公安部如何利用课外活动帮助学生培养关键的生活技能

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

在梅里克预科学校,我们保持着非常高和严格的学术标准,我们的毕业生中有100%获得了进入世界排名第一的大学的机会,许多人获得了奖学金。然而,这只是我们工作的一个部分,尽管是主要目标。

我们毕业的学生将拥有技能、知识和信心,成为对社会有贡献的成员。我们的核心价值观:社区、勇气和同情心,每天都在我们的住宿生活计划、顾问计划和学术计划中得到强调和实践......也许最明显的是在我们的联合课程中得到重新加强和实践。

课堂外的活动强化了学习目标。

课外活动扩展了学生在课堂上的学习内容

每周一、二和四下午4:00至5:00,我们的教学人员和住宿生活监督员会带领学生选择联合课外活动。这些活动包括体育、俱乐部、室内和室外活动、学生会和模拟联合国。我们提供四个 "学期 "的联合课程,其中一些贯穿全年,而另一些则在一个学期结束时结束,新的学期开始时又会有新的课程,这使我们的学生保持新鲜感和吸引力。

在课本之外,学生通过各种活动进行学习。

值得注意的是,我们把这些活动称为 "共同 "课程,而不是 "额外 "课程。我们不认为这些活动与我们的学术、住宿生活和顾问课程是分开的和 "额外的",而是将其纳入我们所有的课程,作为我们学生整体教育计划的一部分。

联合课程使我们来自17个不同国家和5个不同年级(9年级、10年级、11年级、12年级和大学资格年)的学生,以及男女学生能够混合、互动和相互学习;它使纽带跨越宗教、语言、文化和国家的界限而成长。

它让学生有机会探索自己和同龄人的价值观和信仰,并测试他们的体力和精神耐力。

梅里克预科学校提供各种活动的探索。

梅里克预备学校在整个学年中免费提供联合课程,以确保我们的学生在课堂之外保持精神和身体上的参与和相互学习。除了精神和身体上的刺激外,我们的学生还学习了同情心、社区参与和接受挑战的勇气。我们发现,通过我们的联合课程活动,我们学生的时间管理、协作技能、社会和关系建设技能、妥协和谈判的能力,以及总体的社会、智力和创造性技能,在他们参与我们每年提供的超过22项联合课程时得到了提高。

参加活动可以促进在法庭或课堂之外有用的技能。

撰写人 凯文-法雷尔负责人,校长

撰写人

梅里克预科学校

Merrick Preparatory School

自2012年开学以来,来自超过26个国家的学生把梅里克预备学校当作自己的家。国际学生来这里是为了在加拿大最安全的社区之一获得集中的学术关注和小班教学。国内学生来这里是为了通过与来自全球各地的学生一起沉浸在真正的国际教育中,拓宽他们的国际理解和视野。 国内和国际学生都从MPS的教育中获得了回报,他们在全球范围内建立了终身的友谊,并获得了进入世界一流大学的机会。

How MPS Uses Extra-Curriculars to Help Students Develop Critical Life Skills

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

At Merrick Preparatory School we maintain a very high and rigorous academic standard, with 100% of our graduates gaining access to their first-choice world-ranked university, many on scholarship. However, this is just one piece, albeit the main goal, of what we do.

We graduate students who will have the skills, knowledge, and confidence to become contributing members of their communities. Our core values of Community, Courage, and Compassion are emphasized and lived daily in our Residential Life Program, Advisor Program, and Academic Program … and perhaps most obviously re-enforced and practiced in our Co-Curricular Program.

Activities outside the classroom reinforce learning objectives.

Co-Curricular Programs Expand on What Students Learn in the Classroom

Each Monday, Tuesday and Thursday from 4:00pm to 5:00pm our Teaching Staff and Residential Life Supervisors lead co-curricular activities that are chosen by our students. These activities range from sports, clubs, indoor and outdoor activities, Student Council to Model United Nations. We offer four “terms” of co-curriculars, some of which run through the year while others conclude at the end of one term and new ones commence with the start of a new term, keeping things fresh and engaging for our students.

Going beyond the textbook, students learn through a variety of activities.

It is important to note that we call these activities “Co” curriculars, not “extra” curriculars. We do not view them as separate from and “extra” to our academic, residential life, and advisor curriculum but integrated into all of our curricula as part of a holistic educational program for our students.

Co-curriculars allow our students from over 17 different countries and five different grades (grade 9, 10, 11, 12 and a University Qualification Year), as well as both genders, to mix, interact and learn from each other; it allows for bonds to grow across lines of religion, language, culture and country.

It gives students an opportunity to explore their values and beliefs and those of their peers, as well as test their physical strength and mental endurance.

Merrick Preparatory School offers a variety of activities to explore.

Merrick Preparatory School provides co-curriculars throughout the whole academic year, at no cost, to ensure our students stay mentally and physically engaged and learning from each other outside of the classroom. In addition to the mental and physical stimulation, our students learn about compassion, community involvement and the courage to take on challenges. We have found that through our co-curricular activities our students’ time management, collaborative skills, social and relationship building skills, ability to compromise and negotiate, as well as overarching social, intellectual and creative skills, increase as they engage in our over 22 co-curriculars offered per year.

Participating in activities promotes skills that are useful beyond the court or the classroom.

Written by Kevin Farrell, Headmaster

Written by

Merrick Preparatory School

Merrick Preparatory School

Since its opening in 2012, students from more than 26 countries have called Merrick Preparatory School home. International students come for the focused academic attention and small class sizes in one of Canada’s safest communities. Domestic students come to broaden their international understanding and perspective by immersing themselves in a truly international education with students from around the globe. Both Domestic and International students reap the rewards of a MPS education with life-long friendships that span the globe and by gaining entry into world-ranked universities.