头部-心脏-自我系统。当健康比以往更重要时

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

早在1914年7月,英国爆发了后来的 "第一次世界大战 "或 "结束所有战争的战争",人们的观点与后来的严峻现实截然不同。英国民众认为,战争 "将在圣诞节前全部结束",这表明这将是一场迅速和决定性的战争,正常生活将很快恢复。遗憾的是,到了1915年1月,人们清楚地看到,最初的希望将被痛苦和现实所取代,这场战争,确实发生了,将持续更长时间,并对20世纪产生最大影响之一。

这样做的目的是让我们反思,早在2020年3月,当大多数学校转为在线学习时,我们有那种希望和信念,认为我们将能够很快回到我们的业务中去 - 可能最迟将在2020年8月为下一学年开放我们的学校。现在,随着我们接近11月,学校仍然关闭,LSSR(大规模社会限制)的限制非常正确地到位,现在是我们感受痛苦和面对现实的时候,这种大流行病不会像我们曾经希望的那样迅速解决。现在看来,COVID-19也将对我们这个21世纪产生难以置信的巨大影响。

那么,这给学校带来了什么?在国际和国内部门,通过考试进行评估的尝试和测试模式是不可能的,所以必须找到替代方案。在线教学与面对面的教学不一样:教师必须采取灵活的方法;基于探究的学习和创造性的任务已经变得突出。家长们亲身体验到,原来在教室里的技能现在进入了他们的客厅,我们非常感谢他们的支持和反馈。在COVID-19之前,那些在我们的词典中被重新激活的词语变得更加突出。复原力、勇气、勇敢都是我们经常对自己、学生和同事反复强调的。

然而,有一个词、一种精神状态和一种真正的关注,已经取代了我们目前可以提供的教育模式的许多要素。幸福。现在,这比以往任何时候都更成为学校的优先事项,因为我们希望在这个重大的混乱时期支持我们的学生、他们的家庭、我们的同事和我们自己。

雅加达英国学校(BSJ与所有其他学校一样,在为我们的学生、家庭、员工和社区提供可能的最佳服务方面,"福祉 "这个话题一直是我们的中心议题。最大的问题仍然是:什么是学校的福祉,它是什么样子的?对于我们学校来说,无论是面对面的学习还是在线学习,它都是为我们的学生提供一个框架,使他们在身体和情感上感到安全(即使是在远程学习中),我们可以提供支持和指导,以确保他们能够应对和发展,并被倾听,甚至在这个非常时期需要的任何方式支持。

2019年8月,我们改变了时间表,使中学的每个学生都有三十分钟的安康课。在这段时间里,我们使用了两个创新和开创性的福祉课程的全球明星供应商,以确保我们的学生能够感觉到我们的课程有深度和意义。自2019年1月以来,BSJ已经向我们的学生和员工引入了带有培训的慈悲系统思维和工具。这项合作是与著名的彼得-圣吉博士和梅特-波尔教授领导的麻省理工学院(MIT)进行的。其目的是为我们的安康课程带来更好的培训和意义。 ǞǞǞ.在中学,每天有30分钟的时间纯粹用于讨论福祉。我们还与澳大利亚墨尔本吉隆文法学校的积极教育研究所合作,该研究所已经创建了一个全面的福祉课程。2020年8月,我们为7-8-9年级(11-14岁)的学生推出了MIT-BSJ幸福框架。我们并不畏惧以在线方式推出。我们的幸福计划是建立在曼陀罗之上的,四个领域齐头并进,以改善我们自己和我们的幸福。BSJ的四个领域是头-心-自我-系统。

所有的孩子都开始了一段旅程,他们的绝大部分时间都是在学校度过的。这个旅程在很大程度上是一个孩子,或者就我们而言,我们的学生在寻找他们从童年到青春期以及从青春期到成年的道路。为了帮助他们,我们使用麻省理工学院的 "同情系统 "工具,涵盖的第一个主题是 "了解自己"。学生们在老师的引导下,从他们的头脑--我做得怎么样;我如何应对和理解?心,如何理解自己和我的情绪?自我--我的旅程是什么,我怎样才能到达那里?系统--可能是他们自己的家庭系统、学校的系统或可能是他们自己的生态系统--这个系统如何支持他们,如何需要改进?它所做的是让学生通过对自己的探究有更多的了解,并随后了解他们如何学习。

当我们等待日常生活中的积极变化时,现在是拥有成长心态的时候,看看我们如何能够为目前正在被破坏的世界做出改进,这将对我们所有的未来产生巨大影响。谈到福祉,很简单,在 ǞǞǞ在这一时期,无所作为不是一种选择。我们对自己、我们的使命和愿景以及我们的社区负有责任,在这个前所未有的时代为我们所有人提供最好的福祉。

撰写人

雅加达英国学校

British School Jakarta

雅加达英国学校(BSJ)成立于1974年,得到了英国大使馆的支持,为该市的国际流动学生提供教育。 1994年,学校迁至宾塔罗,占地44英亩,在教室和设施方面提供世界一流的教育,包括一个750个座位的剧院、体育、音乐和语言中心。

Head-Heart-Self-System: When Wellbeing Is More Critical Than Ever

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Back in July 1914 in Great Britain, the outbreak of what was to become ‘World War 1’ or the ‘war to end all wars’ the population had a very different viewpoint than what was to become a stark reality. There was a belief amongst the British population that the war ‘will all be over by Christmas’ indicating that it would be a swift and decisive war and that normality would resume all too quickly. Regretfully, by January 1915, it was clear to see that the initial hope was to be replaced with the anguish and reality that this war, as indeed happened, was going to be much longer and have one of the largest impacts on the twentieth century.

The purpose of this is for us to reflect that back in March 2020, as most schools switched to online learning, there was that hope and belief that we would be able to return to our business soon – possibly the latest would be to open our schools for the next academic year in August 2020. Now, as we approach November, schools still closed, LSSR (Large Scale Social Restrictions) restrictions quite rightfully in place, it is now very much our time to feel the anguish and face the reality that this pandemic will not be resolved as quickly as we had once hoped. It is also looking very much like COVID-19 will have an incredibly large impact on this, our twenty-first century.

So where does it leave schools? In both the international and national sector, the tried and tested model of assessment through examinations was not possible, so alternatives had to be found. Online teaching is not the same as face-to-face: teachers have had to be agile in their approach; inquiry-based learning and creative tasks have come into prominence. Parents have had a first-hand experience at the skills that were in the classroom now coming into their living room and we have greatly appreciated their support and feedback. Words that have been rejuvenated in our lexicon before COVID-19 have become even more prominent. Resilience, Courage, Bravery are all ones that we iterate to ourselves, our students and colleagues regularly.

Yet, there is one word, one type of state of mind and one genuine concern that has superseded many elements of the education model that we can currently provide: WELLBEING. Now more than ever is this a priority for schools as we look to support our students, their families, our colleagues and ourselves is the major time of disruption.

At the British School Jakarta (BSJ), as with all other schools, the topic of Wellbeing has been front and centre for us in terms of providing the best provision that is possible for our students, our families, our staff and our community. The big question remains; what is Wellbeing for a school and what does it look like? For us as a school, whether face-to-face or online learning, it is to provide a framework for our students so that they feel safe physically and emotionally (even in remote learning), that we can provide support and guidance to ensure that they can cope and flourish and be listened to and even more so supported in any way that is needed in these extraordinary times.

In August 2019, we altered our timetable so that every student in the Secondary School has a thirty-minute wellbeing lesson. In this time, we have used two stellar global providers of innovative and pioneering Wellbeing programmes to ensure that our students can sense that there are depth and meaning to our programme. Since January 2019, BSJ has introduced Compassionate Systems Thinking and Tools with training to both our students and staff. The collaboration has been with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) headed by the renowned Dr Peter Senge and Professor Mette Boell. The purpose is to bring better training and meaning to the Wellbeing programme at BSJ. In Secondary School, there is a thirty-minute period a day that is devoted purely to wellbeing. We are also working with the Institute of Positive Education from Geelong Grammar School in Melbourne, Australia, that has created a comprehensive Wellbeing curriculum. In August 2020, we launched the MIT-BSJ Wellbeing Framework for students in Years 7-8-9 (11-14-year-olds). We were not daunted by launching in an online capacity. The anchor of our Wellbeing programme is one that is founded upon a Mandala, four areas that work together in unison to improve ourselves and our wellbeing. The four areas for BSJ are Head – Heart – Self – System.

All children embark upon a journey, the vast majority of their time which is spent in schools. The journey is very much a child, or in our case, our students finding their path from childhood to adolescence and from adolescence to adulthood. To help them, the first topic that we have covered, using Compassionate Systems tools from MIT is ‘know myself’. The students guided by the teachers reflect and see their journey from their Head – how am I doing; how am I coping and understanding? The Heart, how to understand myself and my emotions? The Self – what is my journey and how am I going to get there? And the System – it could be their own family system, the system of the school or possibly their own ecosystem – how is that system supporting them and how does it need to improve? What it does is give the students a greater sense of understanding through inquiry of themselves and subsequently of how they learn.

As we wait for positive changes in our day-to-day lives, it is the time to have a growth mindset, to see how we can improve for a world that is currently being disrupted that will have a large impact on all of our futures. When it comes to Wellbeing, quite simply at BSJ, doing nothing is not an option. We owe it to ourselves, our mission and vision and our community to provide the best Wellbeing for all of us in these unprecedented times.

Written by

British School Jakarta

British School Jakarta

The British School Jakarta (BSJ) was founded in 1974 with support from the British Embassy to provide an education for internationally mobile students in the city. In 1994, it moved to Bintaro; a 44 acre site that has been constructed to provide a world class education in terms of bespoke teaching and learning in the classroom and facilities that include a 750 seater theatre, sports, musical and language centres.