发自内心。当回馈需要回头看时

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

永远不要忘记你的来历我们以许多方式和形式被告知。然而,很多时候,我们只是把它当作我们在Pinterest板块或Instagram标题中看到的一种美学,并没有真正思考记住你的根的真正含义。

出生在菲律宾的11年级学生梅根对此不敢苟同。

2019年,她将她的CAS(创意、活动、服务)项目致力于真正贴近她内心的东西,共同创立了非营利组织 力康普索 由心制造),旨在改变生活在吕宋岛西南部棉兰老岛的曼吉安社区--菲律宾最古老的民族之一的生活。

力行普索旨在通过她的非营利组织做出改变
力行普索的项目帮助了以下成员 满族社区

"曼吉安人的特别之处在于,他们是我的祖国的本地人,但他们是被边缘化的人群。这些原住民真正代表了作为菲律宾人的意义,赋予他们权力就是从根本上庆祝菲律宾的民族主义。

力康普索现在是我们挑战周的合作伙伴之一,将24名11年级的SJI国际学生与马尼拉的一群同龄人联系在一起。虽然目前大流行病的限制阻碍了今年的实际旅程,但学生们正在适应,并表现出坚韧不拔的精神,致力于继续他们与社区的远程学习之旅。

梦想的艺术》(Sining ng Pangarap)。

作为一名艺术家,梅根利用她的创造力来计划和执行Likhang Puso的第一个项目。 兴宁市的Pangarap (Art of the Dream)于2019年4月启动--加图蓬曼延高中教室的翻新和壁画。

梦想的艺术 "项目帮助翻新当地社区的教室

"她说:"我从那5天的经历中学到了很多,当我们完成这个项目时,我知道我想继续回馈他们。

"我们往往忘记回顾过去,对我们的根给予赞赏,导致这些原住民社区被边缘化。我相信,没有人应该被遗弃......尤其是我们欠下遗产的人。"

TULAY: Ang Ating Dugtong (桥梁:我们的联系)

在7月11日至12日。 力康普索 举办了一场名为 "在线慈善音乐会 "的 图雷。Ang Ating Dugtong 大致翻译为桥梁。我们的联系,象征着差距 力康普索 通过组织支持和增强土著社区的项目,努力在菲律宾的现代社会和土著社区之间架起桥梁。

虽然许多学校有足够的资源在大流行病中开展在线课程,但其他一些学校,如Katutubong Mangyan高中,可用来支持学生的资源范围有限。对曼吉安社区教育的进一步干扰包括该地区缺乏电力和手机信号,随着10月份的重新开课,模块化远程学习是他们继续学习的最佳和唯一可能的选择。这种方法要求每个学生都有自己的学习用品,以便在家里时最大限度地学习,同时学校也要有足够的打印机和纸张供应来制作学习模块。

数字募捐者帮助筹集资金以支持该项目

在各种菲律宾当地艺术家的表演下,梅根和她的团队筹集了大约$5,200美元,这些钱将用于为卡图邦-曼吉安高中的学生购买教育用品和设备,为10月份的重新开课做准备。

该非营利项目帮助为社区的学生提供学习用品

文化学习中心

在2020年上半年。 力康普索 他们举办了一些筹款活动,为他们的下一个主要项目--在学校建造一个文化学习中心--提供资金。通过他们与菲律宾中华总商会联合会的合作,以及他们的情人节义卖和他们正在进行的网上旧货商店(他们是@thriftedby theheart.lp on 淘宝网!),他们已经筹集到了开始施工所需的足够资金。

他们现在正在寻找赞助和合作伙伴,为购买文化学习中心所需的家具和用品筹集资金,如书籍、椅子、桌子、书架、艺术材料等。他们还计划与一些菲律宾艺术家合作,建造一个户外互动竹子操场,以及一些文学作品,以丰富该设施的文化内涵。

认可和收获

在短短一年多的时间里。 力康普索 他们已经取得了很大的成就,甚至得到了国际扶轮社(3780区)的认可,因为他们所做的一切努力,都是为了增强扶轮社的能力。 曼延 社区。

该项目获得了成功。它甚至赢得了国际扶轮社的奖项

然而,他们才刚刚开始。

"梅根说:"我之前的棉兰老岛之行让我意识到,尽管我们大多数人认为,服务不是简单的单向体验。

"第一次见到这个社区,我的目标是确保我遇到的孩子们能学到新东西。我没有意识到的是,我离开明多罗时,实际上比他们学到了更多的课程--这些课程是我在学校的课程中根本无法学到的。整个经历在一个完全不同的层面上提醒了我感恩、简单和快乐的价值观,这也是最终使服务成为如此充实的经历的原因。"

即使有大流行病带来的限制。 力康普索 继续给予回报。

"放弃并等待大流行病过去可能更容易;然而,正是在这样的时候,边缘化社区更需要我们的支持。我们不能放弃他们。"她最后说。

"服务不分国界......我们只是需要在探索回馈我们社区内有需要的人的无限可能性方面更有创造性和开放性"。

要了解更多关于 力康普索 或支持他们的项目,你可以通过以下方式联系他们。

likhangpuso@gmail.com | meganlim@likhangpuso.com
网站
淘宝网
脸书

撰写人

圣约瑟夫机构国际

St. Joseph’s Institution International

圣约瑟夫机构国际学校位于宽敞、绿树成荫的校园内,拥有令人印象深刻的设施,是一所具有拉萨尔教育传统的独立男女同校的天主教学校。学校为40多个国家的不同学生提供全面的、以价值观为导向的国际教育经验。

From The Heart: When Giving Back Requires Looking Back

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Never forget where you came from, we are told in so many ways and forms. Oftentimes however many of us just dismiss that as an aesthetic we see in Pinterest boards or Instagram captions, not really thinking much about what it truly means to remember your roots.

Grade 11 student Megan, who is Filipino by birth, begged to differ.

In 2019, she dedicated her CAS (Creativity, Activity, Service) project to something really close to her heart by co-founding the non-profit organization Likhang Puso (Made by the Heart) that aims to make a difference in the lives of the Mangyan community—one of the Philippines’ oldest ethnic groups—living in Mindoro, southwest of the island Luzon.

Likhang Puso aims to make a difference with her non-profit organization
Likhang Puso’s project helps members of the Mangyan community

“What’s so special about the Mangyans is that they are natives of my homeland yet they are amongst the marginalised. These indigenous people truly represent what it is to be Filipino and to empower them is to celebrate Filipino nationalism from its very roots”

Likhang Puso, now one of our Challenge Week partners, connects 24 Grade 11 SJI International students with a group of peers in Manila. Although current pandemic restrictions are preventing a physical journey this year, students are adapting and showing resilience and are committed to continuing their learning journey with the community remotely.

Sining ng Pangarap (Art of the Dream)

An artist at heart, Megan utilised her creativity to plan and execute Likhang Puso’s first project Sining ng Pangarap (Art of the Dream) launched in April 2019 – the renovation and mural painting of the classrooms of Katutubong Mangyan High School.

The ‘art of the dream’ project helped renovate local classrooms in the community

“I learned so much out of that 5-day experience that when we completed the project, I knew I wanted to keep giving back to them,” she shared.

“We tend to forget to look back and give appreciation to our roots, resulting in the marginalisation of these indigenous communities. I believe that nobody should be left behind… most especially the people whom we owe our heritage to.”

TULAY: Ang Ating Dugtong (Bridge: Our Connection)

On 11-12 July, Likhang Puso held an online benefit concert entitled Tulay: Ang Ating Dugtong which roughly translates to Bridge: Our Connection, symbolising the gap Likhang Puso strives to bridge between the modern society of the Philippines and its indigenous communities by organising projects that support and empower them.

While many schools have sufficient resources to carry out online classes amidst the pandemic, some others like the Katutubong Mangyan High School have a limited range of resources available to support their students. Further disruptions to the education of the Mangyan community include the lack of electricity and cellular signal in the area, and with the reopening of classes in October, modular-distance learning is the best and only possible option available for them to continue their studies. This approach requires each student to have their own set of school supplies to maximise their learning whilst being at home, as well as the school to have enough printers and paper supply for the production of learning modules.

Digital fundraisers helped raise money to support the project

With performances from various local Filipino artists, Megan and her team raised approximately $5,200 which will be used to purchase educational supplies and equipment for the students of Katutubong Mangyan High School as they prepare for the reopening of classes in October.

The non-profit program helped provide school supplies for students in the community

Cultural Learning Centre

During the first half of 2020, Likhang Puso hosted a few fundraising initiatives to contribute to the funding for their next major project – the construction of a Cultural Learning Centre in the school. Through their partnership with the Federation of Filipino Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry Inc., as well as their Valentines’ Bake Sale and their ongoing online thrift store (they’re @thriftedbytheheart.lp on Instagram!), they have raised enough funds needed to begin construction.

They are now on the search for sponsorships and partnerships to raise funds for the purchase of furniture and supplies needed for the Cultural Learning Centre, such as books, chairs, tables, shelves, art materials, and the like. They also plan to work with some Filipino artists for an outdoor interactive bamboo playground as well as pieces of literature that will enrich the cultural aspect of the facility.

Recognitions and Takeaways

In just over a year, Likhang Puso has already accomplished so much that they’ve even been recognised by Rotary International (District 3780) for all their efforts to empower the Mangyan community.

The project was a success. It even won awards from Rotary International

However, they’ve only just begun.

“My previous trip to Mindoro made me realise that service, despite what most of us think, is not simply a one-way experience,” Megan said.

“Meeting the community for the first time, I had the goal of making sure that the kids I met would learn something new. What I didn’t realise was that I actually left Mindoro having learned more lessons than they have – lessons that I simply would not have learned from my classes in school. The entire experience reminded me of the values of gratitude, simplicity, and joy at a completely different level and this is what ultimately makes service such a fulfilling experience.”

Even with the restrictions brought about by the pandemic, Likhang Puso continues to give back.

“It may have been easier to simply give up and wait until the pandemic passes; however, it is during times like these that marginalised communities are all the more in need of our support. We simply cannot give up on them,” she said in closing.

“Service knows no boundaries… We just need to be a bit more creative and open-minded in exploring the endless possibilities of giving back to those in need within our community.”

To learn more about Likhang Puso or support their projects, you may reach them at the following:

likhangpuso@gmail.com | meganlim@likhangpuso.com
Website
Instagram
Facebook

Written by

St. Joseph’s Institution International

St. Joseph’s Institution International

Situated on a spacious, leafy campus with impressive facilities, St. Joseph's Institution International School is an independent co-educational Catholic day school in the Lasallian educational tradition. The school offers a holistic, values-driven and international educational experience to a diverse student body comprising more than 40 nationalities.