兜兜转转。进入学习,离开服务

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

2008-2009年,约翰是圣约瑟夫国际学院的一名学者。他在学生时代就积极参加服务,并在2008年获得了杰出服务奖,以表彰他在圣约瑟国际学院就读期间对社区服务的奉献。在大学学习经济和教育后,他目前在马来西亚的一所拉萨尔学校担任教师。

这篇文章也发表在2020年的《Infinitas》杂志上--SJI国际校友会的官方杂志--该杂志将很快上市。


我于2009年从SJII的首批IBDP学员中毕业,我当然可以想象,这篇短文将与那些以自己的方式感动和震撼世界的了不起的环球旅行者的文章放在一起。我的路肯定会走得比较平坦,但我很高兴我已经走了这条路。

John Ooi,SJI国际的前学生

我个人认为,全面的教育是应该在课堂之外塑造你,我不禁觉得,早在2008-2009年,我在SJII的经历就已经把我塑造成为今天的我。从向老师学习到自己成为老师,从宿舍学生到成为宿舍管理员,从打排球到担任排球教练,从获得奖学金到帮助办理奖学金手续,从参加服务活动到为他人组织服务活动,对我来说,生活似乎有了一个完整的轮回,目前我在马来西亚的一所拉萨尔学校任教,为青少年组织服务项目。

我的老师一直是我的灵感来源,我相信你们中的许多人(如果不是全部)都会同意,我们在SJII得到了丰富的好老师的祝福。我在读IB的时候就已经确定要从事教育工作,但在澳大利亚昆士兰大学攻读经济学学位后,我觉得在成为一名教育工作者之前需要一些生活经验,所以我决定加入英特尔,担任财务业务分析师。这是一个很好的经验,让我看到了大型跨国公司是如何运作的,以及他们的流程是如何被精简以提高效率的。后来,我还尝试了创业,在我的家乡开办了一个逃脱室,以及一个业余咖啡馆!这是很不一样的工作经历。在这样一个小团队中工作,并且必须自己设计流程,这是一种截然不同的体验。然而,这些都是有趣的努力,我很珍惜,并将其带入我的教学(经济学)。

John Ooi现在是拉斯维加斯学校的一名教师

我很庆幸能有机会在SJII学习并找到自己的人生道路。有机会以这种小小的方式进行回馈,无疑是我职业生涯中迄今为止的亮点。当然也有起伏,但我很享受我的教学工作,尽管从我的IBDP时代开始,我的体重明显增加了!感谢SJII所有了不起的老师和工作人员,感谢你们努力提供的全面教育。看来你们的努力终究没有白费(我希望)!"。

约翰-奥伊, 2009年SJI国际班

撰写人

圣约瑟夫机构国际

St. Joseph’s Institution International

圣约瑟夫机构国际学校位于宽敞、绿树成荫的校园内,拥有令人印象深刻的设施,是一所具有拉萨尔教育传统的独立男女同校的天主教学校。学校为40多个国家的不同学生提供全面的、以价值观为导向的国际教育经验。

News from Schools September 28, 2020

Coming Full Circle: Enter To Learn, Leave to Serve

John was a scholar at SJI International from 2008-2009. He was active in service as a student and received the Distinguished Service Award in 2008 for his dedication to community service. After studying economics and education in university, he is currently working as a teacher at a Lasallian school in Malaysia.

This article is also published in the 2020 issue of Infinitas – the official magazine of the SJI International Alumni Association – which will be available soon.


Having graduated from SJII’s pioneer IBDP cohort back in 2009, I can certainly imagine that this short piece is going to be placed next to ones from amazing globetrotters who have moved and shook the world in their own ways. My path will surely come as a more modest one, but I am glad that I have taken it, nonetheless.

I personally think that holistic education is one that is supposed to mould you beyond the classroom, and I cannot help but feel that my experiences in SJII back in 2008-2009 had shaped me into the person that I am today. From learning from my teachers to becoming a teacher myself, from being a hostel student to becoming a hostel manager, from playing volleyball to coaching volleyball, from receiving a scholarship to helping with the scholarship process, and from participating in service activities to organising them for others, life seems to have come full circle for me as I currently teach in a Lasallian school in Malaysia and organise service programs for youths.

My teachers have always been an inspiration to me, and I believe many of you (if not all) would agree that we have been abundantly blessed with good teachers at SJII. I was already certain that I wanted to be involved in education since I was in IB, but after pursuing my degree in Economics at The University of Queensland in Australia, I felt that I needed some life experience before becoming an educator so I decided to join Intel as a Finance Business Analyst. It was a good experience seeing how large multinationals function and how their processes have been streamlined for efficiency. Later, I also tried my hand at entrepreneurship by starting an escape room in my hometown as well as a hobby cafe! It was a vastly different experience working in such a small team and having to design processes myself! Nevertheless, they were all interesting endeavours that I treasure and have brought with me into my teaching (Economics).

I am so blessed to have been given the opportunity to study at SJII and find my path in life. Having the opportunity to give back in this little way has certainly been the highlight of my journey so far in my career. There have surely been ups and downs, but I am enjoying my teaching despite the obvious weight that I have gained since my IBDP days! Thank you to all the amazing teachers and staff at SJII for the holistic education that you worked so hard to offer. It seems that your efforts were not in vain after all (I hope)!

John Ooi, SJI International Class of 2009

St. Joseph’s Institution International

Situated on a spacious, leafy campus with impressive facilities, St. Joseph’s Institution International School is an independent co-educational Catholic day school in the Lasallian educational tradition. The school…

Read more