新加坡的规模。为什么地点不一定是一切

计划搬到新加坡的外籍家庭必须做出许多重要的决定,其中许多决定必须在他们到达新家之前就确定下来。这可能是一项令人沮丧和艰巨的任务,特别是在选择居住地和送孩子上学的时候。

由于许多人从一个比这个岛国大得多的地方搬到新加坡,他们往往认为他们需要找到一所离他们的新家或公寓几个街区内的学校。

然而,新加坡是一个小国,所以距离并不总是这个决定中最重要的因素。以下是你需要了解的情况。

新加坡的规模

新加坡的面积不到280平方英里,可以说是一个小国家。事实上,从岛的一边开车到另一边只需要大约40分钟,这使得新加坡的居民几乎所有的东西都可以到达。

选择学校时应考虑的因素

注意到新加坡的规模,重要的是要尽量减少距离的重要性。一个在东部生活和工作的外籍家庭,可以很容易地把他们的孩子送到西部的学校。这里有几个比距离更重要的因素。

  • 学校的课程
  • 学校的设施
  • 学校的费用

公共交通

距离也不必是一个主要问题,因为公共交通很方便。新加坡的许多学校提供全岛范围的交通。此外,这是一个安全的社区,小到8岁的孩子都可以自己使用公共交通。

归根结底,你需要在新加坡找到一所最适合你孩子的学校。这不一定是离你的办公室或你的家最近的那所学校。对于许多外籍儿童来说,国际学校在过渡时期为他们提供了一致性。它还为他们提供了高质量的教育,并为他们提供了融入新社区的机会。

通过以下方式了解更多关于OWIS的信息 联系 我们今天。

The Size of Singapore: Why Location Isn’t Always Everything

One World International School
August 21, 2019

Expatriate families who are planning a move to Singapore have to make a lot of important decisions, and many of those decisions must be finalised before they ever arrive in their new home. This can be a frustrating and daunting task, especially when it comes to choosing a place to live and a school to send your children to.

Since many people making an international move to Singapore are coming from a place that is much larger than this island country, they often think that they need to find a school that is within a few blocks of their new home or apartment.

However, Singapore is a small country, so proximity is not always the most important factor in this decision. Here’s what you need to know:

The Size of Singapore

Sitting at just under 280 square miles, Singapore can be described as a small country. In fact, it only takes about 40 minutes to drive from one side of the island to the other, making nearly everything in Singapore within reach for its residents.

Factors to Consider When Selecting a School

Noting the size of Singapore, it’s important to minimize the importance of proximity. An expatriate family that lives and works in the east, can easily send their child to a school in the west. Here are a few factors that are more important than proximity:

  • The school’s curriculum
  • The school’s facilities
  • The cost of the school

 
 

Public Transportation

Proximity also does not have to be a major issue because public transportation is readily available. Many schools in Singapore offer island-wide transportation. In addition, this is a safe community where children as young as 8 can use public transportation on their own.

Ultimately, you need to find a school in Singapore that will be the best fit for your child. That is not necessarily the school that is closest to your office or your home. For many expatriate children, an international school provides them with consistency during a time of transition. It also provides them with a high-quality education and an opportunity to fit in within their new community.

Learn more about OWIS by contacting us today.

One World International School

One World International School (“OWIS”) is a non-denominational international school which serves a multicultural student population from all over the world.OWIS’ mission is to nurture young minds into…

Read more