马来西亚普陀山金斯利国际学校的科学研究

作为STEAM ECA科学俱乐部的一部分,该校的中学生通过观察在硅酸钠水溶液中加入不同的固体过渡金属盐的原因和影响,探索了化学的世界。 这些内容会成长为迷人的化学 "植物"。这个实验是化学自组织的一个令人兴奋的例子。这些盐首先溶解在硅酸钠溶液中,形成金属离子,金属离子将与硅酸钠反应,形成不溶性金属硅酸盐的薄膜。 这些生物体的生长变成了美丽迷人的 "化学 "晶体,有各种形状、大小和颜色--看起来就像一个水晶化的花园!

ML KIS科学的学习从低年级的学生开始,到12年级(A级)。 所有班级都在课堂上学习科学知识,并开展活动和项目,为所有学生提供亲身体验的机会。

对于低年级学生来说,他们的科学活动看到他们走出舒适的教室,进入广阔的田野进行种植,观察环境和生态系统如何运作。 他们在观察图上绘制幼苗的生长情况,以及植物如何需要自然元素来健康成长。 因此,所有孩子都在他们的教室里养了一棵绿色植物。

高年级学生每学期都会利用水培系统进行有机种植。 种植的草本植物有迷迭香、罗勒、薄荷叶和莳萝。 这些使用水培系统的植物都经过仔细检查,以确保水的清洁和足够的养分,以确保它们生长得漂亮。 这些体验式的学习让学生们了解到如何在植被的世界里拥有一个更可持续的未来,而不需要使用土壤和加工过的肥料来种植。

The study of Sciences in Kingsley International School, Putra Heights, Malaysia

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

As part of the STEAM ECA Science Club, secondary students from the school explored the world of Chemistry by observing causes and effects of adding different solid transition metal salts in an aqueous solution of sodium silicate.  These contents will grow into fascinating chemical “plants”. The experiment is an exciting example of chemical self-organisation. The salts are first dissolved in sodium silicate solution to form metal ions which will react with the sodium silicate to form thin membranes of insoluble metal silicates.  These living organisms’ growth turns into beautiful enchanting “chemical” crystals of all shapes, size and colours – looking like a crystalized garden!

In ML KIS, the study of Sciences starts from the students in Early Years to Year 12 (A Level).  All classes ranged from studying of science in class lessons to activities and projects which offers all students the opportunities to have hands-on experiences.

For the early years, their science activities see them trooping out of the comfort of classrooms into the wide open fields for planting, observing of the environment and how the eco-system works.  They work on their observation charts to map the growth of their seedlings and how plants need the natural elements to grow healthily.  All children thus keep a green plant in their classroom.

The senior students have termly organic planting using the hydroponic system.  Herbs planted are rosemary, basil, mint leaves and dill.  These plants using the water system are carefully checked for clean water and sufficient nutrient to ensure they grow beautifully.  These experiential learnings gave insights to the students on how to have a more sustainable future in the world of vegetation without having to plant using soil and processed fertilizing.

Written by

Maple Leaf Kingsley International School

Maple Leaf Kingsley International School

Kingsley International School ethos echoes the wish of every parent: for his or her child to be happy, productive and fulfilled in life. Which is why we aim to inspire curiosity and bring enriching, real-world experiences into the lives of our students. We believe resilience, self-discipline and the ability to relate to others are more vital to achievement than IQ.