为什么家长在选择学校时要考虑基于项目的学习?

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

当选择一个 寄宿学校在这里,家长们需要牢记许多因素:校园位置、学生人数、学费等等。 

但是,家长在决定学校时可能没有注意到的一件事是所采用的课程类型。对于一些家长来说,经过时间考验的 国际学士学位课程(International Baccalaureate 是不难理解的。然而,越来越多的家长正在寻找一种考虑到他们孩子个人需求的课程。 

标准课程,如 IB 提供以教师为主导的方法,让学生被动地学习。课堂通常由一名教育工作者在教室前面给学生讲课,并根据教科书布置大量的家庭作业。这是彻头彻尾的死记硬背,学生被期望在决定他们未来的考试前记住高深的材料。 

盖洛普的一项研究调查显示,标准的学习方法导致学生内心缺乏参与感,心理健康水平整体下降。 

在小学,76%的学生参与其中,但在进入高中时,这个数字下降到44%。如果学校在提供适当的教育方面做得很好,这个数字就应该增加,而不是从悬崖上急剧下降。 

一个关键的发展时期

造成这种下降的一个原因是,青春期是最关键的发展阶段之一。青少年开始进行抽象思维,并在社会和情感方面得到发展。当所有学生都要参加同样的讲座,参加同样的标准化考试,基本上接受同样的教育,而不管他们的需要,你可以看到为什么会出现脱离和压力。 

那么,有什么替代品呢?幸运的是,有很多。今天,我想介绍一种教学法,它侧重于增强学生的能力,并在他们体内培养他们在大学和其他地方取得成功所需的技能:基于项目的学习(PBL)。 

什么是基于项目的学习?

简单地说,基于项目的学习让学生通过参与基于相关驱动问题的项目进行学习。 

标准的课堂教学方法和基于项目的学习之间的主要区别是,在基于项目的学习中,学生对他们的学习有更多的掌控。基于项目的学习的参与者不是简单地听讲和考试,而是参与有意义的项目,鼓励更深入的学习和解决复杂问题。另一个关键的区别是,基于项目的学习注重将现实世界的问题纳入每个项目。这使项目工作更有意义,并使学生能够解决具有当地影响的问题。 

THINK全球学校的学生在一个项目上进行合作

从国际文凭课程转向基于项目的学习课程是我们为学生做的最好的事情。我们可以看到学生的参与度、自主性、目标导向和归属感都有相当大的提高。我建议每个家长都考虑项目学习学校。

Adnan Mackovic, THINK全球学校校长

项目可以有不同的长度。在 思考全球学校项目通常持续八周(一整个学期),但在其他学校可能只持续一天、一周,甚至跨越一整年。 

应该指出的是,虽然学生在基于项目的学习中拥有更多的自由,但它与传统学习一样严格,甚至更严格。学生们经常参与个人、小组和全班的讨论,这与教师主导的学习形成了鲜明的对比,教师通常会指导所有的讨论。 

项目工作应该是高质量的。在项目结束时,老师会对学生做得好的地方提供反馈,并对他们如何改进提供建议。这种反馈循环确保了学生不断成长,因为它可以应用于后续项目。这就是所谓的技能掌握,学生通过在现有技能的基础上不断提高。通过技能掌握,学生在进入大学时就具备了丰富的技能,并对他们的生活有了想法。

学习应该是混乱的

基于项目的学习的精彩之处在于它是混乱的。学生通过调查、创造、分享和反思的反复过程来学习,从而设计出高质量的最终产品。这个过程通常会使学生在最初的时候离开他们的舒适区,因为他们试图确定如何处理这个项目。很多时候,他们需要回到绘图板,直到事情发生,但他们在行动过程中建立的复原力是这个过程的一个宝贵部分,也是在现实世界中至关重要的有形技能。 

最重要的是,基于项目的学习传授了在大学和专业环境中有用的技能。工作世界已经改变,但学生通过基于项目的学习获得了许多技能,为他们的工作做好准备。根据研究,来自 变得聪明一家领先的教育出版物指出,其中六个主要好处是。 

  • 参加类似于真实世界工作的沉浸式体验
  • 接收项目的实时反馈
  • 在团队中进行合作
  • 公开演讲(大多数项目要求学生展示他们的研究结果)。
  • 个性化学习 
  • 建设专业知识 

解决重要问题

每个项目的核心是一个供学生回答的驱动问题。这些驱动问题是开放式的询问,可以被视为项目的起点。学生有责任使用21世纪的技能,如批判性思维、沟通、协作和创造力,来达成对这个驱动问题的解决方案。 

在形成驱动问题时,教育者会牢记学生得出结论所需的所有资源。 在大多数情况下,教育者将多个科目同时纳入项目,确保学生接受全面教育。因此,与其让老师先讲一小时的科学,再讲一小时的数学,基于项目的学习让学生以真实和有意义的方式结合学科。 

融入现实世界

基于项目的学习的另一个重要好处是,学生经常在当地社区 "边做边学"。学习是体验式的,这意味着学生参与的活动需要他们成为积极的参与者,而不是传统的课堂经验,他们被动地学习。 

思考全球学校基于地点的学习是其基于项目的课程的一个重要组成部分。每年,THINK全球学校的学生都会前往四个不同的国家,其学生参加每个地方的特定项目。在博茨瓦纳,学生参加围绕保护的项目。在印度,他们通过与当地社区互动,听取他们在水资源短缺方面的第一手经验,学习可持续发展。虽然这是立体的体验式学习,但任何学校都可以最大限度地利用当地的社区和环境,也是如此。你会惊讶于有多少人愿意在被问及时分享他们的知识!

在巴拿马的一个项目中,THINK全球学校的学生采访了Embera Quera社区的一名成员。

通过迁移到教室外和当地社区,这些项目变得更有意义和参与性。当地企业提供机会发展有价值的技能,如数字知识和创业精神。当地专家定期担任项目导师和客座演讲者,借出他们的专业知识,为学生提供一个渠道,使他们能够提出想法并获得职业建议。 

了解更多

我希望你喜欢这个关于基于项目的学习的介绍。你可以通过访问THINK全球学校的简介,了解更多关于THINK全球学校及其项目式学习课程的信息。 这里.

撰写人

思考全球学校

THINK Global School

THINK全球学校是世界上第一所旅行高中。年龄在15-18岁之间的学生每年在四个不同的国家生活,从他们的多元文化经历中获得第一手的教育。在国内生活期间,学生通过THINK全球学校基于项目的课程,获得必要的专业知识,为我们日益全球化的世界带来变化。

Why Parents Should Consider Project-Based Learning When Selecting A School

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

When selecting a boarding school, there are many factors parents need to keep in mind: campus location, student population size, tuition, just to name a few. 

But one thing that parents might not be aware of when deciding on a school is the type of curriculum employed. For some parents, the time-tested International Baccalaureate is a no-brainer. Increasingly, however, parents are looking for a curriculum that takes their child’s individual needs into account. 

Standard curriculums like the IB offer a teacher-led approach, where the student learns passively. Classes typically consist of an educator lecturing students from the front of a classroom with vast amounts of homework assigned from textbooks. It’s rote learning through and through, with students being expected to memorize lofty materials ahead of exams that dictate their future. 

A Gallup research poll shows that the standard approach to learning leads to a lack of engagement within students and an overall decrease in mental health. 

In elementary school, 76% of students are engaged, but that number drops to 44% by the time they enter high school. If a school is doing what it should to provide a proper education, that number should be increasing, not plummeting off of a cliff. 

A Critical Development Period

One reason for this decline is that adolescence is one of the most critical developmental stages. Teenagers begin to think abstractly and develop socially and emotionally. When all students are expected to participate in the same lectures, take the same standardized tests, and essentially receive the same education, regardless of their needs, you can see why disengagement and stress occur. 

So what are the alternatives? Fortunately, there are many. Today I’d like to introduce a pedagogy that focuses on empowering students and building within them the skills they’ll need to succeed at university and beyond: project-based learning (PBL). 

What is Project-Based Learning?

Simply put, project-based learning has students learn by participating in projects based on relevant driving questions. 

The main difference between a standard classroom approach and project-based learning is that students are much more in charge of their learning during PBL. Rather than simply listening to lectures and taking tests, participants in project-based learning participate in meaningful projects that encourage deeper learning and the solving of complex problems. The other key differentiator is that project-based learning focuses on incorporating real-world issues into each project. This makes the project work more meaningful and allows the student to solve problems with local implications. 

THINK Global School students collaborate on a project

Switching from the IB Diploma Programme to a project-based learning curriculum was the best thing we ever did for our students. We can see a sizable increase in engagement, autonomy, goal orientation, and belongingness. I would recommend every parent consider a project-based learning school.

Adnan Mackovic, THINK Global School Principal

Projects can vary in length. At THINK Global School, projects typically last eight weeks (an entire term), but they might last only a day, a week, or even span a whole year at other schools. 

It should be noted that while students have more freedom during project-based learning, it is just as rigorous, if not more so, than traditional learning. Students regularly engage in discussions individually, in groups, and with the whole class, which is in stark contrast to teacher-led learning, where the teacher typically guides all discussions. 

Project work is expected to be of high quality. At the end of the project, the teacher provides feedback on what the student did well and offers suggestions on how they can improve. This feedback cycle ensures that the student is constantly growing, as it can be applied to subsequent projects. This is known as skills mastery, where the student improves over time by building upon existing skills. Through skill mastery, students arrive at university equipped with a substantial skillset and an idea of what they want to do with their lives.

Learning Should Be Messy

One of the brilliant things about project-based learning is it’s messy. Students learn through an iterative process of investigation, creation, sharing, and reflection on their way to designing a high-quality final product. This process often takes students out of their comfort zone initially as they try to determine how to approach the project. Oftentimes, they’ll need to go back to the drawing board until things click, but the resilience they build during the course of their actions is a valuable part of the process and a tangible skill that is vital in the real world. 

Most importantly, project-based learning imparts skills that are useful in university and the professional setting. The world of work has changed, but students gain many skills that prepare them for it through project-based learning. According to research from Getting Smart, a leading education publication, six of the main benefits are: 

  • Participating in Immersive experiences that resemble real-world work
  • Receiving real-time feedback on projects
  • Collaborating in teams
  • Public speaking (most projects require a student to present their findings)
  • Personalized learning 
  • Building expertise 

Solving Important Questions

At the heart of every project is a driving question for the student to answer. These driving questions are open-ended inquiries that can be considered a starting point for the project. It’s the student’s responsibility to use 21st-century skills like critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity to arrive at a solution to this driving question. 

When forming the driving Question, the educator keeps in mind all of the resources that the student will need to arrive at their conclusion.  In most instances, the educator integrates multiple subjects into the project at once, ensuring a student receives a comprehensive education. So rather than have a teacher lecture for an hour on science then an hour on math, project-based learning allows students to combine subjects in real and meaningful ways. 

Incorporating the Real World

Another significant benefit of project-based learning is that students are regularly “learning by doing” in their local community. Learning is experiential, meaning students engage in activities that require them to be active participants, rather than the traditional classroom experience where they passively learn. 

At THINK Global School, place-based learning is a vital part of its project-based curriculum. Each year students at THINK Global School travel to four different countries, and its students take part in projects specific to each location. In Botswana, students participate in projects that revolve around conservation. In India, they learn about sustainability by interacting with the local community and hearing firsthand about their experiences with water shortages. While this is experiential learning on steroids, any school can maximize its local community and environment similarly. You’d be surprised how many people are willing people are to share their knowledge when asked!

THINK Global School students interview a member of the Embera Quera community during a project in Panama

By migrating outside of the classroom and into the local community, the projects become more meaningful and engaging. Local businesses provide opportunities to develop valuable skills like digital literacy and entrepreneurship. Local experts regularly serve as project mentors and guest speakers, lending their expertise and providing a channel for students to bounce ideas off and field career advice. 

Learn More

I hope you’ve enjoyed this introduction to project-based learning. You can learn more about THINK Global School and its project-based learning curriculum by visiting its profile here.

Written by

THINK Global School

THINK Global School

THINK Global School is the world’s first traveling high school. Attendees between the ages of 15-18 gain an education by living in four different countries each year and learning firsthand from their multicultural experiences. During their time in-country, students gain the expertise necessary to bring about change in our increasingly global world through THINK Global School’s project-based curriculum.