Top 5 Tipps für die Bewerbung an US-Universitäten

Teilen auf facebook
Teilen auf twitter
Teilen auf linkedin

Leiter der College-Beratung bei Collège Alpin Beau SoleilGeorge Casley, kennt sich mit College-Bewerbungen aus. Hier teilt er seine Top-5-Tipps für die Bewerbung an Universitäten in den USA, die er in mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung bei der Vorbereitung von Studenten auf ihr zukünftiges Studium gelernt hat.

Was können Sie tun, um das Beste aus Ihrer Hochschulbewerbung zu machen?
Was können Sie tun, um das Beste aus Ihrer Hochschulbewerbung zu machen?

1. Frühzeitig vorbereiten - mindestens 18 Monate im Voraus

Einige US-Universitäten verlangen in Ihrer Bewerbung viel von Ihnen - Eingangstests, Aufsätze, Zusatzaufsätze, Filme usw. Sie müssen wissen, was Sie wann tun müssen, um diese Anforderungen zu erfüllen. Wenn eine Universität von Ihnen verlangt, dass Sie Kapitän einer Sportmannschaft waren, müssen Sie sich darauf vorbereiten. Wenn sie sagen, sie wollen einen IB-Note von 42 müssen Sie wissen, dass Sie sie bekommen können. Beginnen Sie frühzeitig mit der Vorbereitung und planen Sie, was von Ihnen verlangt wird.

2. Lassen Sie sich nicht von Rankings und Ranglisten beeinflussen

Jede Universität behauptet, für irgendetwas top zu sein. Die "Nummer 1" für irgendetwas zu sein, bedeutet nicht, dass die Universität die richtige für Sie ist. Globale Rankings bevorzugen tendenziell große, forschungslastige, traditionelle Institutionen wie Ivy League. Bedeutet die Tatsache, dass eine bestimmte Einrichtung eine weltberühmte Forschungsfakultät in einem Fachgebiet hat, dass sie für Sie die richtige ist? Denken Sie darüber nach, was für Sie wichtig ist. Welche Kriterien sind für Sie wichtig? Seien Sie ehrlich zu sich selbst. Um glücklich zu sein und Ihr Bestes zu geben, müssen Sie vielleicht bei Harvard, aber wahrscheinlich nicht. In den USA gibt es über 3.500 Universitäten und von der einen, die für Sie die richtige ist, haben Sie vielleicht noch nicht einmal gehört.

3. Setzen Sie sich selbst an die erste Stelle

Sie sind der Student, der drei oder vier Jahre seines Lebens mit dem Lernen an der Universität verbringen wird, die Sie besuchen. Was ist es, das Sie von Ihrer Ausbildung und Erfahrung erwarten? Was wird Ihnen helfen, die Person zu sein, die Sie sein wollen? Dies ist eine Entscheidung, die Ihr Leben grundlegend verändern wird, und es ist wichtig, dass Sie das tun, was für Sie richtig ist, und nicht Ihr Freund oder Ihre Eltern oder Ihr Onkel - die trotz ihrer besten Absichten nicht die Menschen sind, die die täglichen Erfahrungen machen werden.  

 4. Recherchieren Sie

Die Auswahl an Universitäten in den USA ist enorm. Die Institutionen sind außerordentlich unterschiedlich. Sie müssen viele verschiedene Suchwerkzeuge verwenden, um herauszufinden, wo die richtige für Sie ist. Gehen Sie unbedingt zu den Präsentationsveranstaltungen der Universitäten, sprechen Sie mit den Vertretern, sprechen Sie mit Studenten, die diese Erfahrung gemacht haben. Sie möchten, dass Ihre Universitätserfahrung auf dem aufbaut, was Sie bereits gut können - besprechen Sie also Ihre Ideen mit Ihren Lehrern, sie können Ihnen eine ehrliche Einschätzung Ihrer Fähigkeiten geben, damit Sie diese mit der richtigen Institution abgleichen können.

 5. Selber machen

The best applications are those that shout out your personality and abilities and that you have shed blood, sweat, and tears over. The best applications come from your heart. For you to feel the satisfaction of going to the university that is right for you, you need to write the application. Applying to university is a time consuming and sometimes stressful experience so there is a temptation to pay someone else to do it for you. Whilst there are some good agencies who might be able to help, no one can write as authentically about yourself as you.   

Geschrieben von

College Alpin Beau Soleil

College Alpin Beau Soleil

Das 1910 gegründete Beau Soleil ist eine der ältesten privaten Internatsschulen der Schweiz. Es bietet eine vollständige Internatsausbildung für Schüler aus über 55 verschiedenen Nationalitäten im Alter von 11-18 Jahren. Angesichts unserer spektakulären Lage in den Schweizer Alpen ist es unser Ziel, eine Ausbildung zu bieten, die die volle Beteiligung unserer Schüler sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb des Klassenzimmers fördert.

Top 5 Tips When Applying to US Universities

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Director of College Counselling at Collège Alpin Beau Soleil, George Casley, knows a thing or two about college applications. Here he shares his top 5 tips for applying to universities in the USA, learned over more than 20 years of experience preparing students for their future studies.

What can you do to make the most out of your university application?
What can you do to make the most out of your university application?

1. Prepare early—at least 18 months in advance

Some US universities ask a lot from you in your application—entrance tests, essays, supplementary essays, films, etc. You need to know what you are going to have to do and when to satisfy these requirements. If a university wants you to have been captain of a sports team you need to prepare for that. If they say they want an IB score of 42 you need to know you can get it. Start preparing early and planning for what you will be asked to do.

2. Do not be swayed by rankings and league tables

Every university claims to be top for something. Being “number 1” for anything does not make the university right for you. Global rankings tend to favour large research-heavy traditional institutions like Ivy League. Does the fact that a particular institution has a world-renowned research faculty in one discipline mean that it is right for you? Think about what is important for you. What criteria matter to you? Be honest with yourself.  To be happy and do your best might involve being at Harvard, but probably not. In the US there are over 3,500 universities and the one that is right for you, you may not have even heard of yet.

3. Put yourself first

You are the student who will spend three or four years of your life learning at the university you attend. What is it that you want from your education and experience?  What will help you to be the person you want to be? This is a decision that will fundamentally change your life and it is important that you do what is right for you and not your friend or your parent, or your uncle—who despite their best intentions, are not the people who will be living the day to day experience.  

 4. Do the Research

The choice of universities in the US is enormous. Institutions are extraordinarily different. You need to use lots of different search tools to find where is right for you. Make sure you join the university presentation meetings, talk to the representatives, speak to students who have lived the experience. You want your university experience to build on what you already do well—so, discuss your ideas with your teachers, they can give you an honest assessment of your abilities so that you can match these with the right institution.

 5. Do it yourself

The best applications are those that shout out your personality and abilities and that you have shed blood, sweat, and tears over. The best applications come from your heart. For you to feel the satisfaction of going to the university that is right for you, you need to write the application. Applying to university is a time consuming and sometimes stressful experience so there is a temptation to pay someone else to do it for you. Whilst there are some good agencies who might be able to help, no one can write as authentically about yourself as you.   

Written by

College Alpin Beau Soleil

College Alpin Beau Soleil

Founded in 1910 Beau Soleil is one of the oldest private boarding schools in Switzerland. It provides a full boarding education for students from over 55 different nationalities aged 11-18 years old. Given our spectacular location in the Swiss Alps we aim to provide an education which encourages full participation from our students both inside and outside the classroom.