出国留学的四大理由

尽管超过一半的美国大学生说他们想出国留学,但只有不到10%的人真正在海外大学度过一个学期。想出国的学生和实际出国的学生之间的差距是一个悲剧,因为出国留学是最好的教育经历之一。

学习一种语言

在一个闷热的教室里真正学习一门外语几乎是不可能的。学习语法和背诵词汇,是大多数大学使用的标准语言学习模式,根本无法转化到现实世界中。知道如何连接不规则动词,对你在餐馆点菜或在酒吧勾引可爱的女孩或男孩几乎没有任何帮助。

根据Omniglot的说法,学习外语的唯一可靠方式是沉浸式学习。出国留学迫使你放下恐惧,学会自然地说话,这与儿童掌握语言技能的方式相同。当你在外国练习你的语言技能时,你会学习语言的节奏,当地的成语和奇特的口音。这些都不可能在你本国的课堂上实现。

培养自信心

留学为学生提供了巨大的个人成长机会,特别是在他们的自信心和独立性方面。根据IES Abroad的数据,超过97%的留学校友说他们的经历有助于提高他们的成熟度,96%的人报告说自信心有所提高。

自信的提高对学生有多方面的帮助。更大的自信往往导致在就业市场上有更好的表现。它帮助学生在未来结交新朋友,并帮助他们应对不可预测的压力,而这些压力是现代生活的一个永久特征。

结交朋友

国际学习是建立终生友谊的不二法门。大多数留学人员最终会与其他国际学生和当地人结成亲密朋友。根据IES Abroad的数据,超过一半的参与者说他们与在国外学习期间认识的人保持着定期联系。

这些友谊往往导致未来的旅行机会。当你认识住在巴黎的人时,订机票就容易多了,因为你知道你会和你的老伙伴们度过一段美好的时光。

提高学术技能

留学鼓励学生参与新的学术挑战,它往往导致更好的学习成绩和更高的毕业率。印第安纳大学的一项研究发现,超过95%的留学学生在6年或更短时间内毕业,而没有留学的学生只有65%。加州大学圣地亚哥分校的另一项研究表明,即使控制了他们的高中成绩和考试分数,留学学生的GPA也更高。

学习成绩提高的原因很复杂,也不甚明了,但其中一个很大的因素是,海外学习提高了学生的积极性和自我价值。在外国有经验的学生似乎比留在国内的学生更重视教育。

经历过出国留学经历的学生会发现它有难以置信的收获。

Top 4 Reasons to Study Abroad

Even though more than half of all American college students say they’d like to study abroad, fewer than 10 percent actually spend a semester at an overseas university.

The gap between the number of students who want to go abroad and those that actually do is a tragedy because study abroad is one of the best educational experiences possible.

Learn a Language

Really learning a foreign language in a stuffy classroom setting is nearly impossible. Studying grammar and memorizing vocabulary, the standard language-learning model used at most universities, simply doesn’t translate to the real world. Knowing how to conjugate irregular verbs does virtually nothing to help you order food at a restaurant or hit on a cute girl or guy at a bar.

According to Omniglot, the only reliable way to learn a foreign language is immersion. Studying abroad forces you to let go of your fears and learn to speak naturally, the same way children pick up language skills. When you practice your language skills in a foreign country, you learn the rhythms of the language, the local idioms and the peculiar accent. None of that is possible in a classroom in your home country.

Develop Self-Confidence

Study abroad offers students tremendous opportunities for personal growth, especially in terms of their self-confidence and independence. According to IES Abroad, more than 97 percent of study abroad alums say their experience helped improve their maturity, and 96 percent reported improved self-confidence.

Gains in self-confidence help students in a variety of ways. Greater confidence often leads to better performance on the job market. It helps students make new friends in the future and helps them cope with the unpredictable stresses that are a permanent feature of modern life.

Make Friends

International study is a surefire recipe for building lifelong friendships. Most study abroad students end up making close friends with other international students and with locals. According to IES Abroad, more than half of all participants say they remain in regular contact with people they met during their foreign studies.

Those friendships often lead to future travel opportunities. When you know somebody who lives in Paris, it’s a lot easier to book a flight secure in the knowledge you’ll have a great time with your old pals.

Improve Academic Skills

Study abroad encourages students to engage with new academic challenges, and it often leads to better academic performance and higher graduate rates. A study at Indiana University found that more than 95 percent of study abroad students graduated in six years or less, compared to 65 percent of students who did not study abroad. Another study at the University of California at San Diego demonstrated that study abroad students have higher GPAs, even after controlling for their high school performance and test scores.

The reasons for the boost in academic performance are complex and poorly understood, but one big factor is that study abroad enhances students’ motivation and self-worth. Students with experience in a foreign country seem to value education more than those who stay home.



Students who go through the experience of studying abroad find it incredibly rewarding.

Leave a comment