School Holidays in the Netherlands in 2020

 FeatImage_SchoolHolidaysNetherlands2_1920x716-min School Holidays in the Netherlands in 2020 | World Schools

Are you or one of your family members attending one of The Best International Schools in the Netherlands?  Learn more about the school holidays in the Netherlands!

The Netherlands is divided into three regions for the school holidays (north, central, and south). Spreading the school holidays across the three regions helps control peaks in holiday traffic.
See overview of the three regions, with their provinces and municipalities

Fixed school holidays in the Netherlands

Some school holidays (schoolvakanties) such as the summer, Christmas, and May vacations, are fixed. The May holiday cannot be moved, but schools can extend it by one week. It is therefore important to always check the precise dates with your school.

Flexible school holidays in the Netherlands

Schools are allowed to deviate from the advised holiday period for spring break and the autumn holiday. For example, schools in the south of the Netherlands often shift their spring break forward to correspond with Carnival, instead of having it later like the rest of the country. Autumn vacation dates can also be flexible for school districts, but usually, these remain the same as the advised dates.

Note: When a national holiday is not mentioned, means it’s already included in a school break period of time (ex. 2nd day of Christmas, King’s Day)

School Holidays in the Netherlands 2020

*All dates are subject to errors and changes

Autumn breakfrom 19-10-2019
to 27-10-2019
Only North and Central
Autumn breakfrom 12-10-2019
to 20-10-2019
Only South
Christmas breakfrom 21-12-2019
to 05-01-2020
All regions
Spring breakfrom 15-02-2020
to 23-02-2020
Only North
Spring breakfrom 22-02-2020
to 01-03-2020
Only Central and South
Good friday10-04-2020National holiday
Easter Monday13-04-2020National holiday
May breakfrom 25-04-2020
to 03-05-2020
All regions
Ascension day21-05-2020National holiday
Whit Monday01-06-2020National holiday
Summer breakfrom 04-07-2020
to 16-08-2020
Only North
Summer breakfrom 18-07-2020
to 30-08-2020
Only Central
Whit Mondayfrom 11-07-2020
to 23-08-2020
Only South

Interested in the best schools in the Netherlands?

We recommend you to check:
The Best International Schools in the Netherlands


Dutch school regions

Schools in Holland are broken out by province across three regions: North (‘Noord’), Central (‘Midden’) and South (‘Zuid’). More details below!

The Northern region
(regio noord)

Province of GroningenAll municipalities
Province of FrieslandAll municipalities
Province of DrentheAll municipalities
Province of OverijsselAll municipalities
Province of Flevoland
All municipalities except Zeewolde
Province of GelderlandHattem
Province of UtrechtEemnes and the former municipality of Abcoude
Province of North HollandAll municipalities

The Central region
(regio midden)

Province of FlevolandZeewolde only
Province of GelderlandAalten, Apeldoorn, Barneveld, Berkelland, Bronckhorst, Brummen, Buren, Culemborg, Doetinchem, Ede, Elburg, Epe, Ermelo, Geldermalsen, Harderwijk, Heerde, Lingewaal, Lochem, Montferland (except the former municipality of Didam), Neder-Betuwe (except the former municipality of Dodewaard), Neerijnen, Nijkerk, Nunspeet, Oldebroek, Oost-Gelre, Oude IJsselstreek, Putten, Scherpenzeel, Tiel, Voorst, Wageningen, Winterswijk and Zutphen
Province of UtrechtAll municipalities except Eemnes and the former municipality of Abcoude
Province of South Holland
All municipalities
Province of North Brabant

Werkendam (except the communities of Hank and Dussen) and Woudrichem

The Southern region
(regio zuid)

Province of GelderlandArnhem, Beuningen, Doesburg, Druten, Duiven, Groesbeek, Heumen, Neder-Betuwe (only the former municipality of Dodewaard), Lingewaard, Maasdriel, Millingen aan de Rijn, Montferland (only the former municipality of Didam), Nijmegen, Overbetuwe, Renkum, Rheden, Rozendaal, Rijnwaarden, Ubbergen, Westervoort, West Maas & Waal, Wijchen, Zaltbommel and Zevenaar
Province of ZeelandAll municipalities
Province of North BrabantAll municipalities except Woudrichem and the communities of Sleeuwijk, Nieuwendijk and Werkendam in the municipality of Werkendam
Province of LimburgAll municipalities