祝贺LCS的奥黛丽奖决赛选手们

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

ǞǞǞ 奥黛丽-韦恩语言奖 旨在鼓励加拿大青年参与创造性地解决问题,鼓励并加强加拿大人的多语言性。该倡议旨在鼓励青年 "解决他们社区中基于语言的挑战,设计一个可衡量、可转移和可扩展的解决方案"。(奥黛丽-韦恩语言奖,2021年).

得奖者将得到以下机构的咨询和支持 未来设计学校 团队将他们的建议推进到一个可行的和可实施的解决方案,这将有助于在当地社区建立一个重要的文化遗产。

三支来自 莱克菲尔德学院学校 我们的两名学生被选为决赛选手!他们发现了各自社区中基于语言的问题。

Rori Ash '22--奥黛丽奖的入围者

Rori对社会群体是如何通过语言形成的感兴趣。Rori认识到,ESL个人可能会遇到困难,难以跨越语言障碍,成为社交圈的一部分。

"在学校周围,我们经常看到不同的朋友群体[以文化和语言为中心]......当他们在一起时,他们经常说自己的语言,因为那是他们最舒服的语言。然而,在课堂上,某些讲ESL的人往往非常安静,因为他们难以用语言表达自己......我希望讲ESL的人能够更自如地讲语言......甚至鼓励讲英语的人学习新的语言,设身处地为他人着想。"- 罗丽'22

我很荣幸能够说我是决赛选手。我一直在为我的想法进行研究,无论我是否获胜,我都迫不及待地想知道我如何能解决这些问题。

Vincent Cloutier '22 - 奥黛丽奖的入围者

文森特在魁北克省的一家养老院做志愿者,那里的许多居民是来自克里第一民族保护区的老人。这些人在到达他们的新家时常常遇到语言障碍。文森特认识到在这种情况下需要清晰的沟通,特别是在涉及到用药的时候。他还认为,沟通在帮助居民在新环境中感到舒适方面起着很大作用。文森特计划创建一个应用程序,允许将土著语言翻译成法语,反之亦然,以确保退休设施中的居民享有高品质的生活。

我们问文森特,成为决赛选手对他意味着什么,他分享了这一点。

成为决赛选手意味着我得到了帮助我的社区所需的支持。

这两位年轻的游戏改变者被邀请参加将于5月举行的 "设计冲刺 "活动。在 "设计冲刺 "中,他们将探索潜在的解决方案,并争取赢得$10,000美元的奖金,用于实施其解决方案。

撰写人

莱克菲尔德学院学校

Lakefield College School

莱克菲尔德学院学校于1879年在安大略省东北部成立,为9至12年级的学生提供世界知名的男女同校和寄宿学校的经验。LCS的灵感来自于对每个人的基本价值的信念,关爱学生的教师、顾问和教练挑战并使学生能够发挥他们的个人潜力,为他们的领导生活做好准备,并为全球社会做出积极贡献。

Congratulations to the Audrey Prize Finalists at LCS

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The Audrey Wearn Language Prize seeks to encourage Canadian youth to engage in creative problem solving, encouraging, and strengthening multilingualism among Canadians. The initiative aims to encourage youth to “solve a language based challenge in their community, devising a solution that is measurable, transferable, and scalable.” (The Audrey Wearn Language Prize, 2021).

Prize recipient(s) will receive consultation and support from the Future Design School team to advance their proposal into a viable and implementable solution that will help build a vital cultural legacy in local communities.

Three teams from Lakefield College School identified language-based problems in their communities and two of our students were selected as finalists!

Rori Ash ’22 – Finalist for the Audrey Prize

Rori is interested in how social groups are formed by languages. Rori recognizes that ESL individuals may experience difficult bridging language barriers to become a part of a social circle.

“Around school, we often see different friend groups [centred around culture and language]… While they are together they often speak their own language because that is what they are most comfortable speaking. However, when in class, certain ESL speakers tend to be very quiet as they have trouble expressing themselves in the language…I want ESL speakers to be more comfortable speaking the language…and even encourage English speakers to learn new languages to put themselves in the shoes of others.” – Rori ’22

I’m honoured to be able to say that I am a finalist. I have been conducting research for my idea, and I cannot wait to see how I can fix these issues, whether I win or not.

Vincent Cloutier ’22 – Finalist for the Audrey Prize

Vincent volunteers in a retirement home in Quebec where many residents are elders from Cree First Nation reserves. These individuals often experience a language barrier upon arriving at their new home. Vincent recognizes the need for clear communication in this setting, particularly when the administration of medication is involved. He also believes that communication plays a large role in helping residents feel comfortable in their new setting. Vincent plans to create an app that will allow for translations from indigenous languages to French and vice versa in order to ensure a high quality of life for residents in retirement facilities.

We asked Vincent what being a finalist means to him and he shared that:

Being a finalist means I get the support needed to help my community.

These two young game-changers are invited to a ‘design sprint’ that will be held in May. In the ‘design sprint’, they will explore potential solutions and aim to win the prize of $10,000 to use toward implementing their solution.

Written by

Lakefield College School

Lakefield College School

Established in northeastern Ontario in 1879, Lakefield College School provides a world-renowned co-educational day and boarding school experience for Grades 9 through 12. LCS is inspired by a belief in the fundamental value of each person—caring teachers, advisors and coaches challenge and enable students to reach their individual potential, preparing them for a life of leadership and making positive contributions to the global community.