认识24sesko。说唱歌手、制作人、ISD学生

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

在他12岁的时候,艾略特的父亲给他做了一个交易:每天练半个小时的吉他,然后你可以玩电子游戏。
对于这个痴迷于游戏的六年级学生来说,吉他练习仅仅是达到目的的一种手段。他从未想过这将是他终生热爱音乐和有前途的音乐事业的开始。 

现在,19岁的艾略特即将推出他的首张专辑 "Seskoland"--混合了嘻哈、情绪说唱、灵魂乐和摇滚乐的音乐--他自己作曲、创作和表演,并得到了一些亲密朋友的帮助和ISD音乐系主任和同为音乐家的克里斯-萨布科的指导。 

虽然他在生活中上过几次吉他课,但艾略特主要是自学成才的音乐家。当他的父亲向他提出 "交易 "时,埃利奥特做的第一件事就是开始通过观看YouTube教程学习如何演奏歌曲。他没有从基础开始,而是给自己设定了一个挑战,即从头开始学习整首歌。

艾略特弹奏吉他

"我学会的第一首歌是 我看到了火 艾略特回忆说。"这也许不是最容易开始的歌曲,但我在大约三个小时内就把它记下来了"。

艾略特以 "24sesko"("24-7 Esko "的缩写,Esko是他的中间名,24-7代表他对音乐的承诺)的名义表演,他把自己的音乐描述为 "有故事的说唱"。 

他借鉴了一系列流派,包括摇滚、嘻哈和灵魂乐,以赋予其作品深度,并从阿姆、肯德里克-拉马尔、艾德-希兰、愤怒反对机器和约翰-梅尔等不同艺术家那里获得灵感。 

虽然他显然有天赋,但艾略特很快就体会到ISD的IB音乐项目给他的音乐带来的价值。

"除了作曲和录音,我们还学习音乐理论,这给了你改进和思考音乐的新方法。在ISD,我们有一些非常有才华的老师,他们也是音乐家,所以他们的经验和反馈是超级有用的。而且我们还可以使用一些相当惊人的设备。"

艾略特的音乐能力并不限于吉他。他自学了如何唱歌、说唱、打鼓、混音和掌握曲目,也是一个有才华的作词人。   

艾略特歌唱

“The beauty of story-telling”, he says, “is that you don’t need to have experienced what you’re writing about. You can channel emotions and experiences from your own life – joy, love, sorrow, pain – and apply them to someone else’s story.” Which is reassuring, given that Elliot’s new album contains songs dealing with near-death and a pact with the devil!

"与 塞斯科兰,我试图创造一个叙事。最初的歌曲开始时相当乐观和积极,但后来你达到了一个转折点,歌词变得更加黑暗和险恶"。那么这个故事的结局是什么呢?你将不得不听 塞斯科兰 来了解一下! 

撰写人

杜塞尔多夫国际学校

International School of Düsseldorf

杜塞尔多夫国际学校成立于1968年,是一所非营利性的独立男女混合日间学校,位于凯泽斯韦特国际社区的中心。由于我们的非盈利地位,我们所有的收入都被投资回学校,用于学生的利益。

Meet 24sesko: Rapper, Producer, ISD Student

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

When he was 12 years old, Elliot’s father made him a deal: practice guitar for half an hour a day, and then you can play video games.
To the gaming-obsessed sixth-grader, guitar practice was simply a means to an end. He never imagined it would be the start of a lifelong love of music and a promising musical career. 

Now, at the ripe old age of 19, Elliot is about to launch his debut album “Seskoland”—a mix of hip-hop, emo-rap, soul, and rock-inspired music—that he’s composed, written, and performed himself, with the input of a few close friends and the mentorship of ISD Music Department head and fellow musician, Chris Sabucco. 

While he has had a handful of guitar lessons in his life, Elliot is mostly a self-taught musician. When his father offered him the ‘deal’, the first thing Elliot did was start learning how to play songs by watching YouTube tutorials. Rather than start with the basics, he set himself the challenge of learning an entire song from scratch.

Elliot playing guitar

“The first song I learned to play was I See Fire by Ed Sheeran”, recounts Elliot. “It’s maybe not the easiest song to start with, but I had it down in about three hours.”

Performing under the name ‘24sesko’ (an abbreviation of ‘24-7 Esko’, Esko being his middle name, and 24-7 representing his commitment to his music) Elliot describes his music as “rap with a story”. 

He draws on a range of genres, including rock, hip-hop, and soul to give depth to his work, and draws inspiration from artists as diverse as Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ed Sheeran, Rage Against The Machine, and John Mayer. 

While he clearly has a natural talent, Elliot is quick to appreciate the value that the IB music program at ISD has brought to his music.

“As well as composition and recording, we also study musical theory, which gives you new ways of improving and thinking about your music. At ISD we have some really talented teachers who are also musicians, so their experience and feedback are super helpful. And we have access to some pretty amazing equipment as well.”

Elliot’s musical abilities aren’t limited to guitar. He’s taught himself how to sing, rap, play drums, mix and master tracks, and is also a talented lyricist.   

Elliot singing

“The beauty of story-telling”, he says, “is that you don’t need to have experienced what you’re writing about. You can channel emotions and experiences from your own life – joy, love, sorrow, pain – and apply them to someone else’s story.” Which is reassuring, given that Elliot’s new album contains songs dealing with near-death and a pact with the devil!

“With Seskoland, I’ve tried to create a narrative. The first songs start off quite upbeat and positive, but then you reach a turning point, where the lyrics become darker and more sinister.” And how does the story end? You’ll have to listen to Seskoland to find out! 

Written by

International School of Düsseldorf

International School of Düsseldorf

Founded in 1968, the International School of Düsseldorf is a not-for-profit, independent, co-educational day school located in the heart of the international community of Kaiserswerth. Due to our non-profit status, all our income is invested back into the school for the benefit of our students.