布里兰特蒙特的STEAM课程:2019/20年度有哪些课程?

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

看看我们的科学和编码学生即将到来的时间表, who are applying some high level concepts to their practical work as part of a fun, engaging upcoming syllabus. Read on to learn what we have been working on – and what is still to come in this school year!

Brillantmont的STEAM课程
在我们的科学和数学协调员Rachael Walker和John Kennedy的熟练指导下,布里兰特学生今年有一些很好的STEAM学习机会。作为学生课程的一部分,我们很自豪地提供了一个广泛的STEAM课程,我们的8年级和9年级的学生正在学习。

STEAM课程(包括科学、技术、工程、艺术和数学)是一个迅速扩大且越来越受欢迎的学习领域。这些核心科目在现代工作场所正变得至关重要,通过花一些时间来深入覆盖这些领域,我们正在为我们的学生的未来做准备。

数学和编码
今年,我们在编码课程的基础上扩大了课程和研讨会,涵盖各种编程语言。学生们一直在使用Javascript进行块状代码翻译,将动画人物与音乐曲目联系起来,创造有趣的舞蹈视频。

I
这需要对循环和逻辑有扎实的了解--这只是我们正在建立的综合技能组合的一部分。我们还在使用麻省理工学院的Scratch编程语言,并教学生使用流行的网络标记HTML进行编码。这些技能以后将应用于使用Python,以创建计算机程序、游戏等。

科学
科学部也在努力实现一些既有教育意义又有乐趣的项目,包括准备科学奥林匹克竞赛,参加艾萨克-牛顿爵士测试,以及参加莱辛美国学校的地球日活动。

今年的主题极为多样--从线粒体疾病的影响和根除到生命的起源和宇宙的开端。
我们鼓励学生积极参与即将开展的项目,并在研究课题中找到吸引他们的领域。

布里兰特蒙特的STEAM课程的重要性
Brillantmont为提供如此多样化的STEAM课程和科目感到自豪,因为我们知道这将为我们的学生进入大学和工作场所做最好的准备。
在21世纪的工作场所,科学、技术和计算是越来越重要的技能,对编码等学科有扎实的了解,将有助于学生在他们选择的职业中开拓未来的道路。


I
Watch this space for updates on our students’ work in the STEAM courses, and contact our subject coordinators if you have any questions about the work we are covering.

撰写人

布里兰特蒙特国际学校

Brillantmont International School

Brillantmont国际学校是瑞士最古老的学校之一。它成立于1882年,目前仍由创始人家族拥有。布里兰特蒙特的特别之处不仅在于它位于充满活力的洛桑市中心,还在于它的规模,它创造了一种强烈的社区意识,一个真正的家,13-18岁的男孩和女孩在一个温暖、支持的环境中学习和发展。

STEAM courses at Brillantmont: what 2019/20 has in store

Brillantmont International School
November 13, 2019

Take a look at the upcoming schedule for our Science and Coding students, who are applying some high level concepts to their practical work as part of a fun, engaging upcoming syllabus. Read on to learn what we have been working on – and what is still to come in this school year!

STEAM courses at Brillantmont
Under the skilled direction of our Science and Mathematics Coordinators, Rachael Walker and John Kennedy, Brillantmont students have some great opportunities for STEAM learning this year. As part of the curriculum for students, we are proud to offer an extensive STEAM programme which our Grade 8 and 9 pupils are pursuing.

STEAM courses (comprising Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts and Mathematics) are a rapidly expanding and increasingly popular area of study. These core subjects are becoming essential in the modern workplace, and by taking some time to cover these areas in depth, we are preparing our students for their futures.

Mathematics and Coding
This year, we are expanding on the coding course with lessons and workshops that cover a variety of programming languages. Students have been working on block code translation using Javascript, linking animated characters with music tracks to create fun dance videos.

I
This requires a solid understanding of loops and logic – just one part of the comprehensive skill set we are building. We are also working with MIT’s Scratch programming language, and teaching students to code with the popular web markup HTML. These skills will later be applied to use of Python, to create computer programmes, games and more.

Science
The Science department is also working towards a number of projects that are both educational and fun, including preparing for the Science Olympiad, taking part in the Sir Isaac Newton Tests, and participating in Globe Day at Leysin American School.

Subjects this year are extremely varied – from the impact and eradication of mitochondrial diseases to the origins of life and beginnings of the universe.
Students are encouraged to become actively involved in upcoming projects, and to find areas within study topics that appeal to them.

Importance of STEAM courses at Brillantmont
Brillantmont is proud to offer such a diverse range of STEAM courses and subjects, as we know this will best prepare our students for university and the workplace.
Science, technology and computing are increasingly important skills within 21st Century workplaces, and having a solid understanding of disciplines such as coding will help students forge their future path within their chosen career.


I
Watch this space for updates on our students’ work in the STEAM courses, and contact our subject coordinators if you have any questions about the work we are covering.

Brillantmont International School

Brillantmont International School is one of the oldest schools in Switzerland. It was founded in 1882 and is still owned by the founding family. What makes Brillantmont special…

Read more