本地学者Rachel在SJI国际分享她的经验和无限的可能性

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

对年轻的瑞秋来说,圆圈等同于一个错误。在我的作品上画一个醒目的红圈,总是让我感到有些内疚。在我上学之前的几年里 ǞǞǞ 我一直强调通过师生反馈的过程来纠正错误和变得更好。然而,随着时间的推移,我了解到,圆的意义远远超过了错误,而学习也远远超过了发现错误。圆的简单形状不仅仅是一个错误,而是一个统一、完整、永恒的象征。

ǞǞǞ ǞǞǞ 社区体现了一个圆圈的团结。我所建立的关系不仅仅局限于我的朋友圈,而是一个被共同的学习和服务愿望所约束的社区。我身边的学生愿意向陌生人分享他们的笔记,为学校社区和整个社会提供他们的时间和心灵。教师、学校工作人员和慷慨的捐助者和家长网络通过他们的努力和牺牲使我们能够做到这一点。我发现,我们的动力来自于更大的事情,来自于在SJII内外创造一个慷慨的环境,而正是通过这种共同的愿望,我们体现了一个圆圈的团结。 

我发现,即使在我的生活中,圈子也是相关的。 IB学习.在地理学中,我们用圆圈来表示反馈循环------自我放大的循环。我们获取的东西将导致我们失去;森林砍伐加速了气候变化。但我们的付出会得到双倍的回报;慷慨的行为会成为一个更好的世界的催化剂。作为一名学者,我认识到我从捐赠者的慷慨中得到了回报,这些陌生人对我的信任使我在心灵和思想上得到成长。我的成长来自于老师的慷慨,他们不是强调我的错误,而是强调我的潜力,他们愿意给我时间阅读我的额外论文,并在我糟糕的日子里鼓励我。我因信仰的慷慨而变得完整,他们看到了我是谁,我可以成为谁。

接受意味着我有责任继续这个良性的循环,在 ǞǞǞ 以及其他方面。能够为越南的东南亚有机农业项目做出贡献,领导我的CCA社团为紫色社区基金筹集资金,并作为挑战周的一部分为民丹岛的村民建造安全水花园,这让我感到非常谦卑。我现在可以真正地对我的学弟学妹们说,国际文凭组织的努力是值得的,不是因为对难以捉摸的 "45分 "的追逐,而是因为我们的学习使我们能够走向世界,成为一个领导者、大使和变革的先驱者。我相信,这是拉萨尔教育的核心,并将继续成为我在课堂之外、在SJII之外作为学习者的一部分。

毕业几个月后,我回顾我在这里的时光,意识到我已经真正走过了一圈。我第一次来的时候,眼睛里充满了敬畏,对未来两年的生活充满了好奇。 ǞǞǞ.我作为校友离开学校时,同样带着好奇的目光,对未来几年在剑桥阅读土地经济感到兴奋。就在两年前,我还在听一位演讲嘉宾谈论她在IB的经历。现在,我正在和2021年毕业班的部分同学谈论我是如何努力取得自己的小成就的。正如我所接受的一样,我正在为我找到小的和大的方法来给予。我认识到这种特权,我认识到我现在终于可以离开去服务了。

圆的魅力在于它没有边缘。我的生活圈最终会是什么样子,有无限的可能性,但它是在那种不知道是什么,不知道如何,但知道为什么的兴奋中。离开是为了服务。我继续在我的人生故事弧线中前进,我继续努力走向一个更充实的人生,其标志是一个由了不起的人组成的圈子,一个慷慨的循环,以及一条无限的可能性。

撰写人

圣约瑟夫机构国际

St. Joseph’s Institution International

圣约瑟夫机构国际学校位于宽敞、绿树成荫的校园内,拥有令人印象深刻的设施,是一所具有拉萨尔教育传统的独立男女同校的天主教学校。学校为40多个国家的不同学生提供全面的、以价值观为导向的国际教育经验。

Local scholar Rachel shares her experience and infinite possibilities at SJI International

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Circles to a younger Rachel equated to a mistake. A bold, red circle drawn on my work always made me feel somewhat guilty. My school years prior to SJII have always placed emphasis on correcting mistakes and becoming better through a process of teacher-student feedback. However, I have learnt over time that circles mean much more than an error, and learning is much more than just finding mistakes. The simple shape of a circle becomes more than a mistake, but a symbol of unity, of wholeness, of timelessness.

The SJII community embodied the unity of a circle. The relationships I made were not just limited to my circle of friends, but a community that was bound by a common desire to learn and to serve. I am surrounded by students who are willing to share their notes to strangers, who offer their time and heart to the school community and society at large. Teachers, school staff and a network of generous donors and parents make this possible for us through their effort and sacrifices. I found that we were driven towards something bigger, towards creating an environment of generosity both within and out of SJII, and it is through this common desire that we embody the unity of a circle. 

I find circles being relevant even in my IB studies. In Geography, we draw circles to represent feedback loops – cycles that amplify themselves. What we take will cause us to lose; deforestation accelerates climate change. But what we give will return doubly; an act of generosity becomes a catalyst for a better world. As a scholar, I recognise that I have received from the generosity of donors, strangers whose faith in me enabled me to grow in heart and mind. I grew from the generosity of teachers who emphasised not my mistakes, but my potential, who were willing to give me their time to read my extra essays, and to encourage me on my bad days. I am made whole by the generosity of faith to see me for who I am and who I can be.

Receiving means that I have a duty to continue this virtuous cycle in SJII and beyond. It is humbling to be able to contribute to a Southeast Asian project on organic farming in Vietnam, lead my CCA Comm-Unity in helping to raise funds for the Purple Community Fund, and build Safe Water Gardens for villagers in Bintan Island as part of my Challenge Week. I can now truly say to my juniors that IB is worth the effort not because of the chase towards the elusive “45”, but because our learning allows us to go out into the world and become a leader, ambassador and pioneer for change. This, I believe, is the heart of Lasallian education, and will continue to be a part of who I am as a learner beyond the classroom, beyond SJII.

Months after my graduation, I look back at my time here and realise that I have truly come full circle. I came in the very first time with eyes full of awe, a curiosity for what is to come in my next two years in SJII. I leave the school as an alumni with the same eyes of wonder, excited for the years ahead reading Land Economy in Cambridge. Just two years ago I was listening to a guest speaker talk about her experiences in IB. Now, I am talking to the part of the graduating class of 2021 about how I worked towards my own small successes. Just as I have received, I am finding small and big ways for me to give. I recognise this privilege, and I recognise that I am now finally able to leave to serve.

The beauty of a circle is that there are no edges. There is an infinite number of possibilities in how my circle of life will end up like, but it is in that excitement of not knowing what, not knowing how, but knowing why: To leave to serve. I continue to move through my life’s story arcs, I continue to endeavour towards a fuller life marked by a circle of amazing people, a cycle of generosity, and a path of infinite possibilities.

Written by

St. Joseph’s Institution International

St. Joseph’s Institution International

Situated on a spacious, leafy campus with impressive facilities, St. Joseph's Institution International School is an independent co-educational Catholic day school in the Lasallian educational tradition. The school offers a holistic, values-driven and international educational experience to a diverse student body comprising more than 40 nationalities.