多样性--为什么我们优先考虑多元文化学习环境!

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

学校的多样性,更具体地说是高中的多样性,是一个越来越重要的话题。由于我们现在可以很容易地与地球上各个国家和文化的人和地方联系起来,我们的孩子有机会接触到更多的文化,更多的社会差异,以及更多的团结。

多样性曾经很少在大多数学校内讨论或出现。幸运的是,现在作为一个社会,我们意识到多样性如何在你孩子的学习和未来经历中发挥重要作用。

为什么多样性很重要,特别是在学校

在你的学校里拥有丰富的多样性,不仅可以帮助学生为他们未来的教育道路做好准备,而且还可以为他们未来的职业做好准备。与来自世界各地的学生交流、学习和建立友谊,可以开阔他们的眼界、心胸和思维,了解新的视角和新的做事方式。

这使得过渡到一个非常国际化的劳动力队伍变得更加容易。

例如,梅里克预科学校培养了一个多元化的学校团体。这使我们能够真正看到并成为真正了不起的东西的一部分。在过去的一年里,我们的学生包括来自全球各个角落的17个国家的人。我们的一个班级(9年级)有7名学生,每个学生都来自不同的国家!这对我们来说是一个不可思议的经历。这对我们的年轻学生来说是一个不可思议的经历。

多元化的学生群体带来了更多的多元文化理解

我们注意到,多样性鼓励教育,无论是在课堂内还是在课堂外。你可能会问,多样性是如何鼓励教育的?很简单:学生们开始提出更多的问题,努力了解来自其他文化的学生的不同信仰和观点。这也有助于消除很多错误的判断,鼓励学生专注于有教养的意见。

国际日

梅里克预备学校每年都会举办国际日活动。我们邀请我们的社区走进我们的学校,了解我们的学生所代表的每个国家。我们的学生能够做出令人印象深刻的展示,描绘他们的国家和遗产。最精彩的部分总是当他们分享一些他们的传统美味食品时。

在梅里克预科学校,我们努力创造一个环境,让所有的学生都得到重视,所有的学生都能相互学习,使多样性不是我们做的,而是我们是的。

撰写人 Justin I. (MPS的招聘官员)

撰写人

梅里克预科学校

Merrick Preparatory School

自2012年开学以来,来自超过26个国家的学生把梅里克预备学校当作自己的家。国际学生来这里是为了在加拿大最安全的社区之一获得集中的学术关注和小班教学。国内学生来这里是为了通过与来自全球各地的学生一起沉浸在真正的国际教育中,拓宽他们的国际理解和视野。 国内和国际学生都从MPS的教育中获得了回报,他们在全球范围内建立了终身的友谊,并获得了进入世界一流大学的机会。

News from Schools September 15, 2020

Diversity – the importance of learning in a multicultural school!

Diversity in schools, more specifically in high schools, is an increasingly important topic. As we can now easily connect with people and places from every square inch of the planet, our children have the luxury of being exposed to more cultures, more social differences, and more unity.

Diversity was once seldom discussed or present within our schools. Fortunately, now as a society we realise how diversity can play an important role in your child’s learning and future experiences.

Having a rich diversity within your school can help prepare students for their future educational paths, not to mention their future careers. Interacting, studying and befriending with students from around the world open their eyes, hearts and minds to new perspective and new ways of doing things.

This makes a transition into a very international workforce that much easier.

Merrick Preparatory School, for example, has such a diverse school body. This has allowed us to genuinely see and be a part of something truly remarkable. This past year our student population consisted of 17 nationalities from all corners of the globe. One of our classes (grade 9) had 7 students, and each student was from a different country! It was such an incredible experience for our young students.

We noticed that diversity encouraged education, both inside the classroom and outside. How does diversity encourage education you may ask? It’s simple; students began to ask more questions, as different cultures have their own beliefs. It also helps eliminate a lot of false judgements and encourages students to focus on educated opinions.

Merrick Preparatory School hosts International day every year. We invite our community to come into our school and learn about each country our students represent. Our students are able to make lavish displays depicting their countries and heritages. The best part is always when they share some of their traditional delicious foods!

At Merrick Preparatory School, we strive to create an environment where all of our students are valued and all students can learn from each other making diversity not something we do, but something that we are.

Written by Justin I. (Recruitment Officer at MPS)

Merrick Preparatory School

Distinctly Canadian – Uniquely Global! Since its opening in 2012, students from more than 26 countries have called Merrick Preparatory School home. International students come for the focused…

Read more