知道如何。促进儿童的仁爱之心

没有什么比成为一个社区的一部分更美好的了,在这个社区里,每个人都在为对方着想,关注他人的需求,并在必要时伸出援手,给予善意和同情。这就是GESS所致力于成为的社区。在这里,仁慈指导我们的思想和行动。

感谢我们的辅导员、教师、学生领袖和外部合作伙伴,我们已经能够在我们的学校建立并继续努力创造一种仁慈的文化。

了解如何向幼童解释仁慈。

"仁慈通过仁慈的经验改变大脑。儿童和青少年不能只通过思考和谈论来学习善意。仁慈最好是通过感受它来学习,这样他们就能重现它。"

Patty O'Gray博士,神经科学、情绪学习和积极心理学方面的专家

展示一个好榜样

儿童,无论年龄大小,都会从父母的非语言和言语行为以及环境的输入中学习如何做人。树立你希望在他们身上看到的行为模式。这可以帮助他们建立良好的性格,培养积极的自我价值感。父母可以通过他们每天表现出来的简单行动来培养孩子的善良,比如说请和谢谢,为别人开门,捡起人行道上的垃圾,甚至在你走过别人身边时分享一个微笑。孩子们会接受这些暗示,并将学会自己实践这些暗示。

浅谈基n亮度

与你的孩子谈论我们如何与他人分享善意也很重要。向他们解释,善良意味着我们如何对他人表示关心。帮助他们表达这意味着什么,并允许他们提供例子,说明可以做什么来表达善意。家长也可以利用日常情况来强调善良的实例。与你的孩子谈论他或她的一天,并帮助指出仁慈可以帮助情况或使那一刻变得更好的时刻。你越是强调善良的时刻,你的孩子就越容易知道善良就在他们身边。

利用书籍和电影来讨论善良的问题

在你们一起看电影或看书的时候,也可以和孩子一起花时间讨论你们看到的内容。

如果你看了一部电影,主角表现得很善良,请向你的孩子了解这个角色,看看他是否能确定 "善良 "的含义。 常识媒体 有一个伟大的电影清单可以考虑。

坐在一起,读一本谈及仁慈的书。这里有几本可以考虑。

  • 你装过水桶吗?
  • 善待自己
  • 为水獭着想
  • 善良从你开始
  • 善良使我们坚强
  • 善良是什么意思?
  • 善良的小书
  • 我是善良的
  • 善良的ABC

了解学校如何在这个方向上采取积极措施。

T.O.P.S @ GESS

还有什么方法比通过学生自己的领导来促进学生群体的善良呢!这就是T O P S的主要情感。这就是T.O.P.S背后的主要情感。 (在2019/20学年,GESS推出了 "值得信赖、思想开放、同行支持"(Trustworthy, Open-Minded, Peer Support)计划。

参加该计划的学生被称为 "同伴领袖",他们被选中在课堂上提供有关复原力的课程,并在每周的午休时间向他们的同伴提供支持。

同伴领袖完成培训课程,使他们具备成为有效领袖所需的实际技能和策略。他们学习如何促进与他人的关系,组织小组活动,很好地领导小组,开发有意义和有吸引力的活动,并提供基于力量的策略,以协助他们的同伴应对挑战。

到目前为止,我们的第一批同伴领袖已经成功完成了他们的培训。我们的小学同龄人领袖积极参加小组活动,培养沟通技巧。我们的初中同侪领袖努力让他们的同伴参与到实践活动中来,以加强关于仁慈和复原力的课程。我们的中学同龄人领袖将在第二季度开始每周的午餐时间提供支持。

该计划是根据澳大利亚同伴支持模式设计的,该模式强调促进学生的领导力,并提供社会情感学习课程,增强学生的责任感和与学校的联系,从而限制欺凌行为的发生!

感谢我们的合作伙伴Gehrman Solutions对我们的支持,使这一计划成为可能!

粉红色衬衫日

多年来,我们GESS的辅导员已经组织了这个令人难以置信的活动,鼓励整个学校社区采取积极的立场来反对欺凌。粉红衫日实际上始于加拿大,当时一群高中生穿着粉红衫去学校,声援一个因穿粉红衫而被欺负的男孩。

11月18日,GESS将变成一片粉红色的海洋;我们穿上粉红色的衬衫,去了解欺凌和如何最好地打击欺凌,保护我们的同龄人,并确保我们每个人在社区中的安全。虽然这不是强制性的,但我们鼓励学生穿上粉红色的衣服,那些选择穿校服的学生将收到一个GESS粉红色衬衫日的贴纸,以代表他们反对欺凌的立场。

今年,由于Covid-19的情况,粉红衫日不得不成为一个虚拟活动,但这一点也没有阻止我们。辅导员们已经创建了一个虚拟教室--一个用于小学,一个用于中学。教室里会有一些资源,让学生更好地了解什么是欺凌,以及如何管理欺凌。

虚拟教室已经被许多活动填满了。

  • 我校校长马丁先生的致辞
  • 来自新加坡仁爱运动、触摸网络健康和Oogachaga等组织的活动和视频
  • GESS图书馆员提供的关于欺凌和尊重的书目清单
  • GESS学生会的互动活动
  • 来自不同年级和班级的书面内容
  • 辅导员的活动

而这个名单还在继续!

我们希望通过提高对什么是欺凌以及我们如何反对欺凌的认识,向我们的社区表明,善意是一个尺寸,适合所有人!"。

新加坡仁爱运动SINGA奖

新加坡仁爱运动将GESS命名为SINGA之友,并为我们颁奖,以表彰我们在校园内建立包容性文化的所有工作,以及我们在更广泛的当地社区所做的外展工作。

新加坡仁爱运动(SKM)是一个非营利组织,执行公共教育计划,旨在培养新加坡社会的仁爱和亲切感。

知道SKM看到我们的倡议和仁慈驱动的方案的价值,这是令人难以置信的重申,它激励我们继续沿着这条道路走下去。


这篇文章是在我们的辅导员的支持下撰写的 Hana Adams博士珍妮弗-麦尔兹


撰写人 Devi Malarvanan冯晓峰,对外宣传经理和创意策略师 GESS.

Know How: Promoting Kindness in Children

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Nothing is more beautiful than being part of a community where individuals think about each other, pay attention to others’ needs and reach out with kindness and compassion where necessary. That is the kind of community GESS is committed to being! A place where kindness guides our thoughts and actions.

Thanks to our counsellors, teachers, student leaders and external partners, we have been able to build, and continue working on creating a culture of kindness in our school.

Find out how you can explain kindness to young children:

“Kindness changes the brain by the experience of kindness. Children and adolescents do not learn kindness by only thinking about it and talking about it. Kindness is best learned by feeling it so that they can reproduce it.”

Dr. Patty O’Gray, expert in neuroscience, emotional learning, and positive psychology

Show A Good Example

Children, no matter the age, learn how to behave from the nonverbal and verbal actions of their parents and the inputs from their environment. Model the behavior you would like to see in them. It can help them to build good character and develop positive feelings of self-worth. Parents can foster kindness by simple actions they show every day such as saying please and thank you, holding doors for others, picking up trash on the sidewalk or even sharing a smile as you walk past someone. Children pick up these cues and will learn to practice them on their own.

Talk About Kindness

Having talks with your child about how we share kindness with others is also important. Explain to them that kindness means how we show care for others. Help them express what that means and allow them to provide examples of what can be done to show kindness. Parents can also use everyday situations to highlight instances where kindness is present. Talk with your child about his or her day and help point out moments where kindness could have helped the situation or made the moment better. The more you highlight kind moments, the easier it will be for your child to know kindness is all around them!

Use Books and Movies to Discuss Kindness

You can also take moments with your child while you are watching a movie or reading a book together to discuss what you have seen.

If you watch a film and the main character is being kind, ask your child about the character and see if he or she can identify what “kind” means. CommonSense Media has a great list of movies to consider.

Sit together and read a book that talks about kindness. Here are just a few to consider:

  • Have You Filled a Bucket?
  • Be Kind
  • Do Unto Otters
  • Kindness Starts with You
  • Kindness Makes Us Strong
  • What Does It Mean to Be Kind?
  • The Little Book of Kindness
  • I am Kind
  • ABCs of Kindness

Find out how the school takes active steps in this direction:

T.O.P.S @ GESS

What better way to promote kindness in the student body than through the leadership of students themselves! This is the main sentiment behind the T.O.P.S (Trustworthy, Open-Minded, Peer Support) programme launched in GESS in the Academic Year 2019/20.

Students enrolled in the programme are called Peer Leaders and they are selected to provide in-class lessons on resilience and weekly support sessions during lunch breaks to their peers.

Peer Leaders complete training sessions that empower them with the practical skills and strategies they need to be effective leaders. They learn how to foster relationships with others, structure group activities, lead a group well, develop meaningful and engaging activities, and provide strength-based strategies to assist their peers in managing challenges.

Thus far, our first batch of Peer Leaders have successfully completed their training. Our Primary School Peer Leaders were actively engaged in group activities to foster communication skills. Our Middle School Peer Leaders have worked hard to engage their peers with hands-on activities to reinforce lessons on kindness and resilience. Our Middle School Peer Leaders will begin their weekly lunchtime support in quarter 2.

This programme is designed according to the Peer Support Australia model which emphases that promoting student leadership and providing a social-emotional learning curriculum enhances students’ sense of responsibility and connectedness to the school which in turn limits bullying!

Thanks to our partner Gehrman Solutions for supporting us and making this programme possible!

Pink Shirt Day

For years now, our counsellors at GESS have organised this incredibly powerful event that encourages the entire school community to take an active stand against bullying. Pink Shirt Day actually began in Canada when a group of high school students wore pink shirts to school in solidarity with a boy who was bullied for wearing pink.

On 18 November, GESS will turn into a sea of pink; we don our pink shirts and turn up to learn about bullying and how best to fight it, to protect our peers and to ensure every single one of us is safe within the community. While it is not compulsory, students are encouraged to wear pink and those who choose to wear their school uniform will receive a GESS Pink Shirt Day sticker to represent their stance against bullying.

This year, due to the Covid-19 situation Pink Shirt Day had to become a virtual event but that did not deter us at all. The counsellors have created a virtual classroom – one for Primary and one for Secondary. The classroom will have resources for students to better understand what bullying is and how to manage it.

The virtual classroom is already filled up with many activities:

  • A message from our school principal Mr. Martin
  • Activities and videos from organisations such as the Singapore Kindness Movement, Touch Cyber Wellness, and Oogachaga
  • A list of book titles from GESS librarians on bullying and respect
  • Interactive activities from the GESS Student Council
  • Written content from various grades and classes
  • Activities from the counsellors

And the list continues!

It is our hope that by raising awareness about what bullying is and how we can stand against it, we show our community that KINDNESS IS ONE SIZE FITS ALL!

Singapore Kindness Movement SINGA Award

The Singapore Kindness Movement named GESS a Friend of SINGA and gave us an award in recognition of all the work we do to build a culture of inclusivity on campus, and the outreach work we do in the wider local community, too.

Singapore Kindness Movement (SKM) is a non-profit organization that executes public education programs aimed at cultivating kindness and graciousness in Singaporean society.

It is incredibly reaffirming to know that SKM sees the value in our initiatives and kindness-driven programmes and it motivates us to continue down this path!


This article has been written with the support of our counsellors Dr. Hana Adams and Jennifer März


Written by Devi Malarvanan,  External Communications Manager and Creative Strategist at GESS.

Written by

GESS International School

GESS International School

GESS has strong European foundations and believes in developing confident, forward-looking students through a celebration of respect, openness and inclusiveness. GESS is recognised for its languages and offers a choice between two main curricula: the German Curriculum or the English-speaking International Baccalaureate (IB) programme. Many other languages are offered as part of the unique ‘mother tongue’ and language enrichment programmes. The school caters to students of all ages, starting from 18 months to graduation at 18 years. A new purpose-built campus with brand new facilities opened in August 2018 at Dairy Farm Lane.