多语制及其对认知发展的影响

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

关于多语言的含义有很多分歧,但弗朗索瓦-格罗斯让提出的定义可能是最受欢迎的。在这位著名的语言学家看来,"多语者是那些在日常生活中使用两种或两种以上语言的人"。 在我们生活的这个全球化世界里,鉴于目前多语言已经成为一种必需品,这真是一种特权。今天的孩子们正成长在这样一个世界里,他们的视觉、生活和行动将越来越成为现实。

这就是为什么 Eurocolegio Casvi为了在学生中促进国际教育,该校不仅采用了一种基于 "国际 "的方法。 国际文凭(IB)但也提倡在学校时间表内学习三种外语,并将其作为一门课程。英语,从第一年开始,德语和中文从小学五年级开始。

它是通过非常实用的课程进行的,以口头和书面理解和表达为主,强调外语的自发性。学生以小组形式学习,由母语和双语教师授课,并采用最创新的学习方法。在ESO和Bachillerato课程中,他们是按照级别来划分的。

在认知层面上使用多语言的好处

从小掌握一种以上的语言是非常积极的,因为这有助于他们在成长过程中完美掌握一种以上的代码。 这使他们能够接受不同的现实和机会,从而进一步充实自己。

多语言儿童在学习领域也享有优势。一般来说,他们的选择性注意力水平比其他人要高;同时,他们的记忆能力也要高很多。这是因为他们不断地对词语进行比较、归类和组织,从这种不可思议的能力中,他们获得了一定程度的语言意识,促进了无数技能的发展。

  1. 据研究人员罗德里格斯-普哈达斯说。
    - 更大的心理灵活性。
    - 在形成概念方面的优势。
    - 一套更加多样化的心理能力。

  2. 根据索莱-梅纳的说法,学习一种以上语言的儿童是。
    - 更有创意。
    - 在由想象各种答案而不是寻找问题的正确答案组成的任务中,他们往往能获得更好的结果。例如:想象一个杯子可以有多少种用途。

  3. 在多伦多(加拿大),来自罗特曼研究所的一个科学小组进行了一项研究,他们发现多语言的人可以将影响精神功能的症状,如记忆、解决问题的能力等,推迟长达五年之久。

  4. 另一方面,某些研究专注于非语言的认知控制任务,如莫雷诺-费尔南德斯的研究,显示出双语者与单语者的行为优势。
    - 它有利于建立更多样化的关系。
    - 它使人们和个人之间能够获得更好的知识。

在幼年时期学习多语言的重要性

几年前,一组美国研究人员发现,在大脑的额叶中,第二语言,即那些较晚习得的语言,其代表性与母语或母语的代表性在不同的地方。然而,当不同的语言同时和早期获得时,两者通常位于额叶的共同区域。

由于这些大脑区域是专门针对口语的,而不是针对语言理解的,所以不同的大脑位置可以解释为什么晚期的双语者总是被认为是这样的,因为无论他们如何练习,都无法像母语者那样用第二语言进行口头表达。一切都表明,当语言学得很晚时,它不再被安装在大脑中最适合它的区域。

因此,最好的语言学习计划是在人们很小的时候就把语言引入到日常生活中,这意味着尽可能地把语言带入家庭、学校、职业和休闲环境中。

撰写人

欧洲私立卡斯维国际学校

Eurocolegio Privado Internacional Casvi

Eurocolegio Casvi是一所成立于1985年的私立国际学校,提供高质量的国际教育。本校自成立以来,就有一个明确的使命和理念,即教育是导致更好的生活质量的转型基础。

Multilingualism and its effect on cognitive development

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

There are many discrepancies about the meaning of multilingualism, but the definition that François Grosjean offered is probably the most popular one. For this famous linguist, “multilingual people are those who use two or more languages in their daily lives”.  A real privilege in the global world in which we live given that being multilingual has currently become a necessity. Today’s children are growing up in a world in which seeing, living and moving around will increasingly become their reality.

That is why Eurocolegio Casvi, with the aim of promoting an international education among its students, not only uses a methodology based on the International Baccalaureate (IB), but also promotes learning three foreign languages within the school timetable and as a curricular subject: English, from the first year of life, and German and Chinese from 5th grade of Primary School.

It is carried out through eminently practical classes, with a predominance of oral and written comprehension and expression, emphasizing the spontaneity of the foreign language. Students work in small groups, with native and bilingual teachers, and by means of the most innovative methods of learning. In ESO and Bachillerato they are conformed according to level.

Benefits of multilingualism at a cognitive level

Mastering more than one language from an early age is very positive as it helps them to grow up having a perfect command of more than one code.  It allows them to open up to different realities and to opportunities that will enrich themselves further.

Multilingual children also enjoy advantages in the field of learning. In general, they have a higher level of selective attention than the rest; also, their memory capacity is much higher. This is because they are constantly comparing, categorizing and organizing words, and from this incredible ability, they gain a level of language awareness that promote the development of a myriad of skills:

  1. According to researcher Rodriguez Pujadas:
    – Greater mental flexibility.
    – A superiority in the formation of concepts.
    – A more diversified set of mental abilities.

  2. According to Solé Mena, children who learn more than one language are:
    – More creative.
    – They tend to obtain better results in tasks that consist of imagining various answers rather than finding the correct answer to a question. For example: imagining the number of uses that can be given to a cup.

  3. In Toronto (Canada), a scientific team from the Rotman Research Institute conducted a study in which they found that multilingual people can delay symptoms affecting mental functions such as memory, problem-solving ability, etc., by up to five years.

  4. On the other hand, certain studies focused on non-linguistic cognitive control tasks, such as that of Moreno-Fernandez, showing behavioral advantages in bilinguals vs. monolinguals.
    – It facilitates the establishment of more diverse relationships.
    – It allows to gain better knowledge between peoples and individuals.

Importance of multilingual learning at an early age

A few years ago, a group of American researchers discovered that, in the frontal lobe of the brain, the representation of second languages, those that are acquired late, is in a different place from that of native or mother tongues. However, when the different languages are acquired simultaneously and early, both are usually located in common areas of the frontal lobe.

Since these areas of the brain are specific to spoken language and not to its comprehension, the different brain location may explain why late bilinguals are always recognized as such, since they never, no matter how much they practice, come to express themselves verbally as native speakers in their second languages. Everything indicates that when language is learned late, it is no longer installed in the areas of the brain that are best conditioned for it.

Thus, the best language learning program is one that introduces the language into people’s daily lives at an early age, which means bringing it, as far as possible, into the family, school, professional and leisure environments.

Written by

Eurocolegio Privado Internacional Casvi

Eurocolegio Privado Internacional Casvi

Eurocolegio Casvi is a co-ed Private International School founded in 1985 that offer high-quality international education. The Day and Boarding School has, since its inception, a strongly defined mission and philosophy based on the belief that education is the foundation for the transformation that leads to a better quality of life.