如何让孩子们开口说话|让我们谈谈吧!

Rachel George-YCIS_Beijing-Lets_Talk_About_It

让我们谈一谈!如何让我们的孩子开口说话

学生福利在 北京耀中国际学校 是我们全面教育的一个重要组成部分,今年已经推出了一些新的举措来促进健康。我们的学校辅导员Rachel George讨论了 "让我们谈谈吧" 项目,并向家长提供了一些关于让孩子说话的建议。

你可能已经看到了"让我们来谈谈这个问题"的海报在学校周围张贴。这是今年推出的一项重要的新举措。原先,"让我们来谈谈这个问题"诞生于我们的儿童保护培训:为了保证我们自己、同伴和孩子的安全,我们能做的最好的事情就是交谈。我们主持了一些关于说话的重要性的集会,并想出了这样一句话:"我的孩子们,你们的孩子们。让我们来谈谈这个问题",现在学校里随处可见。

Rachel George-YCIS_Beijing-Lets_Talk_About_It

作为这一举措的一部分,我们推出了一个"让我们来谈谈这个问题"部分的学校门户网站上。学生现在可以登录门户网站,并有一个直接链接到我的收件箱。他们可以通过门户网站向我提出问题,我可以作出回应。对于那些可能羞于与我当面交流的学生来说,这是一个很好的交流方式。

In continuation of the “让我们来谈谈这个问题” programme around school, Lower Secondary are currently working on the “YOU ARE OK” G100 project and last week, we launched the Secondary Peer Mentoring Scheme.

被指导者与比他们高两个年级的同一性别的学生指导者相匹配。我们现在正在培训我们的导师,告诉他们可以与他们的被指导者进行什么样的活动。这包括一起吃午饭、闲逛、协助做家庭作业、协助他们使用微软团队,以及一起阅读。我们鼓励学生向他们的老师提交一份日志,以便我们能够确保保持这种势头。

In doing all of these activities, I hope that we can really start to open up dialogue around school. I want YCIS Beijing to feel like a supportive, trustworthy family of students and staff who are here to listen and know how to offer support.

学校在福祉和心理健康方面发挥着重要作用,但家庭也是如此。作为家长,你可以做一些事情来支持可能有心事的孩子。

为支持你的孩子,要做的4件事。

1. Start the conversation. If you think your child seems worried or down, don’t expect them to open up first. Sit down and ask them if there is something on their mind.

2. 以身作则。如果你想让你的孩子向你敞开心扉,你需要让他们知道你也可以敞开心扉。谈谈你自己的忧虑和感受。这将有助于建立一个信任的对话。

3. 不要完成他们的句子。特别是对年幼的孩子,当他们在努力寻找话语时,很想替他们说话。但是,在他们处理自己的想法和想说的话时,给他们时间并表现出耐心真的很重要。

4. 选择正确的时间。选择一个合适的时机与你的孩子说话。如果他们有话要对你说,他们需要一个安静的空间,不用担心被打断。

Tips March 15, 2019

How to Get Kids Talking | Let’s Talk About It!

Let’s Talk About It! How to Get Our Kids Talking

Student welfare at Yew Chung International School of Beijing is an important part of our holistic education and this year a number of new initiatives have been introduced to promote wellbeing. Our school counsellor, Rachel George, discusses the “Let’s Talk About It” project, and offers some advice to parents on getting their children talking.

You may have seen the “Let’s Talk About It” posters around school. This is an important new initiative launched this year. Originally, “Let’s Talk About It” was born out of our child protection training: the best thing we can do to keep ourselves, our peers and our children safe is to talk. We led a number of assemblies on the importance of speaking up and came up with the line, “Let’s Talk About It”, which is now visible everywhere in school.

Rachel George-YCIS_Beijing-Lets_Talk_About_It

As part of this initiative, we launched a “Let’s Talk About It” section on the school portal. Students are now able to login to the portal and have a direct link to my inbox. They can send me questions via the portal and I can respond. For those students who might be shy to approach me in person, this is a great way to get talking.

In continuation of the “Let’s Talk About It” programme around school, Lower Secondary are currently working on the “YOU ARE OK” G100 project and last week, we launched the Secondary Peer Mentoring Scheme.

Mentees are matched with a student mentor of the same gender from two year levels above them. We are now training our mentors on the kinds of activities they can do with their mentee. This includes eating lunch together, hanging out, assisting with homework, assisting them with Microsoft Teams, and reading together. We are encouraging students to submit a log to their teachers so that we can make sure that momentum is kept up.

In doing all of these activities, I hope that we can really start to open up dialogue around school. I want YCIS Beijing to feel like a supportive, trustworthy family of students and staff who are here to listen and know how to offer support.

School plays an important role in wellbeing and mental health, but so does home. As a parent, there are things you can do to support your child who may have something on their mind.

4 Things to do to support your child:

1. Start the conversation. If you think your child seems worried or down, don’t expect them to open up first. Sit down and ask them if there is something on their mind.

2. Lead by example. If you want your child to open up to you, you need to show them that you can be open too. Talk about your own worries and feelings. This will help create a trusting dialogue.

3. Don’t complete their sentences. Especially with younger children, it’s tempting to speak for them when they’re struggling to find the words. But it’s really important to give them time and show patience while they process their thoughts and what they’re trying to say.

4. Pick the right time. Choose an opportune moment to speak to your child. If they have something to tell you, they need a quiet space without fear of interruption.

No related posts.

Read more