在全球大流行的情况下登机

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

安全和福祉仍然是皮克林学院的首要重点。

随着新学年的开始,皮克林学院的寄宿学生已经完成了隔离,搬进了校园,进入了日常工作。今年的寄宿计划看起来有些不同,因为每天在学生进入学校和与他人交流之前,都要对他们进行COVID-19检查。班级已经设置了物理距离,严格的安全协议已经实施,学生和工作人员必须戴口罩。

学生的安全始终是重中之重,特别是在当前全球大流行的情况下。

在2020年安全地建设社区

作为一所学校,皮克林学院以建立社区为荣。有了所有的协议来保证我们的安全和分离,我们作为一个社区所做的事情的想法也不得不发生变化。例如,晨会是皮克林经验的一个组成部分,学生和教职员工聚集在一起,谈论当天的新闻,分享信息,并思考学校的价值观及其意义。晨会没有像传统上那样亲自参加,而是改成了使用Zoom的在线形式,这一直是有影响力的。

重新思考寄宿经历

家庭为孩子选择寄宿学校的主要原因之一,除了优秀的学术经历外,就是为了获得全球性的体验,与来自加拿大各地和世界各地的寄宿生建立终身的友谊。皮克林学院的寄宿生项目非常努力地确保寄宿生的家庭式氛围一如既往,并努力让学生在闲暇时间尽可能地忙于校内和虚拟活动,包括。

  • 虚拟棋牌游戏俱乐部
  • 秋季自然散步
  • 户外投掷飞盘的乐趣和其他野外游戏
  • 户外电影之夜
  • 物理距离的户外比赛(秋季寄宿制比赛)。
  • 篝火
  • 折纸
学生们在保持安全的同时结成友谊

最后,由于寄宿计划的学生来自30个国家,由于边境限制和航班的可用性,还不是每个人都能来到加拿大。然而,这些在网上开始新学年的学生仍然是寄宿项目的一个重要组成部分。他们参加了与寄宿家庭和更广泛的寄宿项目组的放大会议--因此,当他们能够来到加拿大时,这些友谊就已经建立起来了。

撰写人

皮克林学院

Pickering College

皮克林学院成立于1842年,是一所独立的寄宿(7至12年级)和走读(幼儿园至12年级)的男女学校,位于加拿大安大略省纽马克市,距多伦多北部仅40分钟车程。我们的课程在学术、艺术、体育、全球领导力发展和社区服务方面提供独特的机会。

Boarding in the Midst of a Global Pandemic

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Safety and wellbeing remain primary focus at Pickering College.

With the school year now well underway, boarding students at Pickering College have completed their quarantine and moved onto campus, settling into the daily routine. The boarding program looks a little different this year as each day begins with a COVID-19 screening of students before they can enter the school and interact with others. Classes have been set up for physical distancing, rigorous safety protocols have been implemented, and students and staff are required to wear masks.

The safety of students is always a top priority—especially in light of the current global pandemic

Safely Building Community in 2020

As a school, Pickering College prides itself on building community. With all the protocols in place to keep us safe and apart, the very idea of what we do to come together as a community has had to evolve. For instance, Morning Meeting, an integral part of the Pickering experience, is where students and staff gather together to speak about the news of the day, share information, and reflect on the school’s values and what they mean. Rather than gathering in person as we would traditionally, Morning Meeting has moved to an online format using Zoom, which has continued to be impactful.

Rethinking the Boarding experience

One of the primary reasons families choose a boarding school for their child, besides an excellent academic experience, is for a global experience where they form lifelong friendships with boarders from across Canada and around the world. Pickering College’s boarding program has worked very hard to ensure the family-like atmosphere in boarding is the same as always and strives to keep students as busy as possible in their downtime with supervised on-campus and virtual activities, including:

  • Virtual Board Games Club
  • Fall nature walks
  • Outdoor Frisbee throwing fun and other field games
  • Outdoor movie nights
  • Physically distanced outdoor competitions (Fall Boarding Games)
  • Bonfires
  • Origami
Students form friendships while staying safe

Finally, with students in the boarding program hailing from 30 countries, not everyone has been able to make it to Canada yet due to border restrictions and flight availability. However, these students who are beginning their school year online are still an essential part of the boarding program. They participate in Zoom meetings with their boarding families and the wider boarding program group—so that when they are able to come to Canada, those friendships will already have been well established.

Written by

Pickering College

Pickering College

Founded in 1842, Pickering College is an independent boarding (Grades 7 to 12) and day (Kindergarten to Grade 12) school for boy and girls in Newmarket, Ontario, Canada, just 40 minutes north of Toronto. Our programs offer unique opportunities in academics, arts, athletics, global leadership development and community service.<