工作的未来。同理心经济

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

当我坐在那里自我反思,考虑COVID19所引发的基本社会和教育转变时,我想超越眼前,关注我们的未来会是什么样子。我决定将我的思考建立在普华永道进行的一项关键性研究上。 "未来的劳动力:塑造2030年的竞争性力量" 在这份报告中,他们概述了我们未来劳动力可能前进的四个合理方向,给我们教育工作者带来了不同的好处和挑战,因为我们试图用技能、特质、能力和知识来装备我们的学生,以便在这个不确定的未来蓬勃发展。

这四种情况被呈现为四个世界(红、黄、蓝、绿)。

鉴于目前的情况,人类正面临全球 "封锁",社区被迫隔离,我认为最重要的是首先探索黄色世界。黄色的世界是建立在 "同理心经济 "之上的:一个人性至上的世界。在同理心经济中,公平和社会公益占主导地位,有情怀的企业和工匠能够在一个繁华和创造性的市场中茁壮成长。公平、道德和同理心作为最重要的价值被社会所保障。

未来的同理心经济在行动上是什么样子的?这里有一些属性。

  • 教学是最重要的。 教师将成为最紧缺的职业之一,因为他们的技能提供受到每个劳动力成员的高度关注。 
  • 新技术和人工智能。 现在是时候让技术加快进步、学习和教育的平等了。接受教育的平等机会将通过电子学习来实现。重复性的工作和低层次的管理将变得自动化,腾出时间花在教学的人性化方面。
  • 情商得到了重视。 无论是编码还是木工,能够成功的工作都有一套与创造力、解决问题和沟通有关的核心技能。公司寻找教师来培训员工的社会技能,而这些技能在我们今天的世界中往往被忽视。
  • 城市地区蓬勃发展。 在这种同理心经济中,城市环境中的人在社会技能发展等方面获得成功没有问题。然而,农村地区的个人可能会挣扎着茁壮成长,因为同理心的投资和发展的温床被保留给更自由的地区。这可能会造成像越南这样的国家与日本这样的国家之间已经存在的更大差距。

一个有同理心的世界是一个工人、公司和教育机构在他们的工作中寻求更大的意义以及相关性的世界。人们想要答案--他们不希望只是整个公司雷达上的另一个闪光点。人们要求公平,要求财富的分配,要求平等,使多样性在每个行业都能茁壮成长。

将会有灵活性、自主性和成就感,因为个人为了集体的利益舍弃了他们的个人品牌。传统的雇主并不像那些花时间投资于社会正义项目和社区组织的雇主那样受到重视。

这对教育意味着什么?

为学生准备一个移情经济,需要对传统的 "测试 "进行重组,以换取能力和技能的发展、辩论和交流。创造力将得到更多的重视,个人成长和通过艺术表达是学校和大学提供的课程的核心。志愿服务将成为毕业的必修课,帮助学生接触非营利组织和社会正义概念,他们可以在公司管理。

电子学习将迅速发展,并与传统的基于课堂的学习一样受到高度重视,VR会议的进步,以及合作的小组项目优先于个人成就和进步。这将使全世界的学生更容易获得平等的教育。 

同理心的未来当然是我尊重的,鉴于我们目前面临的挑战,我们需要这样的未来。

然而,问题是。人类是否有足够的关心来采取行动,还是我们天生就有自我兴趣和自我服务?

撰写人

蒙特勒国际学校

Montreux International School

在MIS,学生学习国际文凭组织(IB)的职业相关课程(CP),该课程是为16-19岁的学生设计的,它借鉴了IB核心模式的学术严谨性,并结合了职业相关学习和现实世界的经验。MIS目前正在提供两个定制的职业相关课程,一个是与瑞士教育集团学校合作的商业和酒店管理的IBCP,另一个是商业和数字营销的IBCP。

The future of work: The empathy economy

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

As I sit and reflect whilst in self isolation, considering the fundamental societal and educational shifts that are being precipitated by COVID19, I wanted to look beyond the immediate and focus on what our future may look like. I decided to base my musings on a pivotal piece of research carried out by PwC “Workforce of the Future: the competing forces shaping 2030” report, in which they outlined four plausible directions our future workforce could advance, posing different benefits, as well as challenges, to us as educators, as we attempt to equip our students with the skills, attributes, competences and knowledge to flourish in this uncertain future.

These four scenarios were presented as four worlds (red, yellow, blue and green)

Given current circumstances, where humanity is facing a global “lockdown” and communities are forced into isolation, I thought it most important to explore the yellow world first. The yellow world is built on an “empathy economy:” a world where humanity comes first. In an empathy economy, fairness and social good are dominant, where businesses with a heart and artisans are able to thrive in a bustling and creative marketplace. Fairness, ethics, and empathy are safeguarded by society as the most important values.

What does a future empathy economy look like in action? Here are some of the attributes:

  • Teaching is paramount: teaching will become one of the most in-demand occupations, as their skills provision is highly sought out by every member of the work force. 
  • New technologies and AI: it’s time to allow technology to expedite equality in progress, learning, and education. Equal access to education will be achieved through e-learning. Repetitive tasks and low-level administration will become automated, freeing up time that is spent on the human side of teaching.
  • Emotional intelligence is valued: whether it’s coding or carpentry, jobs that will succeed have a core set of skills related to creativity, problem solving, and communication. Teachers are sought out by companies to train employees in social skills that are often ignored in our world today.
  • Urban areas flourish: in this empathy economy, those in urban settings will have no problem achieving success with social skill development, etc. However, individuals in rural areas could struggle to thrive as the hotbed of empathetic investment and development is reserved for more liberal areas. This could create a larger disparity than already exists between nations like Vietnam versus nations like Japan.

A world of empathy is one in which workers, companies, and educational institutions seek out greater meaning, as well as relevance, in what they do. People want answers – they don’t want to be just another blip on the overall corporate radar. There is a demand for fairness, a distribution of wealth, and equality that makes it possible for diversity to thrive in every industry.

There will be flexibility, autonomy, and fulfillment, as the individual sheds their personal brand for the good of the collective. Traditional employers aren’t as valued as the ones that are taking their time to invest in social justice projects and community organizing.

What Does This Mean for Education?

Preparing students for an empathy economy will require a restructuring of classic “testing,” in exchange for competency and skill development, debate, and communication. Creativity will be more valued, with personal growth and expression through the arts central to the curriculum offered by schools and colleges. Volunteering will become a mandatory part of graduating, helping to expose students to nonprofits and social justice concepts they can manage at companies.

E-Learning will develop rapidly and be equally highly valued as traditional classroom-based learning, with advances in VR conferencing, and collaborative group projects prioritized over individual achievement and advancement. This will make it easier for students around the world to secure an equal education. 

A future of empathy is certainly one which I would respect and given the challenges we are currently facing, one we need.

However, the question is: Does humanity care enough to take action or are we inherently self interested and self serving?

Written by

Montreux International School

Montreux International School

At MIS, students study the International Baccalaureate’s (IB) Career-related Programme (CP), which is designed for students between the ages of 16-19, and draws on the academic rigour of the core IB model in combination with career-related study and real-world experience. MIS is currently offering two bespoke career related courses, an IBCP in Business and Hospitality in partnership with Swiss Education Group schools and an IBCP in Business and Digital Marketing.