福尔福德学院校友专访。布雷特-李

Brett-Dong---Brett-Lee--fulford-academy-alumni-04
在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

事实证明,福尔福德学院的家庭氛围和小规模是布莱特改变的催化剂。
2001年,布雷特-李第一次踏上加拿大的土地,当时他是一个13岁的小男孩,不会说英语,对他在韩国首尔的生活之外一无所知。他在加拿大东部上学,在那里,他迅速发展出强硬的一面,作为应对他作为一个新来者所面临的日常挑战的一种方式。融入社会对他来说是非常困难的。无法沟通加上同学们对文化的不理解,使他的生活发生了翻天覆地的变化,他的自尊心急剧下降。 正如许多感到失落和丧失信心的孩子一样,布雷特出现了许多不良行为,最终导致他被停学。

布雷特是 福尔福德学院2002年的第一批学生之一 当该校在 布罗克维尔.他来到福尔福德,以提高他的英语技能,这是他从一个害羞、愤怒的人转变为一个自信、快乐、微笑、尊重他人的年轻男孩的开始。

事实证明,学校的家庭氛围和小规模是他改变的催化剂。他在福尔福德学院感到安全和受到关怀,并被其他学生所接受。善于引导非英语学习者的老师们欢迎他并接受他的多样性。结果是。 布雷特的信心大增 他很快就掌握了扎实的语言技能,进入格林维尔基督教学院学习,并以优异的成绩毕业,成为2005年排名第一的学生。

快步走到今天

今天,布莱特是一个 成功的建筑师、艺术家、讲师和画廊经理 活跃在三个不同的城市,纽约、费城和首尔。他亲身体会到,一个人的成绩、种族、外表和风格并不能决定性格和命运。

他将自己从在加拿大的第一年的艰苦生活到今天的职业成功归功于福尔福德学院,在这里他找到了一个可以称之为家的地方,以及支持他的人,使他的生活向更好的方向转变。

入读福尔福德学院帮助布雷特重新思考他到底是谁,他被拉着往上走。 积极的影响和支持性的环境 整个学校社区。他能够摆脱以前建立的强硬形象,他现在将其归结为沉浸在一个不接受真实自我的环境中。他回忆说,福尔福德学院的老师对所有学生都很好,因为他们不介意种族、文化或能力的差异,不以成绩来判断学生。

在艺术方面,布雷特的天赋也没有被注意到,直到他来到福尔福德学院,尽管他手中一直有绘画和草图。这对他来说是个打击,只会增加他的挫败感。在福尔福德,老师们很快注意到了他的艺术作品,并对他的能力印象深刻。他们支持布雷特并鼓励他 培养他对艺术的热情 通过让他参加圣劳伦斯学院的夏季艺术项目,他的艺术生涯开始了。这只是他旅程的开始。 他继续以优异的成绩获得了多伦多大学建筑/视觉研究的荣誉学士学位,然后在宾夕法尼亚大学完成了他的建筑硕士学位。

目前,布莱特是一名注册建筑师,在纽约市的Perkins Eastman工作,Perkins Eastman他是首尔JJ画廊的创始成员,也是宾夕法尼亚大学的讲师。他还担任多伦多大学的本科生导师。

布雷特学分 他在福尔福德学院的学习时间改变了他的生活.他回顾说,学校是一个他的种族和文化并不重要的地方,他的学业也没有被忽视。他得到了很多他所需要的关怀,在他觉得世界已经不认可他的时候,他作为一个人得到了提升。周末的活动、艺术课和老师的支持非同寻常,他指出,许多同学得到了个别的关注,并有机会发挥他们的才能和技能。

用他自己的话来说,他说。

"我希望将来能访问福尔福德。自从我离开学校以来,已经走过了一段很长的路,我在福尔福德之前和之后的生活有了很大的不同。我从福尔福德获得了很多,使我从一个成绩最差的学生变成了告别演说者/总督奖章获得者。这是一次真正的转变"。

布雷特希望有一天能回来参观福尔福德,亲眼看看学校的变化和发展。他记得17年前在后院的某个地方埋下了一个时间胶囊,并希望有一天能与2002级的学生见面,把它挖出来。

By:科琳-萨维奇,福尔福德学院的招生官员

撰写人

福尔福德学院

Fulford Academy

"福尔福德学院是一所男女合校的私立走读/寄宿学校,位于加拿大安大略省布洛克维尔,这里是雄伟的圣劳伦斯河上著名的1000岛的所在地。福尔福德学院成立于2002年,提供6至12年级的课程,可获得著名的OSSD-安大略省中学文凭。 我们的专业学术课程包括ESL预科、大学预科、双高中文凭课程和学术暑期班。福尔福德学院独特的课程设置具有高度差异化的教学,强化的语言支持,并强调科学、技术、工程、数学和艺术(STEM +A),确保学生在全球教育机构中具有竞争力。

North America March 6, 2019

Fulford Academy Alumni Spotlight: Brett Lee

Fulford Academy’s family atmosphere and small size proved to be Brett’s catalyst for change
Brett Lee first set foot on Canadian soil in 2001 as a young 13-year old boy who spoke no English and knew nothing outside of his life in Seoul, Korea. He attended school in Eastern Canada where he quickly developed a tough side as a way of coping with the daily challenges he faced as a newcomer. Integration was extremely difficult for him. The inability to communicate coupled with a lack of cultural understanding from classmates turned his life upside down and his self-esteem plummeted.  As happens with many kids who feel lost and depleted of confidence, Brett developed many bad behaviors that ultimately resulted in a suspension from school.

Brett was one of Fulford Academy’s first students in 2002 when the school opened in Brockville. He came to Fulford to improve his English skills and this was the beginning of his transformation from a shy, angry human being to a confident, happy, smiling, respectful young boy.

The school’s family atmosphere and small size proved to be his catalyst for change. He felt safe and cared for at Fulford Academy and was accepted by the other students. The teachers, skilled at leading non-English learners, welcomed him and embraced his diversity. As a result, Brett’s confidence soared and he quickly developed solid language skills to enroll at Grenville Christian College, where he graduated with honors and as the top-ranking student in 2005.

Fast-Forward to Today

Today, Brett is a successful architect, artist, lecturer, and gallery manager active in three different cities, New York, Philadelphia, and Seoul. He knows first-hand that one’s grades, race, appearance and style do not define character or fate.

He attributes his journey from that first hard year in Canada to his professional success today to Fulford Academy, the place where he found a place to call home and supportive people who turned his life in a better direction.

Enrolling at Fulford Academy helped Brett rethink who he really was and he was pulled upwards by the positive influence and supportive environment of the entire school community. He was able to shed the tough image he had previously built that he now attributes to being immersed in an environment where his true self was not accepted. He recalls the teachers at Fulford Academy as being very good to all the students because they did not mind the differences in race, culture, or ability and did not judge students by their grades.

Artistically too, Brett’s talents went unnoticed until he arrived at Fulford Academy despite always having paintings and sketches in hand. This was devastating to him and only added to his frustrations. At Fulford, the teachers quickly noticed his artwork and were impressed with his abilities. They supported Brett and encouraged him to develop his passion for art by enrolling him in a summer art program at St. Lawrence College. This was only the beginning of his journey.  He went on to earn an Honours BA with Distinction, Architectural/Visual Studies from the  University of Toronto and then completed his Master of Architecture at the University of Pennsylvania.

Presently, Brett is a registered architect working with Perkins Eastman in New York City, Perkins Eastman he is a founding member of Gallery JJ in Seoul, and a lecturer at the University of Pennsylvania. He also serves as an undergrad mentor at the University of Toronto.

Brett credits his time at Fulford Academy as life-changing for him. He reflects back on the school as being a place where his race and culture did not matter, and his academics were not neglected. He received a lot of care that he needed and was promoted as a person at a time when he felt the world had disowned him. The weekend activities, art classes, and teacher support were extraordinary, and he notes that many fellow students received individual attention and opportunities to build on their talents and skills.

In his own words he says:

“I hope to visit Fulford in the future. It’s been a long journey since I left the school and my life before and after Fulford has been drastically different. I gained a lot from Fulford that turned me into valedictorian/Governor General medal recipient from one of the worst students with lowest grades possible. It was a true transformation.”

Brett hopes to come back to visit Fulford one day to see first-hand how much the school has changed and grown. He remembers burying a time capsule somewhere in the backyard 17 years ago and hopes to one day meet up with the class of 2002 to dig it up.

By: Colleen Savage, Admissions Officer, Fulford Academy

Fulford Academy

Fulford Academy is a coeducational, private day/boarding school located in Brockville, Ontario Canada, home of the famous 1000 Islands on the majestic St. Lawrence River. Established in 2002,…

Read more