商业研究。学生将理论带入现实世界的地方

"创造现实的内容......提出现实世界的挑战......并向学习者展示后果"。

杰基-范尼斯

说实话,在我们所有的学校里,学生们都在学习理论、模式和哲学。我们都知道,这些概念对学生的发展当然是极其重要的。然而,有时学生需要的不仅仅是理论。他们需要体验这些概念和想法是如何在现实世界中实际运作的。

想象一下,你正试图通过阅读书籍和参加理论课程来学习如何骑自行车。一切听起来都是纯粹的逻辑,你需要调整你的平衡,这样你就不会掉下来,调节你的速度,这样你就不会走得太快,并且转向以绕过挡路的物体。那么,为什么我们第一次真正骑自行车的时候会撞车呢?我们读过书,上过课,甚至还参加过考试。很简单,我们没有任何真实的经验。

这就是为什么让学生接触许多真实世界或尽可能接近真实世界的场景是很重要的。商业研究可能是为学生创造这种机会的最佳科目之一。我是枫叶金斯利国际学校的一名商业研究教师,在成为教师之前,我有幸在企业界工作了约30年。因此,我有很多机会接触到商业世界--真正的商业世界--中发生的高低起伏和问题。

在我们的商业研究课上,除了理论之外,学生还创建了自己的企业。他们经历了创建组织结构图、决定生产方式、招聘员工、制定营销战略,当然还有与竞争对手竞争的过程。这使得分析在企业中相互沟通的最有效方式,对不同的营销环节做出共同决定,控制企业财务,并创造战略竞争优势,从而使他们的企业成长。他们所创建的企业类型包括大型跨国公司、中型企业和个体户。曾有超市、巨型炼油厂、蛋糕店、生化公司和小蛋糕店。有的相互竞争,有的建立贸易关系,相互合并。

我们为什么要这样做......因为你无法避免参与到商业世界中。如果你打算在大学毕业后参与体育活动,你需要了解财务决策、赞助和管理运动员队伍的问题。如果学生很有艺术细胞,他们就有机会创造新产品、贸易展览展示和其他营销材料。如果你是一个人,那么你要学习如何在合适的时间为合适的工作选择合适的人。

学生真正喜欢的活动之一是当你向他们提出一个现实世界的难题。例如,他们应该在报纸上、在广告牌上还是在网上宣传他们的产品和服务?通过向学生提供预算,他们必须决定哪个广告平台最有效。在我们现在面临的所有情况下,他们学习如何在危机中做出商业决策。例如,他们的员工是来上班还是在家上网工作?他们是否重新设计他们的产品并开始生产面膜?如何与他们的客户联系和沟通?有时他们做出了正确的决定并保持竞争力--有时他们做出了错误的决定,他们的竞争对手获得了战略优势。当他们突然意识到他们在课堂上所学到的东西确实有效时,看到他们有了 "尤里卡 "的时刻是非常迷人的。他们从这些经验中学习如何平衡财务,调节增长,并引导他们的企业走向成功。就像骑自行车一样!

为支持这一切,商业研究系每年都会举办一次商业周。商业周为学生提供了一个将这些技能投入使用的机会。2021学年,枫叶商业研究系正计划邀请知名企业家、战略专家和商业领袖到学校演讲。这个想法是为了让学生意识到有多少不同的可能性和途径可以获得成功。与真正的成功人士会面和交流,有助于学生弄清他们对什么职业道路感兴趣!"。

请记住,生意就在一切之中!


文章作者是Kingsley的商业研究老师Mr. 马克-史密斯.


金斯利的商业研究学生所做的工作

Business Studies: Where Students Take Theory to the Real World

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

“Create realistic content…come up with real-world challenges… and show learners the consequences”.

Jackie Van Nice

Let’s be honest, in all our schools the students learn about theories, models, and philosophies. We all know that these concepts are of course extremely important in the development of students. However, sometimes students need a little more than just theories. They need to experience how these concepts and ideas work in practice in the real world.

Imagine you are trying to learn how to ride a bicycle from just reading a book and attending theory classes. Everything sounds like pure logic, you need to adjust your balance so you don’t fall off, regulate your speed so you don’t go too fast, and steer to go around an object in the way. So why do we crash the first time we ride a bicycle for real? We read the book, attended the classes, and even took an exam. Simply, we didn’t have any real experience.

That is why it is important to expose students to many real-world—or as close as possible to real-world—scenarios. Business Studies is possibly one of the best subjects to create such exposure for students. I am a Business Studies teacher at Maple Leaf Kingsley International School and lucky enough to have worked in the corporate world for around 30 years before moving to be a teacher. Therefore, I had plenty of exposure to the highs, lows, and issues that happen in the business world—the real business world.

In our Business Studies class, alongside the theory, students create their own business. They go through the process of creating an organisation chart, deciding on production methods, recruiting employees, developing a marketing strategy, and of course competing against their competitors. This makes the analysis the most effective ways of communicating with each other in a business, making joint decisions on different marketing segments, controlling the business finance, and creating strategic competitive advantages so that their businesses grow. The type of businesses that they create range from large multinational companies, medium-sized businesses, and sole traders. There has been a supermarket, giant oil refineries, cake shops, biochemical corporations, and small cake shops. Some competing against each other, some building trade relationships and merging with each other.

Why do we do this……Because you can’t avoid being involved in the business world. If you are planning on being involved in sports after you graduate university, you need to be aware of the financial decisions, sponsorship, and managing a squad of athletes. If the student is very artistic, they have the opportunity to create new products, trade show displays, and other marketing materials. If you are a people person, then you learn how to select the right person for the right job at the right time.

One of the activities students really enjoy is when you present them with a real-world dilemma. Examples to include is questions like should they advertise their products and services in a newspaper, on a billboard, or on-line? By providing the students with a budget, they have to decide which advertising platform would be the most effective. Inthereallifesituationthatweallfacenow, they learn how to make business decisions during a crisis. Examples include, do their employees come to work or work on-line from home? Do they redesign their products and start making face masks? How to reach out and communicate with their customers? Sometimes they make the right decisions and remain competitive – sometimes they make the wrong decision and their competitor gets the strategic advantage. It is fascinating to see them have that “Eureka” moment when they suddenly realise what they learnt in class actually works. They learn from these experiences how to balance the finances, regulate their growth, and steer their businesses to success. Just like riding a bicycle!

Supporting all this, once a year, the business studies department holds a business week. The business week is an opportunity for students to put these skills to use. For the 2021 academic year, Maple Leaf Business Studies department is planning on inviting leading entrepreneurs, strategy experts, and business leaders to speak at the school. The idea is to make the students aware of how many different possibilities and pathways there are to being successful. Meeting and interacting with real successful people helps the students figure out what career paths interest them!

Remember, business is in everything!


Article written by Kingsley’s Business Studies teacher Mr. Mark Smith.


Work done by Kingsley’s Business Studies Students

Written by

Maple Leaf Kingsley International School

Maple Leaf Kingsley International School

Kingsley International School ethos echoes the wish of every parent: for his or her child to be happy, productive and fulfilled in life. Which is why we aim to inspire curiosity and bring enriching, real-world experiences into the lives of our students. We believe resilience, self-discipline and the ability to relate to others are more vital to achievement than IQ.