如何在在线学习中茁壮成长

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

今年不可预见的COVID-19大流行病已经渗透到我们生活的各个方面,包括现在的学生如何进行学习。在线学习对大多数人来说可能听起来令人生畏--因为人们可能会担心在线课程是否会成功地取代典型的教育经验,或者增加的屏幕时间是否会对学生的健康产生影响--但是,仍然有可能有一个全面的学习旅程,就像我们在雅加达英国学校(BSJ)所发展的那样。

为每个学生找到合适的平衡点

雅加达英国学校认为,在线学习应该是个性化的,它不是 "千篇一律 "的。每个学生都有独特的优势、技能和兴趣。我们让学生更多地控制自己的学习方式和内容--如果一整天的在线学习太多,或者某种类型的家庭作业不能满足学生的需要,更多的灵活性总是有帮助的。

雅加达英国学校的教师

促进学生、家长和教师之间的良好沟通

在这个充满挑战的时期,保持沟通渠道的畅通,为学生的成功做好准备是至关重要的。在BSJ,我们认真听取学生和家长的反馈,以完善我们的在线学习活动。除了提供虚拟舱,让教师与学生一对一地交流宝贵的反馈意见外,我们还每周定期举行一次家长在线会议。

家长、教师和学生之间的沟通和灵活性是至关重要的

利用实用的数字平台

帮助学生和家长充分利用我们的在线学习经验是我们的宗旨。BSJ有自己的IT服务台,通过电子邮件、实时聊天和电话,帮助学生和家长解决各种技术问题。在这段时间里,我们的图书馆也依然坚挺--我们提供虚拟故事会、电子书、有声读物和取书服务,确保我们的学习者不会中断对学习资源的使用。甚至我们的图书馆还有一个计划,学生和工作人员可以收到由我们优秀的图书管理员随机挑选的书籍,让你在呆在家里的时候也能品味到。

关注学生的福祉

作为一所学校,我们如此重视个人健康的所有五个主要方面:身体、情感、社会、智力和精神。而在这个高压力的时代,我们意识到学生可能会面临许多挑战--把整个在线学习本身就是一种全新的教育方式的事实。

这使BSJ有别于其他学校:我们总是通过咨询和日常课程来照顾学生的健康,甚至在大流行病发生之前。我们自己的经验丰富的辅导员在上课时间总是可以帮助学生克服个人、学术或社会方面的困难。此外,BSJ每天在学生和教师之间进行30分钟的签到,以便为学生创造一个舒适和安全的空间来表达自己。关于这一主题的深入研究将在我们的下一篇文章中进行介绍。

学生在家里参加有趣的社区活动

不要忘记游戏的重要性!

我们怎么强调这一点都不为过,特别是对年轻的孩子。游戏是学习的主要载体,因为它为自我发现和社会联系提供了机会。通过游戏,学生们可以利用他们在学科中所学到的知识,以及尝试自己的新想法。

这就是为什么在我们的幼儿园,我们定期给学生发送艺术和工艺工具和材料、粉笔、橡皮泥、白板和计数贴纸,以配合他们在家里的独立学习活动。除此之外,BSJ还有 "周五封锁现场",学生可以展示他们的音乐能力,还有几个年级组的 "趣味周五",鼓励学生穿着令人兴奋的服装参加虚拟课堂。

明白我们的意思了吗?学习绝对应该是有趣的 - 即使是在网上。

撰写人

雅加达英国学校

British School Jakarta

雅加达英国学校(BSJ)成立于1974年,得到了英国大使馆的支持,为该市的国际流动学生提供教育。 1994年,学校迁至宾塔罗,占地44英亩,在教室和设施方面提供世界一流的教育,包括一个750个座位的剧院、体育、音乐和语言中心。

阅读下一篇

How to Thriving During Online Learning

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The unforeseen COVID-19 pandemic this year has penetrated every aspect of our lives, including how students do their studies nowadays. Online learning may sound daunting for most people—as anxieties could arise whether the online courses will successfully substitute quintessential education experience or whether the increase of screen time would be healthy for the students—but it is possible to still have a holistic learning journey, just like what we have been developing at The British School Jakarta (BSJ).

Find the right balance for each student

The British School Jakarta believes that online learning should be personalised, it is not “one-size-fits-all”. Each student has unique strengths, skills, and interests. We give students more control of how and what they want to learn – more flexibility always helps if a full day of online learning is too much or a certain type of homework does not cater to the students’ needs.

Teachers at British School Jakarta

Foster good communication between students, parents, and teachers

During this challenging time, it is vital to keep the lines of communication open and to set students up for success. At BSJ, we listen carefully to our students’ and parents’ feedback to refine our online learning activities. Besides providing virtual pods that allow teachers to exchange valuable one-on-one feedback with students, we also hold regular parent online meetings once every week.

Communication and flexibility between parents, teachers, and students is vital

Utilise practical digital platforms

Helping students and parents make the most of our online learning experience is what we are all about. BSJ has our own IT Helpdesk to assist students and parents with a variety of technical queries through email, live chat, and call. Our libraries are still standing strong during this time too – we provide virtual storytime sessions, ebooks, audiobooks, and a pick-up service to make sure that our learners do not have interrupted access to learning resources. Even our libraries have a programme where students and staff could receive a random book selected by our wonderful librarians for you to savour while staying at home!

Focus on students’ wellbeing

As a school, we put such great importance on all five main aspects of personal health: physical, emotional, social, intellectual, and spiritual. And in this time of high stress, we are aware that students may face many challenges – putting the fact that the whole online learning itself is an entirely new way of being educated.

This sets BSJ apart from other schools: we always look after student wellbeing through counseling and daily sessions, even before the pandemic happened. Our own experienced counselors are always available during school hours to help students overcome difficulties in personal, academic, or social difficulties. Moreover, BSJ does daily check-in(s) between students and teachers—for 30 minutes per day—in order to create a comfortable and safe space for students expressing themselves. A deeper dive regarding this topic would be featured in our next post.

Students participate in fun community events from home

Don’t forget the importance of play!

We cannot emphasise enough the importance of this, especially for the younger ones. Play is the primary vehicle of learning, as it opens opportunities for self-discovery and social connections. Through play, students are allowed to use what they have learned in their academic subjects as well as try out new ideas of their own.

That is why in our Kindergarten, we regularly send students art & craft tools and materials, chalk, playdough, whiteboard, and counting stickers to accompany their independent learning activities at home. Other than that, BSJ has “Friday Lockdown Live” where students can demonstrate their musical abilities and “Fun Fridays” in several year groups that encourage students to attend the virtual class in exciting costumes.

See what we mean? Learning definitely should be fun – even when it is online.

Written by

British School Jakarta

British School Jakarta

The British School Jakarta (BSJ) was founded in 1974 with support from the British Embassy to provide an education for internationally mobile students in the city. In 1994, it moved to Bintaro; a 44 acre site that has been constructed to provide a world class education in terms of bespoke teaching and learning in the classroom and facilities that include a 750 seater theatre, sports, musical and language centres.

Read next