Бизнес-исследования: Где студенты переносят теорию в реальный мир

"Создавайте реалистичный контент... придумывайте реальные задачи... и показывайте учащимся последствия".

Джеки Ван Найс

Давайте будем честными, во всех наших школах ученики изучают теории, модели и философии. Мы все знаем, что эти концепции, конечно, чрезвычайно важны для развития учащихся. Однако иногда ученикам нужно немного больше, чем просто теории. Им нужно увидеть, как эти концепции и идеи работают на практике в реальном мире.

Представьте, что вы пытаетесь научиться ездить на велосипеде, просто читая книги и посещая теоретические занятия. Все звучит как чистая логика, вам нужно регулировать равновесие, чтобы не упасть, регулировать скорость, чтобы не ехать слишком быстро, и поворачивать, чтобы объехать объект на пути. Так почему же мы разбиваемся, когда впервые садимся на велосипед по-настоящему? Мы прочитали книгу, посетили занятия и даже сдали экзамен. Просто у нас не было реального опыта.

Именно поэтому важно знакомить учащихся со многими реальными или максимально приближенными к реальным сценариями. Бизнес-исследования, возможно, являются одним из лучших предметов для создания такой возможности для учащихся. Я преподаю бизнес-исследования в Международной школе Maple Leaf Kingsley, и мне посчастливилось проработать в корпоративном мире около 30 лет, прежде чем я стала преподавателем. Поэтому мне довелось познакомиться с высокими и низкими достижениями и проблемами, которые происходят в мире бизнеса - реальном мире бизнеса.

На занятиях по изучению бизнеса, наряду с теорией, учащиеся создают свой собственный бизнес. Они проходят через процесс создания организационной структуры, принятия решения о методах производства, найма сотрудников, разработки маркетинговой стратегии и, конечно, борьбы с конкурентами. Таким образом, анализируются наиболее эффективные способы общения друг с другом в бизнесе, принятия совместных решений по различным маркетинговым сегментам, контроля финансов бизнеса и создания стратегических конкурентных преимуществ, чтобы их бизнес развивался. Виды бизнеса, которые они создают, варьируются от крупных транснациональных компаний, средних предприятий и индивидуальных предпринимателей. Здесь были супермаркет, гигантские нефтеперерабатывающие заводы, кондитерские, биохимические корпорации и маленькие кондитерские. Некоторые конкурируют друг с другом, некоторые устанавливают торговые отношения и сливаются друг с другом.

Почему мы это делаем......Потому что вы не можете избежать участия в мире бизнеса. Если вы планируете заниматься спортом после окончания университета, вам необходимо знать о финансовых решениях, спонсорстве и управлении командой спортсменов. Если студент очень артистичен, у него есть возможность создавать новые продукты, выставочные экспозиции и другие маркетинговые материалы. Если вы умеете работать с людьми, то вы научитесь подбирать нужного человека для нужной работы в нужное время.

Один из видов деятельности, который очень нравится учащимся, - это когда вы ставите перед ними реальную дилемму. В качестве примера можно привести такие вопросы, как: должны ли они рекламировать свои товары и услуги в газете, на рекламном щите или в Интернете? Предоставив студентам бюджет, они должны решить, какая рекламная платформа будет наиболее эффективной. В ситуации, в которой мы сейчас находимся, они учатся принимать деловые решения во время кризиса. Например, приходят ли их сотрудники на работу или работают дома в режиме онлайн? Пересмотреть ли им дизайн своей продукции и начать производство масок для лица? Как наладить контакт и общение с клиентами? Иногда они принимают правильные решения и остаются конкурентоспособными, иногда они принимают неправильное решение, и их конкурент получает стратегическое преимущество. Очень интересно наблюдать за тем, как у них наступает момент "эврики", когда они вдруг понимают, что то, чему они научились на занятиях, действительно работает. Из этого опыта они узнают, как сбалансировать финансы, регулировать свой рост и вести свой бизнес к успеху. Прямо как езда на велосипеде!

В поддержку всего этого раз в год факультет бизнес-исследований проводит неделю бизнеса. Неделя бизнеса - это возможность для студентов применить эти навыки на практике. В 2021 учебном году факультет бизнес-исследований Maple Leaf планирует пригласить ведущих предпринимателей, экспертов по стратегии и лидеров бизнеса выступить в школе. Идея заключается в том, чтобы донести до учеников информацию о том, сколько существует различных возможностей и путей к успеху. Встречи и общение с настоящими успешными людьми помогут ученикам понять, какие карьерные пути их интересуют!

Помните, бизнес есть во всем!


Статья написана преподавателем бизнес-исследований Кингсли Mr. Марк Смит.


Работа, выполненная студентами факультета бизнес-исследований Кингсли

Business Studies: Where Students Take Theory to the Real World

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

“Create realistic content…come up with real-world challenges… and show learners the consequences”.

Jackie Van Nice

Let’s be honest, in all our schools the students learn about theories, models, and philosophies. We all know that these concepts are of course extremely important in the development of students. However, sometimes students need a little more than just theories. They need to experience how these concepts and ideas work in practice in the real world.

Imagine you are trying to learn how to ride a bicycle from just reading a book and attending theory classes. Everything sounds like pure logic, you need to adjust your balance so you don’t fall off, regulate your speed so you don’t go too fast, and steer to go around an object in the way. So why do we crash the first time we ride a bicycle for real? We read the book, attended the classes, and even took an exam. Simply, we didn’t have any real experience.

That is why it is important to expose students to many real-world—or as close as possible to real-world—scenarios. Business Studies is possibly one of the best subjects to create such exposure for students. I am a Business Studies teacher at Maple Leaf Kingsley International School and lucky enough to have worked in the corporate world for around 30 years before moving to be a teacher. Therefore, I had plenty of exposure to the highs, lows, and issues that happen in the business world—the real business world.

In our Business Studies class, alongside the theory, students create their own business. They go through the process of creating an organisation chart, deciding on production methods, recruiting employees, developing a marketing strategy, and of course competing against their competitors. This makes the analysis the most effective ways of communicating with each other in a business, making joint decisions on different marketing segments, controlling the business finance, and creating strategic competitive advantages so that their businesses grow. The type of businesses that they create range from large multinational companies, medium-sized businesses, and sole traders. There has been a supermarket, giant oil refineries, cake shops, biochemical corporations, and small cake shops. Some competing against each other, some building trade relationships and merging with each other.

Why do we do this……Because you can’t avoid being involved in the business world. If you are planning on being involved in sports after you graduate university, you need to be aware of the financial decisions, sponsorship, and managing a squad of athletes. If the student is very artistic, they have the opportunity to create new products, trade show displays, and other marketing materials. If you are a people person, then you learn how to select the right person for the right job at the right time.

One of the activities students really enjoy is when you present them with a real-world dilemma. Examples to include is questions like should they advertise their products and services in a newspaper, on a billboard, or on-line? By providing the students with a budget, they have to decide which advertising platform would be the most effective. Inthereallifesituationthatweallfacenow, they learn how to make business decisions during a crisis. Examples include, do their employees come to work or work on-line from home? Do they redesign their products and start making face masks? How to reach out and communicate with their customers? Sometimes they make the right decisions and remain competitive – sometimes they make the wrong decision and their competitor gets the strategic advantage. It is fascinating to see them have that “Eureka” moment when they suddenly realise what they learnt in class actually works. They learn from these experiences how to balance the finances, regulate their growth, and steer their businesses to success. Just like riding a bicycle!

Supporting all this, once a year, the business studies department holds a business week. The business week is an opportunity for students to put these skills to use. For the 2021 academic year, Maple Leaf Business Studies department is planning on inviting leading entrepreneurs, strategy experts, and business leaders to speak at the school. The idea is to make the students aware of how many different possibilities and pathways there are to being successful. Meeting and interacting with real successful people helps the students figure out what career paths interest them!

Remember, business is in everything!


Article written by Kingsley’s Business Studies teacher Mr. Mark Smith.


Work done by Kingsley’s Business Studies Students

Written by

Maple Leaf Kingsley International School

Maple Leaf Kingsley International School

Kingsley International School ethos echoes the wish of every parent: for his or her child to be happy, productive and fulfilled in life. Which is why we aim to inspire curiosity and bring enriching, real-world experiences into the lives of our students. We believe resilience, self-discipline and the ability to relate to others are more vital to achievement than IQ.