培养今天的年轻人迎接明天的挑战

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

如今,想要进入大学的学生面临着相当大的挑战;其中最重要的是,世界上每一个来自国际学校的成绩优异的学生,都会有另一个来自其他地方的学校成绩同样优异的学生。 他们的学术潜力和才能可能几乎是相同的,那么在申请大学或求职时,他们如何能够使自己与众不同?

这就是为什么在我看来,跨文化理解比以往任何时候都更加重要。我们应该教导我们的孩子与其他文化并肩生活,并完全沉浸在其中。 瑞士的寄宿学校 在这一点上是独特的,因为它们的学生社区是由来自世界各地的几十名学生组成的,这一事实可以追溯到19世纪末精修学校、铁路交通和旅游业的发展。 瑞士 瑞士是一个具有欢迎他人的传统的国家。最近的一项调查显示,超过50%的瑞士居民的父母至少有一人出生在国外。因此,多元文化主义在瑞士的生活方式中占有非常重要的地位。

我们的孩子需要学习如何与他人沟通,如何庆祝文化差异,并在此过程中看到人们事实上是多么相似。这种情况在以下方面发生得如此完美 瑞士的寄宿学校 以至于差异和任何固有的判断都变得模糊不清。经济条件较差的学校可能会觉得他们缺乏实施这种做法的手段或知识。然而,对于这样的学校或那些多元文化学生群体较少的学校来说,仍然有可能庆祝国际主义。在谷歌上简单搜索一下,就会发现无限的可能性,其中许多都是快速和容易实施的,而且成本很低。有一个热情的老师领导一个项目,一切皆有可能。在他们的 课程设置学校可以纳入全球视野,把观点带到国家边界之外。他们可以与国外学校建立伙伴关系,促进学生之间的书面或旅行交流。网络摄像头和Skype使世界上某一地区的学生能够与世界另一端的学生就一个联合项目进行合作。这样的活动是非常丰富的,不仅促进了对主题的不同方法,而且还促进了团队合作,因为学生们学会了讨论、辩论、分歧和寻找共同点,以及学习来自另一种文化的学生如何思考。这些经验在以后的生活中提供了一个宝贵的框架,即如何一起工作以找到解决方案。它们是生活中的商业课程。

学校内部的活动,如受欢迎的模拟联合国,为来自世界各地的学生提供了合作学习和交流思想的机会。在模拟联合国的活动中,学生们进行研究,以便能够在世界各地举行的会议上成功地捍卫他们指定国家的观点,使成千上万的年轻人聚集在一起。对学生来说,这是一个多么美妙的机会,他们不仅可以参加这些会议,还可以与如此多样化的年轻人密切接触,他们都有不同的生活经历,都有自己的观点和想法,都在寻求一些共同点。他们的热情很有感染力,他们学到的技能--公开演讲、辩论、同意不同意见--对以后的生活非常重要。

许多学校以学生领袖、参与会议、TEDx、运动队领袖等形式提供其他领导机会。这些都是令人难以置信的充实,使学生能够真正发光发热,最重要的是,培养他们的沟通能力。作为教育工作者,仅仅关注学术学习是根本不可行的。由于技术的进步,世界是一个小而快速发展的地方。谁知道今天的高中生在二十年或三十年后会做什么工作。外面有很多不确定因素。然而,有一件事将是真实的;学习将不仅仅是关于学术的。它将积极促进交流和跨文化理解。只有通过为我们的学生提供接触他人的机会,发现超越他们自己的世界和想法,进行创造性的思考,我们才有希望使他们具备为我们的社会做出真正积极贡献所需的技能。

萨拉-弗雷
瑞士洛桑布里兰特蒙特国际学校

撰写人

布里兰特蒙特国际学校

Brillantmont International School

Brillantmont国际学校是瑞士最古老的学校之一。它成立于1882年,目前仍由创始人家族拥有。布里兰特蒙特的特别之处不仅在于它位于充满活力的洛桑市中心,还在于它的规模,它创造了一种强烈的社区意识,一个真正的家,13-18岁的男孩和女孩在一个温暖、支持的环境中学习和发展。

Preparing today’s young people for the challenges of tomorrow

The challenges for students wanting to enter university nowadays are considerable; not least that for every high achieving student coming from an international school in the world, there will be another student, as equally high achieving from another school elsewhere.
Their academic potential and talents may be practically identical, so how are they are able to differentiate themselves when applying to university or seeking employment?


This is why inter-cultural understanding seems to me, more vital than ever. We should be teaching our children to live alongside and fully immersed in other cultures. Swiss boarding schools are unique in this as their student communities are made up of dozens of students from around the world, a fact which dates back to late 19th Century developments in finishing schools, rail access and increased tourism. Switzerland is a country with a tradition of welcoming others. A recent survey says that more than 50% of Swiss residents have at least one parent born abroad. Multi-culturalism is therefore very much anchored in the Swiss way of life.

Our children need to learn how to communicate with others, how to celebrate cultural differences and in doing so, see how similar people in fact are. This happens so seamlessly in Swiss boarding schools to the point that differences and any inherent judgements are blurred. Schools with more modest means might feel they lack the means or the know-how to implement this. Yet, for such schools or those with less of a multi-cultural student body it is nevertheless possible to celebrate internationalism. A simple google search throws up boundless possibilities, many of which are quick and easy to implement with very little cost. With an enthusiastic teacher leading a project, anything is possible. Within their curriculum, schools can include global perspectives, taking viewpoints beyond the nation’s borders. They can develop partnerships with schools abroad, promoting written or travel exchanges between the students. Webcams and skype enable students in one part of the world to work collaboratively with students at the other side of the world on a joint project. Such activities are hugely enriching, promoting not just a different approach to subject matter but also promoting teamwork as the students learn to discuss, debate, disagree and find common ground, as well as learning how students from another culture think. These are the kind of experiences which later in life provide a valuable framework as to how to work together to find solutions. They are business lessons for life.

In house school activities such as the popular Model United Nations offer opportunities for collaborative study and an exchange of ideas amongst students from all over the world. In a simulation of the United Nations, students undertake research to be able to successfully defend their assigned country’s viewpoint in conferences which take place across the world, bringing together thousands of young people. What a wonderful opportunity it is for students to not only travel to these conferences but to be in close contact with such a diverse body of young people, all with different life experiences, all with opinions and ideas and all seeking to find some common ground. Their enthusiasm is infectious and the skills they learn – public speaking, debate, agreeing to disagree – are hugely important for later life.

Many schools offer other leadership opportunities in the form of student leaders, participation in conferences, TEDx, leaders of sports teams and so much more. These are incredibly enriching, enabling students to truly shine and above all, to develop their communication skills. As educators, it is simply no longer viable to focus solely on the academic learning. The world is a small and fast moving place thanks to technological advances. Who know which jobs today’s high school students will be doing in twenty or thirty years’ time. There are many uncertainties out there. However, one thing will ring true; learning will be about more than academics. It will actively promote communication and inter-cultural understanding. Only by providing opportunities for our students to reach out to others, to discover worlds and ideas beyond their own, to think creatively, can we hope to equip them with the skills needed to make a truly positive contribution to our society.

Sarah Frei
Brillantmont International School, Lausanne, Switzerland


Brillantmont International School

Brillantmont International School

Lausanne
Brillantmont International School is one of the oldest schools in Switzerland. It was founded in 1882 and is still owned by the founding family. What makes Brillantmont special is not ...
Read More

Leave a comment