大学和未来职业的决定。何时是正确的时间?

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

孩子学习旅程中的每一步都有助于塑造他们对未来可能做什么的期望。他们探索的每一个科目,他们去参观新的文化和社区的远征--这一切都有助于他们不断扩大对世界的看法和他们在其中的位置。

阿布扎比英国国际学校我们经常被问到,什么时候才是在家里或学校里围绕着为未来做决定进行对话的 "正确时间"。我们并不建议在什么时候做出这些决定,而是建议家长牢记中学阶段的两个关键里程碑,以及每个阶段的决定如何帮助开辟潜在的未来道路和机会。

9年级 - 塑造他们的大学之路

在九年级,我们的学生遇到了他们在学校生涯中可以选择学习特定科目的第一个阶段。在这个阶段,我们建议所有学生保持他们的国际普通中等教育证书(IGCSE)的选择广泛和多样化。九年级的目的不是让学生在压力下决定他们想在大学学习什么,因此他们应该如何确定他们的科目选择,而是关注他们的优势和兴趣所在的不同科目类型的组合。通过选择你的孩子喜欢和擅长的科目,这将为他们进入大学打下良好的基础。 国际学士文凭课程 IBDP)的12和13年级。

11年级--确定学生的兴趣,引导他们进入自己选择的大学

十一年级是学生做出最重要的科目决定的时候,因为他们展望着未来。 IBDP 他们将在12年级开始学习。这一决定过程在9月进行,也是学生从我们学校的大学顾问那里获得最实质性的大学指导的时候。

ǞǞǞ IBDP 其目的是使学生具备广泛的技能,从而拓宽他们潜在的未来道路,而不是在过早的阶段通过专业性来缩小范围。我们用来帮助学生实现这一目标的一个方法是,不要把他们的教育看作一个具体的目的地,而是看作一个旅程。在实践中,这意味着我们不鼓励学生说他们想在伦敦大学洛杉矶分校学习,例如,我们鼓励他们思考什么价值观和兴趣支撑他们的学科兴趣。相反,他们可能会确定,他们热衷于为医疗保健做出贡献,并获得一个国际认可的学位,以帮助他们在世界各地实现这一目标。然后,我们帮助他们确定追求这一方向并实现其最终目标所需的技能组合和科目。

许多15-16岁的青少年对职业的概念很有限,因为他们根本没有接触过这些职业,所以我们必须帮助他们探索他们的选择,特别是对于那些可能还不知道自己兴趣所在的人。我们举行会议,帮助学生思考不同的职业道路和可能性,了解大学制度,并更好地了解不同的大学课程可以带来哪些职业。我们的大学顾问还提供大量的在线资源、网络研讨会、职业研讨会和职业展示,学生可以通过在该领域工作的人的经验来探索工作。

重要的是,在选择科目时,我们引导所有11年级的学生思考并理解获得可转移的、跨学科的技能组合的重要性。工作世界永远在变化,现在可能存在的传统职业途径,在未来可能不存在。我们的工作是为他们做好准备,帮助他们建立一个强大的、有竞争力的技能组合,为他们在多元化和不断变化的就业市场上取得成功做好准备。

撰写人

阿布扎比英国国际学校

The British International School Abu Dhabi

阿布扎比英国国际学校作为我们全球校区的一部分,提供了一个温馨的家庭社区和最高质量的学习机会。在阿布扎比英国国际学校,您的孩子将成长为一个自信、有爱心的人,同时培养在不断发展的国际社会中取得成功所需的技能和态度。

University and Future Careers decisions: When is the Right Time?

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Every step on a child’s learning journey helps to shape their aspirations for what they might do in future. Each subject they explore, expedition they go on to visit new cultures and communities – it all feeds into their ever expanding view of the world and their place in it.

At The British International School Abu Dhabi, we are often asked when the ‘right time’ is for conversations at home or in school to be had around making decisions for the future. Rather than recommend a specific time in which these decisions need to be made, we suggest instead that parents keep in mind two key milestones in the Secondary School calendar and how decisions at each of these stages help to open up potential future pathways and opportunities.

Year 9 – Shaping Their Path to University

In Year 9 our students encounter the first point in their school career in which they can elect to study particular subjects. At this stage we recommend for all students to keep their International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) choices broad and varied. The aim in Year 9 is not to place students under pressure to decide what they would like to study at University and therefore how they should shape their subject choices, but instead to focus on where their strengths and interests lie across a mix of different subject types. By choosing subjects your child enjoys and can excel in, it sets them up with a great foundation for the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP) in Year 12 and 13.

Year 11 – Identifying Students’ Interests Leading to the University of Their Choice

Year 11 is when students make their most significant subject decisions as they look ahead to the IBDP which they will begin in Year 12. This decision process takes place in September and is also when students receive their most substantial University guidance from our school’s University Counsellor.

The IBDP is designed to equip students with a broad range of skills so that their potential future pathways are widened rather than narrowed through specialism at too early a stage. One method we use to help students approach this is to think about their education not as a specific destination, but as a journey. In practice this means that instead of encouraging a student to say that they would like to study at UCL in London, for example, we encourage them to think about what values and interests underpin their subject interests. Instead, they might identify that they are passionate about making a contribution to healthcare and securing an internationally recognised degree which helps them to do this around the world. We then help them to identify what skill sets and subjects they would need to pursue that direction and achieve their ultimate goal.

Many 15-16 year olds have a limited idea of what careers exist because they simply have not been exposed to them yet, so it is important that we help them to explore their options, particularly for those who may not have an idea yet of where their interests lie. We hold sessions to help students think about different career pathways and possibilities, understand University systems, and gain a better understanding of which careers different university courses can lead to. Our University Counsellor also provides an enormous amount of online resources, webinars, careers workshops and career showcases in which students can explore jobs through the experiences of people who work in the field.

Importantly, when choosing subjects, we guide all of our Year 11 students to think about and understand the importance of gaining a transferable, interdisciplinary skill set. The world of work is forever changing and traditional pathways to a career which may exist now, may not exist in the future. It is our job to prepare them for this and to help them build a robust, competitive skill set which will prepare them for success in a diverse and changing jobs market.

Written by

The British International School Abu Dhabi

The British International School Abu Dhabi

The British International School Abu Dhabi offers a welcoming family community with the highest quality learning opportunities as part of our Global Campus. At The British International School Abu Dhabi, your child will grow as a confident, caring individual, whilst developing the skills and attitudes required to be successful in our constantly evolving international world.