在西班牙阿科鲁尼亚的文化交流

A-世界-学院-标志当我们在我们的第一个欧洲大陆港口周围散步时,所看到的景象就像人们所期望的那样令人愉快--狭窄的街道、令人惊叹的小吃餐馆和咖啡馆,以及具有大量特色的古老建筑从我们停泊的地方,我们还可以走到沿水的美丽绿地,那里有花田、海滩、雕塑和世界上最古老的灯塔。在上岸休假期间,不乏可以探索的地方。

在我们逗留期间,我们也有很多机会与当地人交流,这不仅使学生们接触到不同的文化,而且使他们能够实践他们全年在课堂上学习的西班牙语。我们被盛情邀请到国际学校Colegio Obradoiro,在那里,我们的一些学生和教员在小组讨论中回答了关于他们在索兰特学习/教学和生活的经验问题。之后,我们在他们的游泳池里游泳,打篮球,并与他们的学生进行了一场足球比赛。这是一场势均力敌的比赛,比分为1比1,直到点球大战,奥布拉多罗学校赢得了胜利。虽然最后的比分对我们不利,但在船上呆了这么长时间后,学生们能在他们喜欢的运动中跑来跑去,这让我们感到很新鲜!"。

参观结束后,我们和一些当地学生一起回到索兰特号,让他们参观这艘船,并向他们展示我们的生活,完成这次文化交流。
我们还接待了来自切斯特学院国际学校的几批学生,他们慷慨地让我们的学生在他们的学校参加高级课程(AP)考试。这些考试当然很有挑战性,但我们的学生很高兴他们做了这些考试,而且做完后更松了一口气。

在实地学习方面,我们去了圣地亚哥-德孔波斯特拉,在那里我们走访了重要的地标,同时了解了这个城市的历史和卡米诺-德圣地亚哥,即著名的圣雅各布朝圣之旅。这是中世纪基督徒最重要的朝圣之旅之一,现在每年有数十万徒步旅行者或骑自行车者出于精神上的原因、旅行和/或运动而进行朝圣。我们这一天是在狭窄的石头街道上漫步,到市场和广场,最后到美丽的大教堂,据说圣雅各布的遗体就存放在那里。

5月17日,学生们在船上策划了一些活动来庆祝挪威的国庆节。当天,认识挪威国旗的人在船尾甲板上唱起了国歌,从而拉开了这一天的序幕。随后,米凯尔和在这个港口签过字的哈尔盖尔船长与大家分享了这一天在挪威的意义,然后大家一起在船上游行,接着是烘焙俱乐部准备的蛋糕和点心。参与对我们许多学生、船员和索兰特号有重要意义的文化活动是一个很好的经历。

Culture Exchange in A Coruna, Spain

A-World-Academy-LogoThe sites as we walked around our first mainland European port were pleasantly just as one would expect- narrow streets, amazing tapas restaurants and cafes, and old buildings with loads of character! From where we were moored, we could also walk out to a beautiful green space along the water where there are fields of flowers, beaches, sculptures and the oldest operating lighthouse in the world. There was no shortage of areas to explore while on shore leave!


During our stay we also got lots of opportunities to interact with locals which not only exposed the students to a different culture but allowed them to put to practice the Spanish they’ve been learning in class throughout the year. We were graciously invited to the international school Colegio Obradoiro where a few of our students and faculty answered questions about their experience studying/teaching and living on the Sorlandet during a panel discussion. After we got to swim in their pool, play basketball and compete in a football (soccer) match against their students! It was a close game with the score tied at 1-1 until the penalty shootout during which Colegio Obradoiro took home the win! Although the final score was not in our favor, after spending so much time on a ship, it was refreshing for the students to get to run around playing a sport that they love!

After our visit, we made our way back to the Sorlandet with some of the local students to give them a tour of the ship and show them what our life is like to complete this culture exchange.
We also got a visit from groups of students from Chester College International School, who generously let our students write their Advanced Placement (AP) exams at their school. These exams were certainly challenging but our students were glad they did them and even more relieved to have them done!

For field studies, we went to Santiago de Compostela where we walked around to the significant landmarks while learning about the history of the city and the Camino de Santiago, the famous pilgrimage of Saint James. This was one of the most important pilgrimages for Christians during the Middle Ages, and is now done by hundreds of thousands of hikers or cyclists every year for spiritual reasons, travel and/or sport. Our day was spent strolling through the narrow stone streets to markets and plazas and finally to the beautiful Cathedral where it is said the remains of Saint James are kept.

On May 17th, the students planned some activities on the ship to celebrate Norway’s National Day. The day started off with raising the Norwegian flag as those who knew it sang the national anthem on the aft deck. Later on, Mikael and Captain Halgeir, who signed back on this port, shared with the group the significance of this day in Norway before we all joined in for a parade around the ship followed by cake and snacks prepared by the baking club! It was a great experience to be involved in a cultural event significant to many of our students, crew and the Sorlandet!

by Kelsey Hamel


A-World-Academy-Logo

A+ World Academy

Bern
A+ World Academy is a boarding school on a Tall Ship – “high school on a boat”. Up to 60 students in grades 11 and 12 live and work the ...
Read More

Leave a comment