5 лучших советов при подаче документов в университеты США

Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в google
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в linkedin

Директор по консультированию в колледже в Колледж Альпин Бо СолейДжордж Кэсли знает толк в подаче документов в колледж. Здесь он делится своими 5 лучшими советами по подаче документов в университеты США, полученными за более чем 20-летний опыт подготовки студентов к будущей учебе.

Что вы можете сделать, чтобы извлечь максимальную пользу из подачи документов в университет?
Что вы можете сделать, чтобы извлечь максимальную пользу из подачи документов в университет?

1. Готовьтесь заранее - по крайней мере, за 18 месяцев.

Некоторые университеты США требуют от вас многого при подаче документов - вступительные тесты, эссе, дополнительные эссе, фильмы и т.д. Вы должны знать, что и когда вам нужно будет сделать, чтобы выполнить эти требования. Если университет требует, чтобы вы были капитаном спортивной команды, вам нужно подготовиться к этому. Если они говорят, что им нужен Оценка IB 42 вам нужно знать, что вы можете их получить. Начните готовиться заранее и планируйте, что от вас потребуется.

2. Не поддавайтесь влиянию рейтингов и турнирных таблиц

Каждый университет претендует на звание лучшего в чем-то. Быть "номером 1" в чем-либо не означает, что университет вам подходит. Глобальные рейтинги, как правило, отдают предпочтение крупным традиционным учебным заведениям с большим объемом исследований, таким как Лига плюща. Означает ли тот факт, что в конкретном учебном заведении есть всемирно известный исследовательский факультет по одной дисциплине, что оно вам подходит? Подумайте о том, что для вас важно. Какие критерии имеют для вас значение? Будьте честны с собой. Чтобы быть счастливым и делать все, что в ваших силах, возможно, нужно быть в Гарвардно, скорее всего, нет. В США насчитывается более 3500 университетов, и о том, который вам подходит, вы, возможно, еще даже не слышали.

3. Ставьте себя на первое место

Вы - студент, который проведет три или четыре года своей жизни, обучаясь в университете, который вы посещаете. Что вы хотите получить от своего образования и опыта? Что поможет вам стать тем человеком, которым вы хотите быть? Это решение, которое в корне изменит вашу жизнь, и важно, чтобы вы сделали то, что правильно для вас, а не для вашего друга, или родителя, или дяди, которые, несмотря на свои лучшие намерения, не являются людьми, которые будут жить повседневной жизнью.  

 4. Проведите исследование

Выбор университетов в США огромен. Учебные заведения чрезвычайно разнообразны. Вам нужно использовать множество различных инструментов поиска, чтобы найти подходящий для вас вуз. Обязательно посетите презентационные встречи университетов, поговорите с представителями, пообщайтесь со студентами, которые получили опыт. Вы хотите, чтобы ваш университетский опыт основывался на том, что у вас уже хорошо получается, поэтому обсудите свои идеи с преподавателями, они могут дать вам честную оценку ваших способностей, чтобы вы могли соотнести их с подходящим учебным заведением.

 5. Сделай это сам

The best applications are those that shout out your personality and abilities and that you have shed blood, sweat, and tears over. The best applications come from your heart. For you to feel the satisfaction of going to the university that is right for you, you need to write the application. Applying to university is a time consuming and sometimes stressful experience so there is a temptation to pay someone else to do it for you. Whilst there are some good agencies who might be able to help, no one can write as authentically about yourself as you.   

Написано

Колледж Альпин Бо Солей

College Alpin Beau Soleil

Основанная в 1910 году школа Beau Soleil является одной из старейших частных школ-пансионов в Швейцарии. Она предоставляет полное пансионное образование для учащихся более 55 различных национальностей в возрасте от 11 до 18 лет. Учитывая наше живописное расположение в швейцарских Альпах, мы стремимся обеспечить образование, которое поощряет полное участие наших студентов как в классе, так и за его пределами.

Top 5 Tips When Applying to US Universities

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Director of College Counselling at Collège Alpin Beau Soleil, George Casley, knows a thing or two about college applications. Here he shares his top 5 tips for applying to universities in the USA, learned over more than 20 years of experience preparing students for their future studies.

What can you do to make the most out of your university application?
What can you do to make the most out of your university application?

1. Prepare early—at least 18 months in advance

Some US universities ask a lot from you in your application—entrance tests, essays, supplementary essays, films, etc. You need to know what you are going to have to do and when to satisfy these requirements. If a university wants you to have been captain of a sports team you need to prepare for that. If they say they want an IB score of 42 you need to know you can get it. Start preparing early and planning for what you will be asked to do.

2. Do not be swayed by rankings and league tables

Every university claims to be top for something. Being “number 1” for anything does not make the university right for you. Global rankings tend to favour large research-heavy traditional institutions like Ivy League. Does the fact that a particular institution has a world-renowned research faculty in one discipline mean that it is right for you? Think about what is important for you. What criteria matter to you? Be honest with yourself.  To be happy and do your best might involve being at Harvard, but probably not. In the US there are over 3,500 universities and the one that is right for you, you may not have even heard of yet.

3. Put yourself first

You are the student who will spend three or four years of your life learning at the university you attend. What is it that you want from your education and experience?  What will help you to be the person you want to be? This is a decision that will fundamentally change your life and it is important that you do what is right for you and not your friend or your parent, or your uncle—who despite their best intentions, are not the people who will be living the day to day experience.  

 4. Do the Research

The choice of universities in the US is enormous. Institutions are extraordinarily different. You need to use lots of different search tools to find where is right for you. Make sure you join the university presentation meetings, talk to the representatives, speak to students who have lived the experience. You want your university experience to build on what you already do well—so, discuss your ideas with your teachers, they can give you an honest assessment of your abilities so that you can match these with the right institution.

 5. Do it yourself

The best applications are those that shout out your personality and abilities and that you have shed blood, sweat, and tears over. The best applications come from your heart. For you to feel the satisfaction of going to the university that is right for you, you need to write the application. Applying to university is a time consuming and sometimes stressful experience so there is a temptation to pay someone else to do it for you. Whilst there are some good agencies who might be able to help, no one can write as authentically about yourself as you.   

Written by

College Alpin Beau Soleil

College Alpin Beau Soleil

Founded in 1910 Beau Soleil is one of the oldest private boarding schools in Switzerland. It provides a full boarding education for students from over 55 different nationalities aged 11-18 years old. Given our spectacular location in the Swiss Alps we aim to provide an education which encourages full participation from our students both inside and outside the classroom.