玩转注意力。如何与儿童一起练习正念

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

你有没有听说过这样一句话:"你的注意力在哪里,你的能量就流向哪里?"励志演讲者经常说这句话,试图让你致力于实现你的目标,不要把时间浪费在不必要的事情上。这是一个很好的建议,我们都很愿意遵循!但是,在实践中,有时却很难做到。然而,在实践中,它有时比我们想象的更具挑战性。 

你有没有感觉到你有追求有意义或积极的事情的良好意图,但你的注意力被社交媒体上突然出现的东西完全劫持了?我确信,我们大多数人在某些时候都有这种感觉。让我们来探讨一下这个问题是如何产生的。

我们如何学会关注正确的事情?

我们可能下班回家或有一些宝贵的时间给自己,"只是看看 "发生了什么的冲动意味着,除非我们的注意力得到控制,否则我们已经签了社交媒体的兔子洞。你有过这样的经历吗?我知道我有。一旦我们检查了我们最初设定的目标,我们很容易被吸引到其他的东西。这不可避免地导致了其他的东西,以此类推,直到我们最终意识到我们在一个与我们开始的地方完全不同的地方,也许在看可爱的猫咪视频或填写Facebook调查,向我们所有的朋友宣称我们最像哪个历史人物。 

如果我们把每周做 "爱丽丝科技乐园 "的时间加起来,那么....,也许它可以被更好地利用。不过,我们不要在这里评判自己!心灵有偏离我们意图的倾向,根据媒体制作人菲尔-库克的说法。 

"21世纪最宝贵的商品是全神贯注'。 

菲尔-库克

一些公司正在利用他们对心理学和人们工作方式的了解,有意垄断你的注意力。你只需要用谷歌搜索一下 "注意力是一种商品 "这个短语,就可以了解到更多这方面的信息。好的是,现在你知道了这些,你就可以开始要求收回你的注意力了!这需要练习,但值得。这需要练习,但这是值得的。 

了解我们的感官有助于我们过滤掉不必要的刺激

考虑到我们的童年,我们如何学会注意,以及我们是否有机会探索我们的思想如何工作,可以让我们对我们如何容易分心有很大的了解。我们可能都经历过父母或老师在我们童年的某个时刻告诉我们 "注意!"。你还记得听到这句话时的感觉吗?对于我所教的许多人,无论是成人还是儿童,他们都说,"感觉很刺耳",他们 "做错了什么"。因此,我经常邀请他们用 "玩注意力 "来代替。我们致力于关注不同的事物,注意到我们的思想游离,并有意将其转移到我们关注的事物上。我们以好奇心和同情心的态度来做这件事,以确保这永远不会让人觉得是对不注意的惩罚。这样,我们就可以开始要求我们的思想回来,与它们一起工作,并看到我们的经历可以多么迷人。 

注意力就像一块肌肉:你练得越多,它就越强壮。

练习用注意力玩耍的方法 

  1. 通过注意你的注意力开始你的一天。请你自己做几次缓慢的深呼吸,看看你是否能从头到尾跟随吸气和呼气的过程。当然,你的思想会游离于 "待办事项 "清单、问题解决和故事之中。这在我们所有人身上都会发生。只要回到下一次呼吸,并与自己达成协议,注意你一整天的注意力在哪里。 
  2. 试试瑜伽等有助于培养意识的练习,如这一项。 1小时瑜伽课--与露西一起 "欢迎"。 https://youtu.be/TV8EYu3qG1k
  3. 开始定期的正念练习--现在有一些很好的应用程序,如Headspace、Smiling Mind和Coursera的一些新的免费课程,以及泰国UWC正念资源页面上的所有免费练习。 

通过 露西-凯勒 - 泰国UWC大学心智学系主任

撰写人

UWC泰国国际学校

UWC Thailand International School

在华大基因,我们的目标是实现这一使命,在我们对 "良好的心态、平衡的心理和健康的身体 "之间的联系的信念的支持下,提供有思想、多样化的教育。

Playing Attention: How to Practice Mindfulness With Children

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Have you ever heard the phrase, “where your attention goes your energy flows?” Motivational speakers say this a lot to try and get you to commit to your goals and not waste time on unnecessary things. It’s great advice which we would all love to follow! However, in practice, it is sometimes more challenging than we think. 

Have you ever felt like you had good intentions in pursuing something meaningful or positive for your wellbeing but then your attention was totally hijacked by something that popped up on social media? Most of us have at some time, I am sure. Let’s explore how this works.

How do we learn to pay attention to the right things?

We might get home from work or have a few precious moments to ourselves and the urge to ‘just check’ what is going on means that unless we have our attention in check, we have just signed up to the rabbit hole of social media. Have you been there? I know I have! Once we have checked with what we initially set out to, we can easily get drawn into something else. This inevitably leads to something else, and so on until we eventually realise we are in a completely different place from where we started, perhaps looking at cute cat videos or filling out a Facebook survey that will proclaim to all our friends, which historical figure we most resemble. 

If we add all up of that weekly time being ‘Alice in TechLand’, well…. perhaps it could have been better spent. Let’s not judge ourselves here though! Minds have the tendency to wander away from our intentions and according to media producer, Phil Cooke, 

“ The most valuable commodity of the 21st century is undivided attention.’’ 

Phil Cooke

Some companies are using their knowledge of Psychology and how people work, to intentionally monopolise your attention. You only need to google the phrase ‘attention as a commodity,’ to find out more about this. The good thing is that now you know this, you can begin to claim your attention back! It takes practice but it is worth it. 

Understanding our senses helps us filter out unnecessary stimulation

Considering our childhood, how we learned to pay attention and whether we were given the opportunity to explore how our minds work can give us a great insight into how we easily get distracted. We probably all experienced our parents or teachers telling us to “PAY ATTENTION!” at some point during our childhood. Do you remember how it felt to hear that? For many people that I teach, adults and children alike, they say, ‘it feels harsh’ and that they were ‘doing something wrong’. Therefore, I often invite them to ‘play attention’ instead. We work with attending to different things, noticing when our mind wanders and intentionally shifting it back to whatever we were focusing on. We do this with an attitude of curiosity and compassion to ensure that this never feels like the punishment of not paying attention. This way, we can begin to claim our minds back, work with them and see how fascinating our experiences can be. 

Attention is like a muscle: the more you practice, the stronger it becomes.

Ways of Practicing Playing with Attention 

  1. Begin your day by noticing your attention. Invite yourself to take a few slow deep breaths and see if you can follow the in-breath and out-breath from beginning to end. Of course, your mind will wander off into ‘to do’ lists, problem-solving and stories. This happens to all of us! Just come back to the next breath and make a pact with yourself to notice where your attention is throughout the day. 
  2. Try a practice such as yoga which helps to develop awareness such as this one: 1 hour Yoga Class – ‘Welcoming’ with Lucy https://youtu.be/TV8EYu3qG1k
  3. Begin a regular mindfulness practice- there are some great apps out there such as Headspace, Smiling Mind and some new free courses with Coursera, as well as all the free practices available on the UWC Thailand Mindfulness Resources page. 

By Lucy Keller – UWC Thailand Head of Mindfulness

Written by

UWC Thailand International School

UWC Thailand International School

At UWCT, we aim to realise this mission by delivering a mindful, diverse education underpinned by our belief in the connection between a “Good Heart, Balanced Mind, and Healthy Body”.