在COVID期间为美国的大学入学做准备

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

今年的情况与以往不同,那么你和你的孩子如何为大学录取过程做准备?拥抱未知!它将会与其他任何一年不同。你必须灵活和主动地确定你的潜在学生将不得不采取哪些步骤来引导大学录取过程。

有些事情会保持不变,例如填写共同申请等申请表格,填写财政援助表格,撰写大学论文,以及在学校里尽最大努力。其他事情,如参加SAT或ACT考试(除非你是佛罗里达州居民,因为大多数佛罗里达州大学仍然要求SAT或ACT成绩),实际参观校园,或与大学代表会面,可能会有很大不同。

你或你的学生可以做些什么来准备这个问题? 申请程序?

适应性研究

在网上开始工作。招生代表需要知道你的学生对进入他们的学校感兴趣。索取信息,进行在线参观,安排与招生代表进行一对一的虚拟会议,或参加学生体验的虚拟会议,以确保学校了解你的学生,你的孩子可以感受到这个社区。

如果可能的话,计划参观学校。一些学校正在进行有限的私人参观,这是确定一所学校是否适合你的孩子的一个好方法。它也提供了一个校园生活的感觉,以及这是否是合适的。

与学校代表沟通

鼓励你的孩子花时间与他们的高中大学辅导员联系,他们可以在以下方面提供帮助 流程导航.此外,一定要与招生代表、大学教练和/或艺术、音乐或戏剧导演联系,以表明他们对该学院或大学的兴趣。与招生代表交谈可以使招生代表以一种有意义的方式将申请与实际的学生联系起来,从而有助于选择过程。

这对教练和艺术总监来说也是关键。能够分享展示你孩子的能力和天赋的亮点和比赛录像,是非常重要的,因为参观学生在球场、法院或舞台上的行动,目前已经不像过去那样了。

与大学的代表取得联系可以帮助学生了解学校的情况
与大学的代表取得联系可以帮助学生了解学校的情况

"与你感兴趣的学校沟通是你在这个过程中可以做的最重要和最有益的事情之一,"蒙特沃德学院的大学指导主任里克-埃利斯说。"让合适的学生进入院校是招生代表的目标,而分享你对学校的兴趣和热情可以让你在竞争日益激烈的过程中脱颖而出。"

不要错过大学申请截止日期

学校会要求提供各种文件来完成申请。典型的要求是申请书和作文、成绩单和推荐信。有些学校可能还要求进行标准化测试和面试,因此要做好准备,并了解录取时间表,以确保录取过程顺利,没有延误。花点时间完成联邦学生援助免费申请(FAFSA®),即使你认为自己没有资格,也可以找到联邦助学金、勤工俭学、援助和贷款的资格,以帮助支付大学学费。

由于大流行病,今年申请大学将是一个独特的经历
由于大流行病,今年申请大学将是一个独特的经历

今年的过程将是不同的,这将使它比通常情况下的压力更大。因此,请深呼吸,通过耐心、勤奋和对细节的关注,你和你的学生可以在通往激动人心的未来的旅途中,使之成为一个顺利的、压力较小的过程。

撰写人

蒙特维德学院

Montverde Academy

蒙特维德学院是一所男女合校的独立学校,服务于学前班至12年级。我们的寄宿课程为7-12年级和研究生学习服务。我们是在多样性、体育、STEM、寄宿和大学预科教育方面的全国顶级私立学校之一。距离美丽的佛罗里达州奥兰多市仅25分钟车程,我们提供一个引人入胜和具有挑战性的学术环境,激励学生取得最高水平。在课堂内外,学生通过参与美术、体育、学校俱乐部和服务组织,发展他们的才能和能力。

Preparing for College Admission in the US During COVID

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

This year has been unlike any other, so how do you and your child prepare for the college admission process? Embrace the unknown! It WILL be different than any other year. You will have to be flexible and pro-active to determine what steps your potential student will have to take to navigate the college admission process.

Some things will remain the same, such as completing application forms like the Common Application, filling out financial aid forms, writing a college essay, and doing your best in school. Other things, such as taking the SAT or ACT exams (unless you are a Florida resident as most Florida universities are still requiring an SAT or ACT score), physically visiting a campus, or meeting with college representatives, may be wildly different.

What can you or your student do to prepare for this application process?

Adapt Research

Get to work online. Admissions representatives need to know that your student is interested in attending their school. Request information, do an online tour, schedule a virtual, one-on-one meeting with an admissions representative, or participate in a student experience virtual session to ensure the school gets to know your student and your child can get a feel for the community.

Plan to visit the school if possible. A number of schools are conducting limited private tours and this is a good way to determine if a school is a good fit for your child. It also provides a sense of campus life and whether or not this is the right fit.

Communicate With School Representatives

Encourage your child to take the time to connect with their high school college guidance counselor, who can assist in navigating the process. Additionally, be sure to connect with an admissions representative, college coach, and/or arts, music, or theatre director to make known their interest in attending the college or university. Speaking with an admissions representative allows the rep to connect an application with an actual student in a meaningful manner that can help in the selection process.

This is key with coaches and arts directors as well. Being able to share highlights and game footage video which demonstrates your child’s ability and talents, is extremely important as visits to see students in action on the field, court or stage is not currently happening as it had in the past.

Getting in touch with representatives of the university can help students learn about the school
Getting in touch with representatives of the university can help students learn about the school

“Communicating with the schools that you’re interested in is one of the most important and beneficial things you can do in this process,” said Rick Ellis, Director of College Guidance at Montverde Academy. “Getting the right students into the institution is an admissions representative’s goal, and sharing your interest and enthusiasm for the school allows you to stand out in an increasingly competitive process.”

Don’t Miss University Application Deadlines

Schools will require a variety of documents to complete an application. Typical requirements are the application and essay, transcripts, and letters of recommendation. Some schools may also require standardized testing and interviews, so be prepared and aware of the admission timelines to ensure a smooth process with no delays. Take the time to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®), even if you don’t think you’ll qualify, to find eligibility for federal grants, work-study, aid, and loans to help pay for college.

Applying to college this year will be a unique experience due to the pandemic
Applying to college this year will be a unique experience due to the pandemic

The process will be different this year which will make it more stressful than it usually is. So, take a deep breath and through patience, diligence, and attention to detail, you and your student can make it a smooth, less stressful process on the journey to an exciting future!

Written by

Montverde Academy

Montverde Academy

Montverde Academy is a coeducational independent school that serves grades Pre-K3–12. Our boarding program serves grades 7-12 and post-graduate studies. We are one of the top national private schools in diversity, athletics, STEM, boarding, and college preparatory education. Located just 25 minutes from beautiful Orlando, Florida we offer an engaging and challenging academic environment that inspires students to achieve at the highest level. Inside and outside of the classroom, students develop their talents and abilities through involvement in fine arts, athletics, school clubs, and service organizations.