistic expectations in terms of grades for entry, overall a strong IBDP score will open doors to top universities world-wide. Parents and students must be aware, however, that the IBDP is not an automatic entry: students still have to achieve high scores if they are targeting world-class universities. Countries like Canada have very welcoming policies for IBDP students, and some USA universities offer advanced credit for strong grades in the higher level subjects. Disappointingly, Russian universities and some countries in Central and South America are not equally welcoming, while German and Swiss universities have strict regulations on which subjects are accepted.

Is the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) right for you?

When deciding if the IBDP is the right choice for you, there are so many factors at play. In order to make sure you will make the right decision, read what the best IB schools’ experts say!

Are You Committed to Learning?
The IB Diploma Programme is a demanding and content-heavy course which requires constant work and excellent performance over a two-year period.

Experts Say:
Students taking the IB Diploma do better if they have a good attitude towards learning and are not averse to working hard. The IB is a good choice for students planning on going to university after high school.
Experts Say:
The IBDP is a rigorous programme that requires determination, commitment and perseverance. As IBDP Coordinator, my role is to help guide students through the process and ensure that they are on track to meet their grades and university requirements. If you would like to know more, I recommend speaking to the IBDP Coordinator at your school!
What are your Future Academic Goals?
The IB Diploma Program takes a holistic approach, and aims to develop “well-rounded students”, therefore it exposes them to a much wider range of subjects than other curriculums which tend to focus intensively on a particular subject.
Experts Say:
Many students describe the IB curriculum as challenging, but rewarding. Students who would prefer to focus on fewer subjects to create an area of specialism may prefer different curricula. Students may also wish to consider where they would like to continue their education and what programs of study will contribute best to their chosen higher education aspirations.

Read the Full Answers by IB Experts

Yew Chung International School (YCIS)

At YCIS Beijing we offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP), which students study in Year 12 and Year 13. It’s a rigorous two-year programme, with students sitting final exams at the end of the two years in May. There are six subject groups on offer for IBDP, and students choose one course from each of the subject groups. There is also the option to study an additional Sciences, Individuals and Societies, or Languages course instead of a course in The Arts. The IBDP is divided into levels, with each student required to take at least three (but not more than four) subjects at Higher Level (HL), and the remaining at Standard Level (SL). HL and SL courses differ in scope but fewer subjects are measured according to the same grade descriptors, with students expected to demonstrate a greater body of knowledge, understanding and skills at higher level. Aside from the subject groups, the IBDP has three compulsory core elements: Theory of Knowledge, the Extended Essay, and Creativity, Action, Service (CAS). Theory of Knowledge asks students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, and on how we know what we claim to know. It is assessed through an oral presentation and a 1,600 word essay. The Extended Essay is an independent piece of study that culminates with a 4,000 word paper. Finally, CAS requires students to get involved with creative, physical and charitable/voluntary activities. YCIS Beijing also supports the bilingual IB Diploma. If a student studies Chinese or Korean Language and Literature in school, they may earn a bilingual IB Diploma. Alternatively, students may take Language and Literature in their self-studied mother tongue, also enabling them to complete the bilingual Diploma. In 2018, more than half of our students earned a bilingual Diploma.

Who is the programme for?
It’s for academically strong students aged 16-19 years old, especially for those aiming for places at the world’s leading universities.

What are the benefits?
The nature of the IBDP means that there are many benefits to students, spanning academic and non-academic areas. Firstly, in terms of university applications. The IBDP is recognised by universities in nearly 150 countries worldwide. CAS, the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge all provide students with ample material for university application essays. The demands of the course also prepare students for the academic step-up at university, and some universities even give course credit for IBDP courses taken. It also encourages students’ academic development, helping become more academically confident, independent and critical. It teaches students how to manage their own time, and to explore themes across their subjects rather than treating each subject as self-contained. These prepare students to become true academics with an advanced approach to study, allowing them to hit the ground running at university.

How to know if it is the right choice for my child?
The IBDP is a rigorous programme that requires determination, commitment and perseverance. As IBDP Coordinator at YCIS Beijing, my role is to help guide students through the process and ensure that they are on track to meet their grades and university requirements. If you would like to know more, I recommend speaking to the IBDP Coordinator at your school!


KIS International School

What is the DP Programme (DP)?
The IB DP is a two year programme offered in the last 2 years of high school. Students study 6 subjects and three core elements and complete examinations at the end of the programmes, resulting in an IB Diploma.

Who is the programme for?
The programme is for 16-19 year olds.

What are the benefits?
The IB Diploma is a rigorous programme that prepares students with the knowledge, skills and attitudes to do well at university and life outside of university. The strength of the IB Diploma is that it is both deep and broad. IB research shows that students graduating with an IB Diploma are more likely to be enrolled at top universities and are more likely to complete their degree (www.ibo.org/research, 2014). Students taking the IB Diploma do not have to specialize early and they can leave their options of what to study or in which field they would like to work until later. The core elements of the Diploma furthermore provide benefits that other curricula don’t include. Students learn to question the status quo in all of their subjects by learning Theory of Knowledge. They lead a balanced life by engaging in Creativity, Activity and Service, and through writing their original research paper, the extended essay, they solidify their skills in research, writing, citation and time management. On top of these skills, IB students are independent, open-minded and culturally aware, which helps them to be successful at university.

How to know if it is the right choice for my child?
Students taking the IB Diploma do better if they have a good attitude towards learning and are not averse to working hard. The IB is a good choice for students planning on going to university after high school.


Collège Alpin Beau Soleil

What are the benefits of the IBDP? Why should you choose it?
Collège Alpin International Beau Soleil advocates three main reasons for choosing the IBDP. Firstly, the IB is recognized in (almost) every country in the world as excellent preparation for university entry. This means that students can be mobile in their future, allowing them to broaden their horizons for future study and employment as the IBO is recognised by employers as a post-16 qualification. Secondly, the IB provides both breadth and depth to study, allowing students to choose their areas of strength (Science, Languages, Humanities, Performing and Fine Arts) whilst still giving importance to other fields of study such as communication. Communication and the ability to communicate effectively is a key skill in every field through written, oral, mathematical and scientific forms. The final reason relates to the challenge of the IB programme which does not focus only on academics but requires students to also think of others through Service and to care for their own wellbeing through reflection, Activity, and Creativity. A student on the IBDP cannot simply shut themselves away for two years and study!

What’s the university recognition of the IBDP like?
Excellent. While not all countries truly recognize the difficulty of the programme and therefore set unrealistic expectations in terms of grades for entry, overall a strong IBDP score will open doors to top universities worldwide. Parents and students must be aware, however, that the IBDP is not an automatic entry: students still have to achieve high scores if they are targeting world-class universities. Countries like Canada have very welcoming policies for IBDP students, and some USA universities offer advanced credit for strong grades in the higher level subjects. Disappointingly, Russian universities and some countries in Central and South America are not equally welcoming, while German and Swiss universities have strict regulations on which subjects are accepted, but overall students graduating from Beau Soleil benefit by taking the IBDP.


The American International School

What is the DP Programme (DP)?
The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program (DP) is for students aged 16-19. There are many benefits to the Diploma Program, as it aims to develop students who have excellent breadth and depth of knowledge. Typically, students taking the Diploma Program flourish physically, intellectually, emotionally, and ethically. They often feel completely equipped for the challenges they encounter in higher education.

Who is the programme for?
The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program (DP) is for students aged 16-19 who wish to attend a top university almost anywhere in the world. It is for students who are looking to become wholly educated and seeking a challenging, but rewarding program of study. The IBDP is also for students who hope to gain an increased understanding of different languages, cultures, and globally significant ideas and issues.

What are the benefits?
There are many benefits to choosing the IB Diploma Program. Students are better able to cope with demanding workloads, meet expectation placed on them, and manage their time. It also gives students a much broader view of life and increases their understanding of different languages, cultures, and globally significant ideas and issues.