Choosing a School January 30, 2020

School holidays in Canada 2019-20

Are you or one of your family members attending one of The Best International Schools in Canada?  Learn more about the school holidays in Canada!


School year in Canada runs from early September to mid-June. Students enjoy a two-week break at Christmas and two weeks in March.

The first day of school for students is Tuesday, September 3, 2019.
The last day of school for elementary students is Thursday, June 25, 2020.

Note: A School Board may modify school calendar dates with prior approval of the Ministry. Please contact school boards to see if their School Holidays have been modified.

See all Canada Provinces and Territories list


School holidays in Canada 2019-20

*All dates are subject to errors and changes

Holiday Date Regions
Labour Day 02-09-2019 National
Thanksgiving Day 14-10-2019 National
Remembrance Day 11-11-2019 National except MB, NS, ON, QC
Christmas break from 23-12-2020
to 03-01-2020
Family Day 17-02-2020 BC, AB, SK, ON, NB
Islander Day 17-02-2020 PE
Louis Riel Day 17-02-2020 MB
Heritage Day 17-02-2020 NS
Mid-Winter break from 16-03-2020
to 20-03-2020
Good Friday 10-04-2020 National except QC
Easter Monday 13-04-2020/td>

Victoria Day 18-05-2020 National except NB, NS, NL
Aboriginal Day 21-06-2020 NWT
St.Jean Baptiste Day 24-06-2020 QC
Canada Day 01-07-2020 National

Interested in the best schools in Canada?
We recommend you to check:
The Best International Schools in Canada
The Best Boarding Schools in Canada
The Best Private Schools in Canada

All Provinces and Territories in Canada
Canada has ten provinces, and three territories.
The provinces of Canada, and the Canadian provinces abbreviations are the following:

AB – Alberta
BC – British Columbia
MB – Manitoba
NB – New Brunswick
NL – Newfoundland and Labrador
NS – Nova Scotia
ON – Ontario
PE – Prince Edward Island
QC – Quebec
SK – Saskatchewan

NT – Northwest Territories
NU – Nunavut
YT – Yukon

These provinces and territories are grouped into into Western Canada, Atlantic Canada, Northern Canada, and Central Canada.