在布鲁塞尔为您的孩子选择合适的学校

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

2020年8月,詹姆斯-麦克唐纳和他的家人一起搬到了布鲁塞尔,担任主任一职。 布鲁塞尔国际学校.回顾他在世界最受尊敬的国际学校之一的头六个月,詹姆斯认为在这个被宠坏的城市为孩子选择合适的学校是非常重要的。

詹姆斯-麦克唐纳,自2020年8月起担任ISB董事。

国际教育格局的变化

在我职业生涯的大部分时间里,作为一名教育工作者--在我的家乡加拿大以及新加坡、日本、泰国和阿联酋的学校工作--我有机会亲眼目睹世界各地国际学校的发展。虽然世界上每个地区的情况都不一样,但我相信,父母选择把孩子送到 "国际 "学校的原因基本上有两个。首先,他们是全球流动的外籍人士,为他们的孩子寻找一所讲英语的学校,使他们的孩子在离开后能够顺利地转入其他学校、职业道路或大学。 ISB.另外,他们也可能是当地的家庭,他们希望退出国家体系,也许是为了寻找一种不同的学习方法,或者是为世界其他地区的高等教育提供途径的学校。

学习不仅仅是目的地,而是沿途的旅程。

比利时是国际主义和教育质量的中心

在最近的一份市场情报报告中,由 ISC研究报道称,国际教育在中国的发展是一个巨大的挑战。 比利时 约占世界年度学费收入的1%,鉴于比利时是这样一个国际枢纽,这并不令人惊讶。在二战后的时代,在 布鲁塞尔国际学校 当时被称为布鲁塞尔美国学校)于1951年首次开门营业,并最终由其他一些学校跟进,为居住在比利时和搬到比利时的家庭提供了一系列选择。

ISB体验是为家庭设计的学习体验。帮助他们为自己的孩子选择合适的学校。

这种选择程度的后果之一是,许多学校继续提供的教育质量毋庸置疑。然而,重要的是,要始终确认一所学校是由国际认证机构认证的,以确保生活和学习的各个方面都达到国际商定的标准。

从对你和你的家庭重要的事情开始

当谈到为您的孩子选择合适的学校时,这听起来像是老生常谈,但最终,它确实是关于 "适合"。每个孩子都是独一无二的,有不同的智能方式,因此,在光鲜的营销标题下,仔细思考什么样的学习环境能够确保你的孩子能够茁壮成长--个人、社会和学术方面,这一点真的很重要。

每年,有500多个家庭参观我们的学校。我们的目标不是向他们抛出信息,而是倾听他们在选择学校时的重要意见。不仅仅是家长!我们也鼓励孩子们参与这一过程。对一些人来说,决定取决于所提供的课程或提供给学生的资源。对其他人来说,地点、费用或教育理念可能同样重要。比如说。 ISB 对于寻求更传统的教育类型的父母来说,这并不适合,学生们坐在一排,老师们狭隘地专注于标准化测试目标。最后,最重要的是,家庭能够做出符合其孩子最佳利益的决定。即使那是一个不申请ISB的决定!

平衡目的地与旅程的关系

无论你的孩子是8岁还是18岁,你的决策至少有一部分会受到学校为你的孩子开辟的那种未来的影响。在考试的压力下,她将如何表现?她能否获得合适的大学或学习课程的机会?或者,最终是否会过上幸福、成功、有道德的生活?一所好的学校将始终牢记目的地。但是,一所伟大的学校会走得更远,也会反思作为一个学生的经历,平衡目的地和旅程的关系。一所伟大的学校将关注的不仅仅是学术成就本身,而是创造探索、成长和健康的机会。

最终的证据是在校友会中

我曾在世界各地的学校工作过,现在有幸来到这里。 比利时.在每一所学校中,家长们都问过我同样的问题:你如何真正知道一所学校是否好?最后,一旦你考虑了课程、资源、教师的质量,以及你在校园里走动时的感觉,一个想法是总是问招生团队,他们以前的学生回顾和评价学校的情况。他们的回答往往比任何网站或宣传册所能揭示的要多得多。

学习不仅仅是目的地,而是沿途的旅程。

詹姆斯-麦克唐纳(James MacDonald)是美国联邦调查局的局长。 布鲁塞尔国际学校.要了解更多关于ISB的信息,请联系admissions@isb.be。

撰写人

布鲁塞尔国际学校

International School of Brussels

自1951年以来,布鲁塞尔国际学校(ISB)为来自世界各国的学生提供高质量的教育。它拥有1400名3-18岁的学生,被广泛认为是世界上最好的国际学校之一。

Choosing the Right School for Your Child in Brussels

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

In August 2020, James MacDonald moved to Brussels with his family to take up the position of Director at the International School of Brussels. Looking back on his first six months at one of the world’s most well-respected international schools, James considers the importance of choosing the right school for your child in a city that is spoiled for choice.

James MacDonald, ISB Director since August 2020.

The changing landscape of international education

As an educator for the majority of my professional career – working in schools in my native Canada, as well as in Singapore, Japan, Thailand, and the UAE – I have had the opportunity to see first hand the growth of international schools around the world. And while each region of the world is different, I am convinced that there are essentially two main reasons why parents opt to send their children to an “international” school. First, they are globally-mobile expatriates and looking for an English-speaking school for their children, that will allow their children to transfer smoothly into other schools, career pathways or universities after leaving ISB. Alternatively, they may be local families who are looking to opt out of a national system, perhaps in search of a different approach to learning or a school that provides pathways to higher education in other regions of the world.

Learning is not just about the destination but the journey along the way.

Belgium as a hub of internationalism and educational quality

In a recent market intelligence report by ISC Research, it was reported that international education in Belgium makes up around 1% of the world’s annual tuition fee income, which is not surprising given that Belgium is such an international hub. In the post WWII period era, the International School of Brussels (then known as the American School of Brussels) first opened its doors in 1951 and was eventually followed by a number of other schools, providing a range of choices for families living in and moving to Belgium.

The ISB Experience is designed as a learning experience for families. Helping them choose the right school for their children.

One of the consequences of this level of choice is that there is no doubting the quality of education that many of the schools continue to offer. However, it is important to always confirm that a school is accredited by an international accrediting body to be sure that all aspects of life and learning are reaching internationally agreed standards.

Beginning with what’s important for you and your family

When it comes to choosing the right school for your child, it sounds like a cliche but, in the end, it really is about “fit”. Every child is unique, with different ways of being intelligent, so it is really important to look beneath the glossy marketing headlines and think carefully about the kind of learning environment that is going to ensure that your child can flourish – personally, socially, and academically.

Each year, more than 500 families visit our school. Our goal is not to throw information at them, but to listen to what is important to them in choosing a school. And not just the parents! The children are also encouraged to be a part of this process. For some, the decision turns on the programmes that are offered or the resources that are available to students. For others, the location, fees or educational philosophy could be equally important. For example, ISB is not going to be a good fit for parents seeking a more traditional type of education with students sitting rows and teachers narrowly focused on standardized tests targets. In the end, it is always important that the family is able to come to a decision that is in the best interest of their child. Even if that is a decision not to apply to ISB!

Balancing the destination with the journey

Whether your child is 8 or 18, at least part of your decision-making will be influenced by the kind of future that a school will open up for your child. How will she perform under the pressure of examinations? Will she gain access to the right university or course of study? Or, in the end, will they go on to live a happy, successful, and ethical life? A good school will always bear the destination in mind. But a great school will go further and also reflect on the experience of being a student, balancing the destination with the journey. A great school will focus on more than academic achievement by itself, creating opportunities for exploration, growth and wellbeing.

The ultimate proof is in the alumni

I have worked in schools around the world and now am fortunate enough to be here in Belgium. In every one of these schools, parents have asked me the same question: how do you really know whether a school is good or not? In the end, once you have considered the programmes, the resources, the quality of the teachers, and the feeling you get when you walk around campus, one idea is always to ask the admissions team what their former students look back and say about the school. Their answers will often reveal far more than what any website or brochure can reveal.

Learning is not just about the destination but the journey along the way.

James MacDonald is Director of the International School of Brussels. To find out more about ISB, contact admissions@isb.be.

Written by

International School of Brussels

International School of Brussels

Since 1951, the International School of Brussels (ISB) has delivered high quality education to students from countries around the world. With 1400 students aged 3-18, it is widely regarded as one of the world’s premier international schools.