你需要知道的关于高考的一切。事实与虚构

Fulford-Academy-Graduation-world-schools-best-schools-canada-ap-advanced-placement
在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

高级课程是这是一种包容性的方式,使学生成功地准备好他们在大学、工作场所和其他地方所需的技能。

什么是AP?
大学先修课程(AP)是一个旨在向高中生教授11和12年级的大学水平课程的项目。如果学生在AP考试中取得高分,他们可以获得课程学分,并在被大学录取后升入二年级课程。

高考是什么时候开始的?
高考是在二战结束后在美国创立的,由3所预科学校和3所大学进行试点。哈佛大学、普林斯顿大学和耶鲁大学。该计划在为学生进入大学做准备方面很成功,1955年,该计划被大学理事会接管,并在美国和加拿大推广。

Fulford-Academy-AP-Offers-Advanced-Placement-Best-schools-Canada-worldschools

高考的优势是什么?
AP的一个巨大优势是,参加高级预科(9-10年级)和高级课程(11-12年级)的学生,可以获得 软技能和批判性思维能力 这为他们在大学和工作场所的成功奠定了基础。它使学生能够磨练他们的 研究技能学习有效的时间管理,获得 信心 通过演讲技巧,使他们有能力看到解决问题的不同方法。

AP是为谁准备的?
AP的设计是为了适应 不同类型的学习者它训练教师有一个灵活的方法来适应学习风格。AP课程的理念是具有包容性,鼓励那些可能对学习新事物犹豫不决的学生去尝试它。例如;鼓励一个更有创造性学习的学生学习计算机科学,不要被这个学科吓倒。AP培训的教师给予必要的支持和关怀,让所有学生在学习中获得成功,走出自己的舒适区。

高考。虚构与事实
在我与家长的谈话中,偶尔会出现一些关于该计划的误解。

  • AP是针对所有学生的吗?

小说。AP只适用于已经有高成绩的学生。
事实。AP是为任何在学术上有准备并有动力通过大学水平的课程来扩展其学习的学生而设。

  • AP课程值得吗?

小说。AP课程只会增加不必要的压力。
事实。AP课程具有挑战性,但学生从AP教师那里得到的支持将使你的学习压力减少。

  • 我需要在AP考试中获得5分才能获得大学学分吗?

小说。如果我在AP考试中没有得到5分,我就得不到大学的学分。
事实。你不一定要在AP考试中取得5分的成绩。许多大学会授予3分或更高的学分。

  • AP成绩是否会影响我的录取机会?

小说。选修AP课程会损害我的整体分数。
事实。这一点很重要,你的AP分数是私人的,除非你选择与大学分享。

Fulford-Academy-Students-Best-schools-Canada-worldschools-ap-advanced-placement-highschool-worldschools

大学先修课程对学生来说是有趣的、具有挑战性和有价值的。如果你觉得这可能是适合你的学生,你可以通过以下方式获得更多信息 大学委员会网站 并询问您孩子的学校辅导员是否提供AP课程。这个项目的好处将持续一生。

Byline: 约翰娜-齐格勒 招生主任。 福尔福德学院

撰写人

福尔福德学院

Fulford Academy

"福尔福德学院是一所男女合校的私立走读/寄宿学校,位于加拿大安大略省布洛克维尔,这里是雄伟的圣劳伦斯河上著名的1000岛的所在地。福尔福德学院成立于2002年,提供6至12年级的课程,可获得著名的OSSD-安大略省中学文凭。 我们的专业学术课程包括ESL预科、大学预科、双高中文凭课程和学术暑期班。福尔福德学院独特的课程设置具有高度差异化的教学,强化的语言支持,并强调科学、技术、工程、数学和艺术(STEM +A),确保学生在全球教育机构中具有竞争力。

Tips December 13, 2018

All you Need to Know About Advanced Placement: Fact Vs Fiction

Advanced Placement is an inclusive way to successfully prepare students with the skills they need for university, the workplace and beyond.

What is AP?
Advanced Placement (AP) is a program designed to teach high school students a university-level curriculum in grades 11 and 12. If a student has a high score in their AP examinations, they may be granted course credits and advance to second-year courses upon acceptance to a university.

When did Advanced Placement Start? 
Advanced Placement was created at the end of World War II in the US and piloted by 3 prep schools and 3 universities: Harvard, Princeton and Yale University. The program was successful in preparing students for university and in 1955, the program was taken over by the College Board and expanded across the US and Canada.

Fulford-Academy-AP-Offers-Advanced-Placement-best-schools-canada-worldschools

Which are the Advantages of Advanced Placement?
A huge advantage of AP is that students who take pre-advanced placement (grade 9-10) and Advanced Placement (grade 11-12), gain the soft skills and critical thinking skills that sets them up for success in university and in the workplace. It allows students to sharpen their research skills, learn effective time management, gain confidence through presentation skills and gives them the ability to see different ways of problem-solving.

Who is AP for?
AP is designed to accommodate different types of learners, and it trains teachers to have a flexible approach to accommodate learning styles. The philosophy of the AP course is to be inclusive, and encourages students who may be hesitant to learn something new, to try it. For example; a more creative-learning student is encouraged to learn computer science and not be intimidated by the subject matter. AP trained teachers to give the necessary support and care for all students to be successful in their learning and getting out of their comfort zone.

Advanced Placement: Fiction Vs Fact
There are some misconceptions about the program that occasionally come up in my conversations with parents about the program:

  • Is AP for all students?

Fiction: AP is only for students who already have high grades.
Fact: AP is for any student who is academically prepared and motivated to expand their learning with university-level courses.

  • Are AP courses worth it?

Fiction: AP courses will only add unnecessary stress.
Fact: AP courses are challenging, yet the support students receive from AP teachers will take the stress off of what you are learning.

  • Do I need to get 5 on AP exam to get University Credit?

Fiction: If I don’t score 5 out of 5 on my AP exam, I won’t get my university credit.
Fact: You don’t necessarily have to score 5 out of 5 on your AP exams. Many universities will grant credit for 3 or higher.

  • Will AP Scores Affect my Chances of Admission?

Fiction: Taking AP courses will hurt my overall marks.
Fact: This is important to note, your AP mark is private unless you choose to share it with universities.

Fulford-Academy-Students-best-schools-canada-worldschools-ap-advanced-placement-highschool-worldschools

Advanced Placement courses are interesting, challenging and rewarding for students. If you feel that this could be the right fit for your student, you can get more information through the College Board website and ask your child’s school guidance counselor if they offer AP. The benefits of this program will last a lifetime.

Byline: Johanna Ziegler, Director of Admissions, Fulford Academy

Fulford Academy

Fulford Academy is a coeducational, private day/boarding school located in Brockville, Ontario Canada, home of the famous 1000 Islands on the majestic St. Lawrence River. Established in 2002,…

Read more