没有心理健康就没有健康

Students mental health is important, especially during these difficult times.
在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

在远程学习的几个星期里,由以下因素带来的挑战 Covid 19 对许多人来说,这已经是压倒性的,并且可能对你的心理健康产生了影响。这种不确定性使我们感到一系列的情绪,如恐惧、悲伤和沮丧。有些日子比其他日子好,有时这些感觉来了又走。然而,有时我们的忧虑和感觉越来越大,对我们来说,靠自己的力量应对这些问题变得非常困难。

大多数时候,成年人更善于表达和处理任何酝酿中的想法和情绪,但并不是所有的孩子都能用语言或通过爆发和发脾气来外化他们的情绪。你的孩子没有谈论这段不确定的时间,并不意味着他们没有想到这一切会持续多久,或者他们什么时候能再次见到他们的朋友和家人!你如何判断你的孩子是否有情绪?那么,如果你的孩子不再公开表达自己,你如何判断他们是否焦虑或担心?

作为父母,你是孩子的专家,所以当你看到孩子行为的细微迹象或变化时,请听从你的直觉。例如,你的孩子可能开始避免他们通常喜欢的活动,或者他们可能有注意力不集中和睡眠问题。您的孩子也可能抱怨身体症状,如头痛、肚子疼,并可能表现为一直很累(类似于大人在这个时候感到的莫名其妙的疲惫)。如果你的孩子是青少年,他们可能开始变得更加挑衅,显得不那么积极,表现出攻击性行为,或者在房间里呆的时间更长(甚至比平时更久)。

帮助您孩子的心理健康的策略

这里有一些实用的策略,你可能希望用来帮助你在这段时间内照顾你孩子的心理健康和幸福。重要的是,在使用这些策略时要保持一致,以减少在这段时间甚至在学校重新开学后出现心理疾病的风险。

管理你自己的焦虑

作为父母,在可能的情况下,通过寻找时间来放松和充电来管理自己的焦虑。你只需要15分钟专注于深呼吸或拉伸,如果你有更多的时间,做一个在线瑜伽课程或腾出时间来祈祷。

谈一谈他们的感受

让你的孩子谈论他们在这个时候的感受。你可以通过分享你作为父母可能担心的事情来引导谈话(不要太极端,因为你不希望你的孩子更加担心)。你可以解释说,担心、焦虑和疲惫是正常的,但是可以通过做一些他们喜欢的事情,或者通过一起看电影、一起玩棋盘游戏,或者谈论这一切结束后你们最期待的事情,来尽量减少这种情况。 https://www.childhood.org.au/app/uploads/2020/04/Things-to-Look-Forward-to-Resource.pdf.

准备好回答 "如果"。

如果你听到你的孩子有很多 "如果 "的想法。例如,"如果我们中的一个人生病了怎么办?不要说 "别担心 "或 "会好的",而是要关注事实,提醒他们社交距离的规则、戴口罩和经常洗手将防止他们生病。如果他们继续说 "万一",就和他们一起讨论 "万一 "计划,让他们放心。如果你已经尝试了所有的方法,你的孩子仍然担心,花一些时间一起做一些积极的和平静的活动。

与家人和朋友联系

为自己和孩子安排时间,通过视频通话与朋友和家人见面。这将为你和你的家人提供一个机会,一起谈论你的经历和情绪。

限制屏幕时间

即使现在很困难,也要尝试限制屏幕时间,观看当地或国际新闻,并鼓励通过有信誉的资源阅读最新信息。

作者:英国国际学校阿布扎比分校辅导团队

实用链接
如何在COVID-19期间及以后支持你孩子的心理健康
受COVID影响的儿童和家庭的心理健康和福祉 19
冠状病毒。如何在远程教育中注意孩子的心理健康
这场大流行将如何影响儿童的心理健康?

撰写人

阿布扎比英国国际学校

The British International School Abu Dhabi

阿布扎比英国国际学校作为我们全球校区的一部分,提供了一个温馨的家庭社区和最高质量的学习机会。在阿布扎比英国国际学校,您的孩子将成长为一个自信、有爱心的人,同时培养在不断发展的国际社会中取得成功所需的技能和态度。

No health without mental health

The British International School Abu Dhabi
May 19, 2020

Several weeks into remote learning, the challenges brought about by Covid 19 have been overwhelming for many, and may have had an impact on your mental health. The uncertainty has caused us to feel a range of emotions such as fear, sadness and frustration. Some days are better than others and sometimes these feelings come and go. However, sometimes our worries and feelings get bigger and bigger and it becomes very difficult for us to cope with them on our own.

Most of the time, adults are better at expressing and processing any brewing thoughts and emotions, but not all children are able to externalise their emotions verbally or through outbursts and tantrums. Just because your child isn’t talking about this uncertain time, doesn’t mean they aren’t thinking about how long this is all going to last for or when they can see their friends and family again! So, how can you tell if your child is anxious or worried if they aren’t overtly expressing themselves anymore?

As parents, you are the experts when it comes to your child, so listen to your instincts when you see subtle signs or changes in your child’s behaviour. For example, your child might start to avoid activities that they usually enjoy or they might have trouble concentrating and sleeping. Your child may also complain about physical symptoms such as, headaches, tummy aches and may present as being tired all the time (similar to the unexplained exhaustion the grown-ups are feeling at this time). If your child is a teen, they might start becoming more defiant, appear less motivated, exhibit aggressive behaviors or stay in their room for longer periods (even more than usual).

Here are some practical strategies you may wish to use to help you look after your child’s mental health and wellbeing during this time. It’s important to be consistent when using these strategies in order to reduce the risk of mental ill health during this time and even once schools reopen.

• As parents, manage your own anxieties by finding time to relax and recharge when possible. You only need 15 minutes to focus on deep breathing or stretching, and if you have more time do an online yoga class or make time for prayer.

• Get your children talking about what they are feeling at this time. You can lead the conversation by sharing what you might be worried about as a parent (nothing too extreme as you don’t want your child to worry even more). You can explain that it’s okay to be worried, feel anxious and tired, but there are ways to minimise this by doing something they enjoy or by spending quality time together by watching a movie, playing a board game together or talking about what you’re most looking forward to once this is all over. https://www.childhood.org.au/app/uploads/2020/04/Things-to-Look-Forward-to-Resource.pdf.

• If you are hearing a lot of “what if” thoughts from your child. For instance, “what if one of us get sick? Instead of saying “don’t worry” or “it will be fine”, focus on the facts and remind them that the social distancing rules, wearing masks and frequent hand washing will prevent them from getting sick. If they continue to say “what if”, talk through a ‘what if’ plan with them to reassure them. If you have tried everything and your child is still worried spend some time doing a positive and calming activity together.

• Organise times for yourself and your child to see friends and family via video calls. It will provide you and your family an opportunity to talk about your experiences and emotions together.

• Even though its difficult right now, do try and set limits on screen time, watching local or international news and encourage reading about updates through reputable resources.

Written by The British International school Abu Dhabi Counselling Team

Useful Links
How to support your child’s mental health during COVID-19 and beyond
Mental health and wellbeing of children and families impacted by COVID 19
Coronavirus: How to mind your child’s mental health during distance learning
How will the pandemic affect children’s mental health

The British International School Abu Dhabi

The British International School Abu Dhabi offers a welcoming family community with the highest quality learning opportunities as part of our Global Campus. At The British International School…

Read more