中学的学生领导力

"如果你的行动能激励他人实现更多的梦想,学习更多的知识,做更多的事,成为更多的人,你就是一个领导者。"

约翰-昆西-亚当斯

学生进入初中后,随着他们的不断成长,准备获得更多的独立,更多的知识,和更多的责任。对初中生来说,参加俱乐部是对学生领导力的一个很好的介绍,这些俱乐部提供了进行服务、建立性格和发展领导技能的机会。

学生领导力的机会

建设者俱乐部就是这样一个俱乐部,这是一个由学生领导的国际组织,隶属于国际基瓦尼斯组织,为成员提供服务和领导机会。在蒙特维德学院,建设者俱乐部向任何愿意努力工作并希望通过服务学校和社区来帮助他人的中学生开放。

建设者俱乐部是一个由学生主导的组织,顾问作为教练,提供反馈和帮助。学生们每个月有一个项目需要关注。它可以是创建和主持一个筹款活动,如 "粉红十月",将筹得的资金捐给以癌症为重点的非营利组织;也可以是一个服务项目,如学生自愿花时间清理当地的公园,或烘烤饼干并将其送到当地消防员和警察手中。学生们做所有的计划,分配任务,研究非营利组织或项目的支持,获得适当的许可,以及更多。

"我认为参加以志愿者为基础的组织很重要,因为它有助于塑造性格,"MVA的建设者俱乐部主席瓦苏-加迪帕尔蒂说。"有时志愿服务并不像志愿服务,因为你知道你帮助了世界。我很享受这种内在的回报,使志愿服务成为一种伟大的经历。我将在一生中使用这些领导技能。无论是作为公司的经理还是武术老师建立一个团队,领导力是一个人一生中随时可以学到的最基本的技能之一"。

有很多方法可以在你的社区实践学生的领导力
有很多方法可以在你的社区实践学生的领导力

另一个机会是国家青少年荣誉协会(NJHS)。NJHS分会的目的是创造对学术的热情;激发提供服务的愿望;促进领导能力;鼓励负责任的公民意识,并培养中学生的性格。这些宗旨也转化为各地方分会选择成员的标准。今年,Montverde学院分会的活动有限,但他们仍然专注于为学校和更广泛的社区中的其他人服务,在感恩节时自愿花时间在社区分发食物,并组织帮助MVA学生第一次准备期中考试。

"我们有一个多方面的目标--我们希望学生看到时间的价值,感受到他们工作的影响,并理解作为社区的积极成员能够为他人带来改变的重要性,"MVA中学院长Paul Quick先生说。"我们正在年轻的学生中播下种子,他们正在成长和成熟。我们希望他们充分发挥自己的潜力,做好准备,在成年后成为一个自信、有效的领导者"。

MVA的初中学生正在认真对待领导力,并积极准备在进入高中部后承担领导力的机会。

Student Leadership in Middle School

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more, you are a leader.”

John Quincy Adams

Students enter Middle School ready to gain more independence, more knowledge, and more responsibility as they continue to grow. A great introduction to student leadership for Middle School students is participation in clubs that offer opportunities to perform service, build character and develop leadership skills.

Opportunities for Student Leadership

One such club is Builder’s Club, an international student-led organization, affiliated with Kiwanis International, that provides members service and leadership opportunities. At Montverde Academy, Builder’s Club is open to any Middle School student who is willing to work hard and wants to help others by serving their school and community.

Builder’s Club is a student-driven organization where an advisor serves as a coach, providing feedback and assistance. Students come up with one project a month to focus on. It could be creating and hosting a fundraiser such as Pinktober where funds raised are donated to a cancer-focused non-profit, to the annual collection of food in November, or a service project such as students volunteering time to clean up a local park or bake and deliver cookies to local firefighters and police officers. Students do all the planning, delegating tasks, researching non-profits or projects to support, getting appropriate permission, and more.

“I think it’s important to participate in volunteer-based organizations because it helps build character,” said Vaasu Gadiparthi, president of MVA’s Builder’s Club. “Sometimes volunteering doesn’t feel like volunteering because you know you helped the world. I enjoy the intrinsic reward that makes volunteering a great experience. I will use these leadership skills my entire life. Whether it’s building a team as a manager of a company or a martial arts teacher, leadership is one the most essential skills one can learn anytime in their life.”

There are plenty of ways to practice student leadership in your community
There are plenty of ways to practice student leadership in your community

Another opportunity is the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS). NJHS Chapters’ purpose is to create enthusiasm for scholarship; to stimulate a desire to render service; to promote leadership; to encourage responsible citizenship, and to develop character in the students of secondary schools. These purposes also translate into the criteria used for membership selection in each local chapter. This year, the Montverde Academy chapter’s events have been limited, but they are still focused on serving others in the school and broader community, volunteering time to distribute food in the community at Thanksgiving and organizing help for MVA students preparing for mid-term exams for the first time.

“We have a multifaceted goal – we want students to see the value of time, feel the impact of their work and understand the importance of being an active member in their community who can make a difference for others,” said Mr. Paul Quick, MVA Dean of the Middle School. “We are planting seeds in young students who are growing and maturing. We want them to reach their full potential, well-equipped to be a confident, effective leader as an adult.”

MVA’s Middle School students are taking leadership seriously and actively preparing to take on leadership opportunities in as they move into the Upper School.

Written by

Montverde Academy

Montverde Academy

Montverde Academy is a coeducational independent school that serves grades Pre-K3–12. Our boarding program serves grades 7-12 and post-graduate studies. We are one of the top national private schools in diversity, athletics, STEM, boarding, and college preparatory education. Located just 25 minutes from beautiful Orlando, Florida we offer an engaging and challenging academic environment that inspires students to achieve at the highest level. Inside and outside of the classroom, students develop their talents and abilities through involvement in fine arts, athletics, school clubs, and service organizations.