Студенты ISD организуют виртуальный рождественский рынок

Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в google
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в linkedin

На протяжении более десяти лет студенты в Международная школа Дюссельдорфа организовали рождественские рынки под девизом "Вместе мы лучше". Однако в 2020 году компания Corona чуть не поставила крест на этом начинании для детей начальной школы. 

Сайт Программа начальных лет (PYP) в ISD побуждает детей решать сложные социальные и экологические проблемы и добиваться позитивных изменений в своих местных сообществах. В этом году учащиеся 3 класса приняли вызов и организовали виртуальный рождественский базар, на котором были представлены экологичные товары, сделанные из соленого теста, дерева и бумаги. Среди них были рождественские украшения, скульптуры оригами, подсвечники, игры, такие как Tic Tac Toe, а также упаковки горячего шоколада и зефира, которые они продавали сообществу ISD. 

Студентка ISD готовится к виртуальному рождественскому базару.
Студентка ISD готовится к виртуальному рождественскому базару.

Как выглядит социально сбалансированный, устойчивый рождественский рынок?

В этом году все проходило немного по-другому: дети делали прототипы, фотографировали и заранее продавали продукцию через Интернет. В отличие от предыдущих лет, ученики должны были производить продукцию полностью по требованию, доставив готовые изделия в сообщество ISD на этой неделе, как раз к Рождеству. 

Виртуальный рождественский рынок был полон украшений и подарков из экологически чистого сырья.
Виртуальный рождественский рынок был полон украшений и подарков из экологически чистого сырья.

Для студентов это был процесс, заставляющий задуматься. Они быстро поняли, насколько полезно создавать изделия из экологичных материалов. Большую часть времени они провели в открытой учебной среде (OLE), пробуя свои силы в различных техниках, таких как пиление, сварка, шлифовка и экспериментируя с различными техниками склеивания и цветами. 

Студент ISD рубит дрова

"После изучения раздела "Устойчивый выбор" учащиеся узнали о том, как создаются продукты с низким уровнем воздействия на окружающую среду", - сказал Стив Барратт, директор начальной школы. "Этому вопросу уделялось внимание и в предыдущие годы, но в этом году ученикам пришлось найти баланс между использованием материалов, пригодных для переработки и компостирования, и созданием онлайн-маркета, где требуется больше упаковки". Такие вещи, как, например, подставки для свечей, сделаны с использованием переработанных столбиков ограждения и баулов с прошлогодних рождественских елок. 

Экологичные рождественские украшения

Выручка от виртуального рождественского базара пошла на благое дело.

We are pleased to report that some 1400 products were sold this year, with €1510 raised, which the students agreed will be donated to a local charity, Frauen Helfen Frauen e.V. ISD Director, Frank Tschan, is proud of the school’s long and impressive history of teaching students to apply their learning for a good cause. “This is something we have stood behind with full conviction for more than 50 years.” 

Написано

Международная школа Дюссельдорфа

International School of Düsseldorf

Основанная в 1968 году, Международная школа Дюссельдорфа является некоммерческой, независимой, совместной дневной школой, расположенной в самом сердце международного сообщества Кайзерсверт. Благодаря нашему некоммерческому статусу, все наши доходы инвестируются обратно в школу на благо наших учеников.

ISD Students Organise Virtual Christmas Market

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

For more than ten years, students at the International School of Düsseldorf have organised Christmas markets for a cause, under the theme “Together we are Better”. In 2020, however, Corona almost threw a spanner in the works for the elementary school children. 

The Primary Years Programme (PYP) at ISD encourages children to address complex social and environmental issues and to make positive changes in their local communities. This year, grade 3 students took on the challenge of hosting a virtual Christmas market stocked with sustainable products made from salt dough, wood, and paper. These included Christmas decorations, origami sculptures, candlesticks, games such as Tic Tac Toe, and hot chocolate and marshmallow packs, which they sold to the ISD community. 

ISD student prepares for the virtual Christmas market.
ISD student prepares for the virtual Christmas market.

What does a socially-distanced, sustainable Christmas market look like?

Things ran a little differently this year, with the children making prototypes, taking pictures, and selling products online in advance. Unlike previous years, students were required to produce entirely on-demand, delivering the finished products to the ISD community this week just in time for Christmas. 

The virtual Christmas market was full of sustainably-sourced decorations and gifts.
The virtual Christmas market was full of sustainably-sourced decorations and gifts.

For the students, it was a thought-provoking process. They quickly realised how rewarding it is to make products with sustainable materials. They spent most of their time in the Outdoor Learning Environment (OLE), trying their hand at different techniques such as sawing, welding, sanding and experimenting with different gluing techniques and colours. 

ISD student cutting wood

“Following the Sustainable Choices unit, students were aware of how products with a low environmental impact are created,” said Steve Barratt, Elementary School Principal. “This has also been a focus in previous years, but this year the students had to find a balance between using recyclable and compostable materials and creating an online market experience where more packaging is required.” Things like candle holders for example, are made using recycled fence posts and baubles from last year’s Christmas trees. 

Sustainable Christmas decorations

Proceeds from the virtual Christmas market went to a good cause.

We are pleased to report that some 1400 products were sold this year, with €1510 raised, which the students agreed will be donated to a local charity, Frauen Helfen Frauen e.V. ISD Director, Frank Tschan, is proud of the school’s long and impressive history of teaching students to apply their learning for a good cause. “This is something we have stood behind with full conviction for more than 50 years.” 

Written by

International School of Düsseldorf

International School of Düsseldorf

Founded in 1968, the International School of Düsseldorf is a not-for-profit, independent, co-educational day school located in the heart of the international community of Kaiserswerth. Due to our non-profit status, all our income is invested back into the school for the benefit of our students.