如何掌握大学申请的5个技巧

01-YCIS---University-Applications---how-to-apply

现在是北京耀中国际学校13年级学生申请大学的季节,来自世界各地的录取通知书已经滚滚而来。13年级学生Chloe Sandifer-Stech最近收到了美国北卡罗来纳州吉尔福德学院的录取通知书,并获得了每年20,000美元的奖学金,用于她四年的学业。在收到这份出色的录取通知书后,我们请Chloe分享一些在理想大学获得一席之地的技巧。

1.制定一个短名单
对我来说。 地点 是非常重要的。我已经在北京呆了将近四年了,但我在弗吉尼亚州、北卡罗来纳州地区有很多朋友和家人,这是我的家乡。我想离他们近一点,所以在那个地区开始寻找。

我还想到了 尺寸.我在小型、紧密的环境中感觉最舒服,这也是我为什么如此喜欢北京耀中的原因。从这所学校出来后,我觉得我在一所规模较小的大学里会最开心,所以这有助于我进一步缩小搜索范围。

我被建议将我的申请分散到""。安全"、"适合 "和 "达到 "类别。安全 "是指那些你有信心获得一席之地的大学。合适的是那些最可能适合你的大学,而达到的是那些竞争非常激烈的大学,你将需要非常强的成绩。利用这个最后的选择工具,我决定申请七所大学。

2.使用在线搜索工具
我使用collegeboard.org上的大学搜索功能来帮助我制定我的候选名单。你可以从地点、校园、体育、费用、多样性等方面过滤你的结果。他们也有其他有用的资源,帮助你进行大学规划和研究。

01-YCIS---University-Applications---how-to-apply---ws--02

3.参观校园
在这个夏天和之前的夏天,我设法访问了我申请的所有大学。我强烈建议你这样做。参观可以让你感受到大学的氛围和学生的生活,并让你有机会向正在那里学习的学生提问。我参观的一些大学让我感觉不合适,而有些大学则让我感觉很完美。你只有通过参观才能真正了解这些。

4.考虑奖学金
并非所有的大学和学院都提供奖学金,但在美国这很常见,因为学费非常昂贵。查看每所大学网站的奖学金部分,并记下申请要求和截止日期。

有些大学要求你提交额外的论文,如果你要申请奖学金,甚至要提前提交申请。目前,我正在写一篇800字的论文,要在圣诞节前提交!

01-YCIS--大学申请--如何申请--Ws

5.尽早开始
开始申请过程永远不会太早,因为这需要大量的时间。如果你要申请美国大学,这一点尤其重要,因为你需要参加SAT考试。你可以随心所欲地参加考试,所以有些学生在12年级时第一次参加SAT考试。然后他们有机会在13年级再参加一次。

但是,无论你在哪里申请,都要在12年级开始研究,并利用暑假完成你的个人陈述,弄清楚你需要做什么,以及何时申请。一旦开学,时间就会流逝。

再次祝贺克洛伊获得出色的录取,并祝愿所有正在申请的学生好运。

Articles November 29, 2018

5 Tips on How to Master University Applications

01-YCIS---University-Applications---how-to-apply

It’s university application season for Year 13s at Yew Chung International School of Beijing, and offers are already rolling in from around the world. Y13 student Chloe Sandifer-Stech has recently received an offer from Guilford College, North Carolina, USA, and has also been offered a USD 20,000 a year scholarship for all four years of her degree. Hot on the heels of this outstanding offer, we ask Chloe to share some tips on securing a place at the ideal university.

1. Make a shortlist
For me, location was very important. I’ve been in Beijing for almost four years now, but I have lots of friends and family in the Virginia, North Carolina area, which is where I am from. I want to be close to them, so started my search in that area.

I also thought about size. I feel most comfortable in smaller, close-knit environments which is why I like YCIS Beijing so much. Coming from this school, I felt I would be happiest in a smaller-sized college, so that helped me narrow my search even further.

I was advised to spread my applications across “safety”, “fit” and “reach” categories. Safety are those where you’re confident you’ll secure a place. Fit are the universities that are the most likely level for you, and reach are those which are very competitive which you will need really strong results for. Using this final selection tool, I decided on seven colleges to apply to.

2. Use Online Search Tools
I used the college search function on collegeboard.org to help me make my shortlist. You can filter your results in terms of location, campus, sports, fees, diversity etc. They have other useful resources on there too, to help you with your college planning and research.

01-YCIS---University-Applications---how-to-apply---ws--02

3. Visit the Campus
Over this summer and the summer before, I managed to visit all of the colleges that I applied to. I can strongly recommend doing this. Visiting allows you to get a feeling for college atmosphere, student life, and gives you a chance to ask questions of students currently studying there. Some of the colleges I visited didn’t feel right, and some of them felt perfect. You can only really know this by visiting.

4. Consider Scholarships
Not all universities and colleges offer scholarships, but in the United States this is common as fees are very expensive. Check the scholarship section of each college website and make a note of the application requirements and deadlines.

Some colleges ask you to submit extra essays, and even submit your application early if you’re applying for a scholarship. Currently, I’m working on an 800 word essay that’s due before Christmas!

01-YCIS---University-Applications---how-to-apply---ws

5. Start Early
It’s never too early to begin the application process as it takes a lot of time. This is especially important if you’re applying for American universities as you will need to sit the SAT. You can sit this as many times as you want, so some students first sit the SAT in Year 12. They then have another chance to sit it in Year 13.

But wherever you’re applying, start researching in Year 12, and use the summer to work on your personal statement and work out exactly what you need to do to apply, and when. Once school begins, time runs away!

Congratulations once again to Chloe on her brilliant offer, and wishing the best of luck to all of those students who are currently applying.

Yew Chung International School of Beijing (YCIS Beijing)

Situated in downtown Honglingjin Park, Yew Chung International School of Beijing (YCIS Beijing) provides international education to expatriate children aged 2 – 18. Recognised as one of the…

Read more