为什么选择职业相关教育

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

引导您的孩子到正确的学校完成学业,并继续接受高等教育或职业生涯,是一个极其重要的决定。

学校是否会给你的孩子提供技能和教育,让他们为这个正在以前所未有的速度变化的世界做好准备?

不同行业和职业道路的发展速度比培养我们学生的大学学位要快。许多学生在完成三年或四年的学位后,意识到他们获得的资格不再与他们的梦想工作相关。这导致学生不得不继续追寻更多的资格,或在低薪或无薪的实习中工作以获得所需的经验。

不管是好是坏,传统的上大学,希望得到一份终身工作的途径,对大多数毕业生来说根本不起作用。同样,寻找新员工和潜在领导者的公司,也不是在寻找在班上名列前茅和获得最高成绩的候选人。相反,他们正在寻找具有全球意识、创造性和灵活性的人,他们拥抱变化,寻找动态的解决方案,而不是试图应用不适合的过时的理论。

对职业相关的教育有许多误解。当我在美国读高中时,对于那些在学业上有困难的学生,有一些选择。这些课程,如木材或金属加工,非常注重为学生准备体力劳动的工作。对于发展个人技能或为世界做好准备的技能,或者为他们毕业后将面临的更大问题做好准备,几乎没有任何重视。这些课程当然不会让他们进入大学,也不会让他们在所学技能之外有任何职业。

如果我们快进到过去10年,你会发现与职业相关的课程在许多方面已经超过了在更传统的偏重学术的环境中可以得到的东西。领导这一变化的是 国际文凭组织(IB)。 与职业相关的课程(IBCP)。IBCP允许为学生个人的需求和激情量身定制更具体的课程。将文凭科目的学术课程与职业相关的研究结合起来,可以在发展现代世界所需的技能和个人素质的同时,实现学术上的进步。这种个性化的教育方法使学生和他们的老师有更多的参与。

蒙特勒国际学校 我们是一所完全的IBCP学校。这意味着我们已经创建了两个具体的职业相关学习途径。

我们的教师和教员来自他们所教的行业;我们的客座讲师也来自在本地和国际上经营的企业,使我们的学生能够真正了解他们以后可能会遇到的情况。

我们的两个职业相关研究(CRS)中的第一个侧重于酒店业,由我们在瑞士教育集团内的合作伙伴的讲师以及全职的MIS工作人员授课。这个CRS专门与商业管理DP课程搭配,让学生学习理论和学术技能,然后通过为真正的客户做项目,将它们应用到他们的酒店管理科目中。该课程允许学生提前进入瑞士教育集团的任何一所高等教育机构学习一年,这些机构都是世界十大酒店管理学院之一。

第二个CRS专业是商业与数字营销。这与心理学专业搭配,使我们的学生能够更深入地了解人类行为,然后将其应用于营销方法。这两种途径还包括语言和文学以及一门现代外语,并有机会在学习结束后开始实习,以获得雇主和大学正在寻找的真实世界的经验。

这种为世界准备的学习与国际文凭课程的学术完整性相结合,使我们的学生在人群中脱颖而出。然而,真正帮助你的孩子成熟为自信的年轻人的是IBCP核心课程。个人和专业技能课程帮助我们的学生确定自己的优势,并发展与学术和职业相关的技能。 服务学习课程支持学生识别国际或当地问题,并设计自己的创新解决方案,积极帮助更广泛的社区内的其他人。 语言发展促进了语言在当地环境和更远地区的应用,最后,反思项目使学生能够更好地了解自己作为个人,以及他们的行为如何影响人们对他们的看法。

与职业相关的教育不只是为了在毕业后获得一份工作。现代职业相关教育是为我们未来的领导者共同构建的;具有国际视野,意志坚定,为世界做好准备。这是一个真正探索他们想去的方向的机会。这可能是大学,发展他们自己的企业,在国际上从事接待工作或深入研究数字营销。无论他们的下一步是什么,我们的毕业生已经准备好走向世界。

Peter Slade, 校长
蒙特勒国际学校瑞士

撰写人

蒙特勒国际学校

Montreux International School

在MIS,学生学习国际文凭组织(IB)的职业相关课程(CP),该课程是为16-19岁的学生设计的,它借鉴了IB核心模式的学术严谨性,并结合了职业相关学习和现实世界的经验。MIS目前正在提供两个定制的职业相关课程,一个是与瑞士教育集团学校合作的商业和酒店管理的IBCP,另一个是商业和数字营销的IBCP。

Why Choose a Career Related Education

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Guiding your children to the correct school to complete their studies and go on to either higher education or a career is an extremely important decision.

Will the school give your child the skills and education that will prepare them for a world that is changing at a pace never before seen?

The different industries and career pathways are developing faster than the university degrees that are preparing our students. Many students finish a three or four year degree and realise that the qualifications they have gained are no longer relevant to their dream job. This leads to students having to chase after further qualifications or work in low or no pay internships to gain the experience required.

For good or bad, the traditional route of going to university in the hope of getting a job for life, simply isn’t working for the majority of graduates. Likewise, companies looking for new employees, and potential leaders, are not looking for the candidate who came top of their class and received the highest grades. Instead, they are looking for globally aware, creative and flexible people who embrace change and look for dynamic solutions rather than trying to apply outdated theories that don’t fit.

There are many misconceptions of a career related education. When I was in high school in the United States there were options available for students who had difficulties with academic work. These were courses such as wood or metal work and focused very much on preparing the students for manual labour jobs. There was little or no importance given to developing personal or world ready skills or preparing them for the bigger issues that they would face after graduation. These were certainly not courses which would give them university entrance or any career beyond the skills they were taught.

If we fast forward to the last 10 years, you’ll find that career related programmes have in many ways surpassed what is available in a more traditional academically biased environment. Leading this change is the International Baccalaureate® (IB) Career-Related Programme (IBCP). The IBCP allows for more specific courses tailored to the individual students needs and passions. Combining academic courses from their diploma subjects with career related studies allows for academic progression whilst developing the skills and personal attributes required for a modern world. This personalised approach to education allows for greater engagement by students and their teachers.

At Montreux International School we are a fully IBCP school. This means is that we have created two specific career related study pathways.

Our teachers and faculty come from the industries they are teaching; our guest lecturers also come from businesses that are operating locally and internationally, allowing our students to have a true insight into what they may expect later in life.

The first of our two career related studies (CRS) is focused on the Hospitality Industry, which is delivered by lecturers from our partners within the Swiss Education Group as well as full-time MIS staff. This CRS has been specifically paired with the Business Management DP course to allow students to learn the theory and academic skills but then apply them to what is delivered in their Hospitality subjects through projects for genuine clients. This course allows advanced entry up to a year in any of the Swiss Education Groups higher education institutions which are all in the top ten hospitality schools in the world.

The second CRS specialises in Business with Digital Marketing. This has been paired with the Psychology DP to allow our students greater insight into human behaviour which can then be applied to their approaches to marketing. Both of these pathways also include Language and Literature plus a modern foreign language with opportunities to embark on internships at the end of their studies to give them the real-world experiences employers and universities are looking for.

This combination of world ready learning combined with the academic integrity of the IB diploma courses sets our students apart from the crowd. However, what really helps your child mature into confident young adults is the IBCP Core. The Personal and Professional Skills Programme helps our students to identify their strengths and develop academic and career related skills.  The Service Learning course supports the students to identify international or local issues and design their own innovative solutions to actively help others within the wider community.  Language Development promotes the application of the language within the local environment and further afield and finally, the Reflective Project enabling students to better understand themselves as individuals and how their actions impact how they are perceived.

Career-related education is not simply about getting a job after graduation. A modern career-related education is co-constructed for our future leaders; internationally minded, determined and ready for the world. It’s an opportunity to really explore the direction they want to go in. This could be university, developing their own business, working internationally in hospitality or delving into Digital Marketing. Regardless of the next step in their journey, our graduates are world ready.

Peter Slade, Head of School
Montreux International School, Switzerland

Written by

Montreux International School

Montreux International School

At MIS, students study the International Baccalaureate’s (IB) Career-related Programme (CP), which is designed for students between the ages of 16-19, and draws on the academic rigour of the core IB model in combination with career-related study and real-world experience. MIS is currently offering two bespoke career related courses, an IBCP in Business and Hospitality in partnership with Swiss Education Group schools and an IBCP in Business and Digital Marketing.