大学申请的思考。12年级学生必读的提示

北京耀中国际学校(北京耀中)随着四月的结束,世界各地为中学后的学术生涯做准备的13年级学生正在决定他们将在哪里度过他们的未来四年。在 北京耀中国际学校越来越多的学生收到了来自全球各地学校的特殊邀请。

对于12年级学生来说,大学申请之旅才刚刚开始。我们采访了两位即将毕业的高年级学生,Rene Huang和Wilfred Wu,听听他们对自己大学申请经历的反思,以及他们对开始考虑大学申请的年轻同学的建议。

你明年将在哪里上大学?

威尔弗雷德。 我将前往伦敦或加拿大温哥华上大学,但还没有做出最后决定。
雷内。 我还在考虑在伦敦的UCL和温哥华的UBC之间选择。

在选择你想申请的大学时,对你来说最重要的因素是什么?

威尔弗雷德。 对我来说,最重要的因素是该大学是否有我想学习的专业。显然,如果牛津大学没有提供我想学习的专业,即使我得到了去的机会,我也不会选择去。
雷内。 的专业。由于我想一毕业就去工作,我想确保我所学的课程能给我提供在当前市场上找到好工作所需的技能。

对于你的大学生活,你最期待的是什么?

威尔弗雷德。 我最期待的是在大学里学习新的知识,以及获得大量的新经验。
雷内。 我期待着在另一个国家生活并学会独立。

申请过程中最困难的部分是什么?

威尔弗雷德。 在申请过程中没有什么特别困难的地方,特别是因为我们有一个 大学辅导员 来帮助我们。最困难的是,在我们的每一个其他课程项目之外,我们需要按照规定的截止日期完成我们的申请。

你希望你以不同的方式做什么(如果有的话)?

威尔弗雷德。 我希望我在个人陈述中对学习我想学习的东西表现出更大的热情。我绝对觉得我应该花更多时间和精力来完善我的个人陈述。
雷内。 我希望我在申请时能更仔细地选择大学。由于我没有仔细研究每个课程的细节,我最终浪费了一些选择,而我本可以申请其他更适合我的大学。

你对现在开始大学申请过程的12年级学生有什么建议?

1. 一定要尽早开始。这并不意味着在你的IBDP第一年结束时就已经有了你想去的地方;这只是意味着开始考虑你可能想在大学学习什么。
2. 对你想去的大学做大量的研究。除了大学本身,你应该了解大学所在国家的情况(生活方式、生活费用、文化等)。
3. 不要把排名看得太重。我一开始看排名,是因为这是了解有哪些大学的好方法,但你选择申请某些大学的原因不应该只是因为它们排名高。
4. 一些大学以其学术成就而闻名,或比较有名,但并不意味着你应该上这些大学。雇主有时会倾向于看你毕业于哪所大学,但不要仅仅依靠你的大学的名气来找工作。你获得的学位是更重要的凭证,除了工作或志愿者经验等其他因素外,雇主还会考虑。
5. 在这个阶段,始终保持你的选择。除非你申请医学、牙医学、兽医学或牛津剑桥(牛津大学和剑桥大学),这些大学的截止日期较早,否则你不必急于在12年级或暑假完成你的大学申请。在IBDP结束时,你很可能会改变你想学的东西或你想去的地方,这就是为什么向一系列大学提出申请的重要性。

University Application Reflections: Must-read Tips for Year 12 Students

Yew Chung International School of Beijing (YCIS Beijing)As April comes to an end, Year 13 students around the world preparing for their post-secondary academic careers are coming to decisions on where they will be spending their next four years. At the Yew Chung International School of Beijing, students have been flooded with exceptional offers from schools across the globe.


For Year 12 students, the university application journey is just beginning. We spoke with two of our graduating seniors, Rene Huang and Wilfred Wu, to hear their reflections on their college application experience and what advice they would give to their younger classmates who are starting to consider their college applications.

Where will you be attending university next year?

Wilfred: I will be heading to London or Vancouver, Canada for university, but have not yet made my final decision.
Rene: I’m still considering between UCL in London and UBC in Vancouver.

What were the most important factors for you when choosing which universities you wanted to apply for?

Wilfred: The most important factor for me was whether or not the university had the major I wanted to study. Obviously, I would not choose to go to Oxford if they didn’t offer something I wanted to study, even if I had received the opportunity to go.
Rene: The major. Since I would like to go to work as soon as I graduate, I want to ensure the course I study gives me the skills I need to find a good job in the current market.

What are you most looking forward to about your university experience?

Wilfred: I’m most looking forward to learning new knowledge at university as well as a gaining a host of new experiences.
Rene: I’m looking forward to living in another country and learning to be independent.

What was the most difficult part of the application process?

Wilfred: There was nothing in particular that was very difficult about the application process, especially because we had a university guidance counsellor to help us. What was most difficult was on top of every other project we had for classes, we needed to complete our applications according to the set deadlines.

What do you wish you had done differently (if anything)?

Wilfred: I wish I had demonstrated more passion towards studying what I wanted to study in my personal statement. I definitely feel that I should have spent more time and paid more effort to my personal statement to perfect it.
Rene: I wish I had chosen the universities more carefully when applying. Since I didn’t look as closely as I should have into each of the course details, I ended up wasting some of my choices when I could have applied for other universities that were more suitable for me.

What advice do you have for Year 12 students beginning the university application process now?

1. Definitely start early. This doesn’t mean to have a place in mind where you want to go by the end of your first year of IBDP; it simply means to start thinking about what you might want to study in university
2. Do a lot of research about the universities you want to attend. In addition to the university itself, you should find out about the country that the university is located in (lifestyle, living costs, culture, etc.)
3. Don’t take rankings too seriously. I started off by looking at rankings because it was a good way to find out what universities are out there, but the reason you choose to apply to certain universities shouldn’t just be because they rank high.
4. Just because some universities are known for their academic excellence or are more famous doesn’t mean you should attend them. There is sometimes a tendency for employers to look at which university you graduated from, but don’t rely solely on the fame of your university to get a job. The degree you receive is the more important credential that employers will consider in addition to other factors like work or volunteer experience.
5. Always keep your options open at this stage. There is no rush for you to complete your university application in Year 12 or over the summer, unless you’re applying for Medicine, Dentistry, Veterinary Medicine, or Oxbridge (Universities of Oxford and Cambridge), which have early deadlines. It’s likely that you’ll change your mind about what you want to study or where you want to end up by the end of IBDP, which is why it’s important to put in applications to a range of universities.


Yew Chung International School of Beijing (YCIS Beijing)

Yew Chung International School of Beijing (YCIS Beijing)

Beijing
Situated in downtown Honglingjin Park, Yew Chung International School of Beijing (YCIS Beijing) provides international education to expatriate children aged 2 – 18. Recognised as one of the top international ...
Read More

Leave a comment