成为一天的大使

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

在今年年初,我看到一个广告,在 外籍人士生活》杂志它敦促青少年抓住机会成为一天的大使。我及时申请,发现自己很幸运地与阿根廷大使联系上了。计划是参观他的办公室并进行烧烤。不幸的是,COVID-19破坏了这些计划,但幸运的是,我的机会更多了。

10月7日,我得以与巴尔特菲尔德大使和他的团队相处了一天。我最担心的是如何使谈话超过最初的几句话。很明显,我遇到的是一位经验丰富的外交官,我立刻感到很自在,因为谈话的过程非常自然。我了解到,一个国家可以使用两种形式的权力:软实力和硬实力。软实力是利用创新和文化来促进你的国家的利益,而硬实力是利用军事手段来促进上述利益。随着硬实力变得越来越不合时宜,许多大使正在巧妙地使用他们的软实力。

巴特菲尔德(阿根廷大使)与本杰明(上海国际学校九年级学生)在一起。

阿根廷的软实力是其美味的肉类、壮丽的风景、美妙的葡萄酒,当然还有探戈以及著名的运动--马球。

我还被介绍给他的副手,他们亲切地带我参观大使馆,并回答了我的所有问题,例如大使馆是否是外国领土的问题,如何成为一名大使,以及他们认为大使馆最重要的工作是什么。我还学到了很多关于在外交部门工作的知识。我认为这一天无疑鼓励了我继续努力工作,以实现我作为一名外交官的梦想。

Barttfeld和Benjamin

在改变后的议程中,我没有参加晚上的烧烤,而是参加了一个真正的马球课程。我有机会学习了特殊的马球式骑马,这与传统的骑马不同,因为你需要一只手空出来握住马球杆。我还就一些话题进行了非常愉快的交谈,晚上的活动激发了我寻求继续骑马和马球课程的兴趣。

无论COVID-19对我们的日常生活有多大影响,我们有时需要相信,随着我们认识新的朋友,有新的经历,并迎接新的挑战,最终的结果可能会更好。当明年机会再次开放时,我鼓励所有SJII的学生尝试进入这个项目,因为这确实是一个宝贵的学习经验,将伴随我的余生。


撰写人 本杰明, 九年级

撰写人

圣约瑟夫机构国际

St. Joseph’s Institution International

圣约瑟夫机构国际学校位于宽敞、绿树成荫的校园内,拥有令人印象深刻的设施,是一所具有拉萨尔教育传统的独立男女同校的天主教学校。学校为40多个国家的不同学生提供全面的、以价值观为导向的国际教育经验。

Being an Ambassador for the Day

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

At the beginning of the year, I saw an advertisement in Expat Living magazine, which urged teens to take the opportunity to be an ambassador for a day. I applied timely and found myself lucky enough to be connected with the Argentine ambassador. The plan was to visit his office and have a barbecue. Unfortunately, COVID-19 ruined these plans, but luckily for me, the opportunity got even better.

On 7 October, I was able to spend a day with Ambassador Barttfeld, and his team. My biggest worry was to keep the conversation going past the first few words. It was clear that I was meeting a seasoned diplomat and felt at ease right away, as the conversation flowed a very natural course. I learned that there are two forms of power a country can use: soft power, and hard power. Soft power is the use of innovation and culture to advance the interests of your country, and hard power is the use of military means to advance these said interests. With hard power becoming more and more unfashionable, many ambassadors are using their soft power cleverly.

Barttfeld (Ambassador of Argentina) with Benjamin (Grade 9 student at SJIl)

The Argentine soft powers are its delicious meat, splendid scenery, fantastic wines, and of course, tango as well as the famous sport, Polo.

I was also introduced to his deputies, who kindly showed me around the embassy, and answered all of the questions I had, such as the question if an embassy is foreign soil, how to become an ambassador and what they would consider the most important thing an embassy does. I also learned a lot about working in the foreign service. I think this day has definitely encouraged me to keep working hard to achieve my dream of working as a diplomat.

Barttfeld and Benjamin

In the changed agenda, instead of the barbecue in the evening, I was able to attend a real Polo class. I had the opportunity to learn the special Polo style horseback riding, which is different from conventional riding as you need one hand to be free to hold the polo stick. I also had very enjoyable conversations about a number of topics, and the evening activities inspired me to seek to continue my horse riding and polo classes.

However much COVID-19 impacts our daily lives, we sometimes need to trust that the final outcome can be for the better as we meet new friends, have new experiences, and rise to new challenges. When the opportunity opens up again next year, I encourage all SJII students to try and enter into the program, as it is a really valuable learning experience and will stick with me for the rest of my life.


Written by Benjamin, Grade 9

Written by

St. Joseph’s Institution International

St. Joseph’s Institution International

Situated on a spacious, leafy campus with impressive facilities, St. Joseph's Institution International School is an independent co-educational Catholic day school in the Lasallian educational tradition. The school offers a holistic, values-driven and international educational experience to a diverse student body comprising more than 40 nationalities.