Treffen Sie 24sesko: Rapper, Produzent, ISD Student

Teilen auf facebook
Teilen auf google
Teilen auf twitter
Teilen auf linkedin

Als er 12 Jahre alt war, machte Elliots Vater ihm einen Deal: Übe eine halbe Stunde am Tag Gitarre, dann kannst du Videospiele spielen.
Für den spielbesessenen Sechstklässler war das Gitarrenüben lediglich ein Mittel zum Zweck. Er hätte nie gedacht, dass es der Beginn einer lebenslangen Liebe zur Musik und einer vielversprechenden Musikkarriere sein würde. 

Jetzt, im reifen Alter von 19 Jahren, steht Elliot kurz davor, sein Debütalbum "Seskoland" auf den Markt zu bringen - eine Mischung aus Hip-Hop, Emo-Rap, Soul und Rock-inspirierter Musik -, die er selbst komponiert, geschrieben und aufgeführt hat, mit der Unterstützung einiger enger Freunde und der Mentorschaft des Leiters der ISD-Musikabteilung und Musikerkollegen, Chris Sabucco. 

Obwohl er in seinem Leben eine Handvoll Gitarrenstunden hatte, ist Elliot größtenteils ein autodidaktischer Musiker. Als sein Vater ihm den "Deal" anbot, fing Elliot als erstes an, Songs zu lernen, indem er sich YouTube-Tutorials ansah. Anstatt mit den Grundlagen zu beginnen, stellte er sich der Herausforderung, einen ganzen Song von Grund auf zu lernen.

Elliot spielt Gitarre

"Das erste Lied, das ich zu spielen lernte, war Ich sehe Feuer von Ed Sheeran", erzählt Elliot. "Es ist vielleicht nicht der einfachste Song, um damit anzufangen, aber ich hatte ihn in etwa drei Stunden runter."

Elliot tritt unter dem Namen "24sesko" auf (eine Abkürzung für "24-7 Esko", wobei Esko sein zweiter Vorname ist und 24-7 für sein Engagement für seine Musik steht) und beschreibt seine Musik als "Rap mit einer Geschichte". 

Er schöpft aus einer Reihe von Genres, darunter Rock, Hip-Hop und Soul, um seiner Arbeit Tiefe zu verleihen, und lässt sich von so unterschiedlichen Künstlern wie Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ed Sheeran, Rage Against The Machine und John Mayer inspirieren. 

Obwohl er eindeutig ein Naturtalent hat, weiß Elliot den Wert zu schätzen, den das IB-Musikprogramm an der ISD für seine Musik gebracht hat.

"Neben Komposition und Aufnahme studieren wir auch Musiktheorie, was einem neue Möglichkeiten gibt, seine Musik zu verbessern und darüber nachzudenken. An der ISD haben wir einige wirklich talentierte Lehrer, die auch Musiker sind, so dass ihre Erfahrung und ihr Feedback super hilfreich sind. Und wir haben auch Zugang zu einigen ziemlich erstaunlichen Geräten."

Elliots musikalische Fähigkeiten sind nicht auf die Gitarre beschränkt. Er hat sich selbst beigebracht zu singen, zu rappen, Schlagzeug zu spielen, Tracks zu mischen und zu mastern und ist auch ein talentierter Texter.   

Elliot singt

“The beauty of story-telling”, he says, “is that you don’t need to have experienced what you’re writing about. You can channel emotions and experiences from your own life – joy, love, sorrow, pain – and apply them to someone else’s story.” Which is reassuring, given that Elliot’s new album contains songs dealing with near-death and a pact with the devil!

"Mit SeskolandIch habe versucht, eine Erzählung zu schaffen. Die ersten Songs fangen recht beschwingt und positiv an, aber dann erreicht man einen Wendepunkt, an dem die Texte dunkler und unheimlicher werden." Und wie wird die Geschichte enden? Das müsst ihr euch anhören Seskoland um es herauszufinden! 

Geschrieben von

Internationale Schule in Düsseldorf

International School of Düsseldorf

Die International School of Düsseldorf wurde 1968 gegründet und ist eine gemeinnützige, unabhängige, koedukative Tagesschule im Herzen der internationalen Gemeinde Kaiserswerth. Aufgrund unseres Non-Profit-Status werden alle unsere Einnahmen wieder in die Schule zum Wohle unserer Schüler investiert.

Meet 24sesko: Rapper, Producer, ISD Student

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

When he was 12 years old, Elliot’s father made him a deal: practice guitar for half an hour a day, and then you can play video games.
To the gaming-obsessed sixth-grader, guitar practice was simply a means to an end. He never imagined it would be the start of a lifelong love of music and a promising musical career. 

Now, at the ripe old age of 19, Elliot is about to launch his debut album “Seskoland”—a mix of hip-hop, emo-rap, soul, and rock-inspired music—that he’s composed, written, and performed himself, with the input of a few close friends and the mentorship of ISD Music Department head and fellow musician, Chris Sabucco. 

While he has had a handful of guitar lessons in his life, Elliot is mostly a self-taught musician. When his father offered him the ‘deal’, the first thing Elliot did was start learning how to play songs by watching YouTube tutorials. Rather than start with the basics, he set himself the challenge of learning an entire song from scratch.

Elliot playing guitar

“The first song I learned to play was I See Fire by Ed Sheeran”, recounts Elliot. “It’s maybe not the easiest song to start with, but I had it down in about three hours.”

Performing under the name ‘24sesko’ (an abbreviation of ‘24-7 Esko’, Esko being his middle name, and 24-7 representing his commitment to his music) Elliot describes his music as “rap with a story”. 

He draws on a range of genres, including rock, hip-hop, and soul to give depth to his work, and draws inspiration from artists as diverse as Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ed Sheeran, Rage Against The Machine, and John Mayer. 

While he clearly has a natural talent, Elliot is quick to appreciate the value that the IB music program at ISD has brought to his music.

“As well as composition and recording, we also study musical theory, which gives you new ways of improving and thinking about your music. At ISD we have some really talented teachers who are also musicians, so their experience and feedback are super helpful. And we have access to some pretty amazing equipment as well.”

Elliot’s musical abilities aren’t limited to guitar. He’s taught himself how to sing, rap, play drums, mix and master tracks, and is also a talented lyricist.   

Elliot singing

“The beauty of story-telling”, he says, “is that you don’t need to have experienced what you’re writing about. You can channel emotions and experiences from your own life – joy, love, sorrow, pain – and apply them to someone else’s story.” Which is reassuring, given that Elliot’s new album contains songs dealing with near-death and a pact with the devil!

“With Seskoland, I’ve tried to create a narrative. The first songs start off quite upbeat and positive, but then you reach a turning point, where the lyrics become darker and more sinister.” And how does the story end? You’ll have to listen to Seskoland to find out! 

Written by

International School of Düsseldorf

International School of Düsseldorf

Founded in 1968, the International School of Düsseldorf is a not-for-profit, independent, co-educational day school located in the heart of the international community of Kaiserswerth. Due to our non-profit status, all our income is invested back into the school for the benefit of our students.