从田径运动中吸取的教训

知识、性格和社区是学生成长和发展的重要方面,这些都是在教育经历中获得的。纪律、责任和领导力也是对学生发展很重要的特征之一。这些特点结合起来,可以使学生勤奋学习,努力工作,尊重他人,并有动力在他或她所做的一切中取得成功。当学生参加体育活动时,这些重要的品质都会得到加强和强化。

根据一项研究,由 德雷克基金会,"团队运动的参与影响着身体、心理和社会发展的所有层面"。在基金会对1万多名初中和高中运动员进行的一项研究中,结果显示,身体活跃的青少年和团队运动参与者有更高的自尊,更高的生活满意度和减少的心理压力。该 全国各州高中协会联合会报告 体育和学习成绩之间有明确的联系,也有长期的好处,如强烈的自信心,更好地了解自我和他们的行为如何影响他人,以及终身的健身习惯。

初中和高中的体育项目为学生提供了各种各样的学习和参与体育的机会。有些学生从小就参加体育活动,目标是成为一名职业运动员,而另一些学生参加体育活动是为了参加有组织的体育项目提供的体育活动以及社会交往。无论是超强的专注力还是有趣的消遣,所获得的好处都是宝贵的。

"田径运动不仅仅是注重竞争和胜利,它是一种全面的体验,使学生准备好处理逆境,了解他们的个人体能,获得自信,以及更多的东西,"Khrystal Phiri女士说。 蒙特维德学院."你通过参与体育项目学到的课程会成为你的一部分。作为团队的一员,学生运动员获得了团队合作、体育精神、领导力、纪律等终身技能。他们还通过看到努力工作如何塑造你个人而获得自信--从准时出现到由于练习而提高技能--所有这些令人难以置信的重要课程都是通过属于一个团队而得到加强。"

蒙特维德学院从马术、沙滩排球、篮球、足球到长曲棍球、田径、游泳、网球、高尔夫、垒球等,初中和高中学生可以参加的运动队超过55个。此外,还有全年的体育学院和俱乐部全年项目,供那些专注于并希望在大学或专业水平上打球的学生运动员参加。俱乐部 体育学院课程 - 篮球发展中心 (CBD),该组织 蒙特维德学院的足球学院 (SIMA)和 蒙特维德学院网球 (MAT) - 结构上允许学生运动员参加核心课程,并有半天的篮球、足球和网球的集中体育训练。俱乐部项目 - 蒙特维德国际足球俱乐部 (MIFC)。 精英排球预科班 (EVP);以及 蒙特维德水上运动俱乐部 (MVAC) - 在课后进行,也注重全年的技能建设。

许多 MVA 学生运动员继续为全国各地的学院和大学从事体育运动,到目前为止,在2020-21年度获得了约$290万的全额和部分奖学金。也有一些高度精英球员继续成为 职业运动员.

"体育往往是许多初中和高中经历的一个重要方面。Phiri女士说:"在体育赛事中,作为一个社区,无论是作为竞争者还是作为观众的一部分为球队加油,都是一个令人兴奋、有趣和难忘的时刻。

Lessons learned from Athletics

Knowledge, character and community are important aspects of a student’s growth and development that are gained in an educational experience. Discipline, responsibility and leadership are among characteristics that are also important for students to develop. Those attributes combined can result in students who are diligent in studies, hard-working, respectful, and driven to succeed at everything he or she does. Important qualities that are all enhanced and reinforced when a student participates in athletic activities.

According to a study done by the Drake Foundation, “team sport participation influences all dimensions of physical, mental and social development.” In a study the Foundation conducted of more than 10,000 middle- and high-school athletes, results showed that physically active adolescents and team sport participants had higher self-esteem, higher life satisfaction and decreased psychological distress. The National Federation of State High School Associations reports a clear link between sports and academic performance as well as long-lasting benefits such as strong self-confidence, a better understanding of self and how their actions affect others and lifelong fitness habits.

Middle- and high-school athletic programs offer a wide variety of opportunities for students to learn and participate in sports. Some students have participated in sports from a young age, with a goal of becoming a professional athlete, while others participate in athletics for the physical activity as well as social interaction that organized sports programs provide. Whether hyper-focused or a fun pastime, the benefits gained are valuable.

“Athletics is not just focusing on competition and winning, it’s a holistic experience that prepares a student to handle adversity, understand their individual physical fitness, gain confidence, and much more,” said Mrs. Khrystal Phiri, Director of Athletic Operations at Montverde Academy. “The lessons you learn through participation in athletic programs become a part of who you are. A student-athlete gains lifelong skills of teamwork, sportsmanship, leadership, discipline, and more as part of a team. They also gain confidence through seeing how hard work builds you personally – from showing up on time to improving skills due to practice – all incredibly important lessons to learn that are enhanced through belonging to a team.”

At Montverde Academy, there are more than 55 athletic teams that Middle and Upper School students can participate in, from equestrian, beach volleyball, basketball, and soccer, to lacrosse, track & field, swimming, tennis, golf, softball, and more. In addition, there are year-round Sports Academy and Club year-round programs available for student-athletes who are focused and wish to play at the collegiate or professional level. The Sports Academy programsCenter for Basketball Development (CBD), the Soccer Academy at Montverde Academy (SIMA) and Montverde Academy Tennis (MAT) – are structured to allow student-athletes to take core classes with a half day of focused sports training in basketball, soccer and tennis. Club programs – Montverde International Futbol Club (MIFC); Elite Volleyball Prep (EVP); and Montverde Aquatic Club (MVAC) – take place afterschool and also focus on building skills year-round.

Many MVA student-athletes go on to play sports for colleges and universities across the country, earning approximately $2.9 million in full and partial scholarships in the 2020-21 year so far. There have also been a number of highly elite players who have gone on to become professional athletes.

“Athletics are often an important facet of many middle and high school experiences. Coming together as a community at an athletic event, either as a competitor or as part of the audience to cheer on the team, is an exciting, fun and memorable moment,” said Mrs. Phiri.