酒厂文莱高年级学生在英国生物奥林匹克竞赛中获得金牌

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

34名来自12年级的生物系学生 哲东国际学校 (JIS) 最近参加了由英国生物学竞赛(UKBC)举办的中级生物学奥林匹克竞赛。该组织与英国皇家生物学会和华威大学紧密合作,将生物学竞赛带给全世界的学生。该比赛通常收到来自全球550多所学校的约9000名参赛者。

比赛中的问题是根据学生在A级生物课程第一年可能涉及的主题而设置的。额外的问题要求学生运用他们的解决问题的能力和对生物学核心原理的理解。

在34名学生中,Mohamed Bassim Isa获得金奖,6名学生Beverly Liaw, Elmeeza Yasrinal Eddy, Gabriel Chan, Jayden Ang, Josh Lindsay和Patricia Sim获得银奖,Ye Htet Oo获得铜奖。此外,有5名 JIS 学生受到了高度赞扬,9名学生受到了表扬。总的来说,参加比赛的JIS高年级学生中,有65%得到了表扬或更多。

他们的生物老师Adele Major女士听到这个消息后非常高兴。

这是生物系首次让学生参加这一国际公认的比赛。生物学A级是杰鲁东国际学校的热门科目,我为这些出色的成绩感到非常自豪。我向所有参赛的学生表示祝贺。

Nicholas Sheehan,校长

撰写人

哲东国际学校

Jerudong International School

成立于1997年,JIS文莱位于东南亚,在婆罗洲岛的小国文莱达鲁萨兰国。2019年1月,杰东国际学校(JISBrunei)是世界上第一所在英国海外学校(BSO)检查团检查的所有9个领域中获得最高评级的国际学校。

JIS Brunei Senior Student wins Gold in UK Biology Olympiad

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Thirty Four Year 12 Biology students from Jerudong International School (JIS) recently entered the Intermediate Biology Olympiad held by UK Biology Competitions (UKBC). This organisation works closely with the Royal Society of Biology and the University of Warwick to bring Biology competitions to students all over the world. The competition typically receives around 9,000 participants from over 550 schools worldwide.

Questions in the competition were set on topics which students are likely to have covered in their first year of the A Level Biology course. Additional questions required the students to use their problem solving skills and understanding of core principles of Biology in general.

Out of thirty four students, Mohamed Bassim Isa achieved Gold, 6 students Beverly Liaw, Elmeeza Yasrinal Eddy, Gabriel Chan, Jayden Ang, Josh Lindsay and Patricia Sim achieved Silver and Ye Htet Oo won the Bronze Award. In addition, five of the JIS students were highly commended and nine were commended. Overall, 65% of the JIS senior students who participated were commended or higher.

Their Biology teacher, Mrs Adele Major, was delighted to hear this news.

This is the first time that the Biology Department has entered students for this internationally recognised competition. Biology A Level is a popular subject at Jerudong International School and I am very proud of these remarkable achievements. My congratulations go to all of the students who participated.

Nicholas Sheehan, Principal

Written by

Jerudong International School

Jerudong International School

Founded in 1997, JIS Brunei is located in South East Asia, in the small, country of Brunei Darussalam, on the island of Borneo. In January 2019, Jerudong International School (JISBrunei) was the first international school in the world to achieve the highest rating in all 9 areas inspected by the British Schools Overseas (BSO) inspectorate.