学习外语的六个理由

我们问大不列颠学校社区,为什么他们认为学习外语是一个好主意,以及为什么学校对此非常重视这一点,以及维护学生的母语,这是学生,父母的一些答案和学生提出了!

1。它可以帮助您建立信心

学习外语是一种令人难以置信的有益的经历,也是一个认真的信心提升。它将帮助您克服一些恐惧和疑问,了解更多关于自己,结识新朋友,也许可以前往您以前永远不敢拜访的地方。

2。它增加了您的大脑力量

多伦多的约克大学的一名心理学家艾伦·比利斯托克(Ellen Bialystok)发现,学习外语的学生在标准化测试上的得分往往比单语同龄人更好,尤其是在数学,阅读和词汇类别的类别中。此外,伦敦大学学院大约在同一时间进行的一项研究表明,学习其他语言改变了灰质 – 大脑区域处理信息的区域,就像运动锻炼肌肉一样。

3。它确实改变了您的旅行经历

旅行不仅仅是拍摄漂亮的照片并将其发布在Facebook或Instagram上,或者在五星级全包度假胜地度过一周。学习外语,甚至只有少数短语,都可以使您的旅行体验变得更好。当地人所说的语言的知识不仅会导致温暖的微笑,它可能会给您带来您从未梦想过的机会。最重要的是,它将通过向您深入了解您将遇到的人们的文化和历史来丰富您的生活。

4。它将帮助您获得更好的工作

我们生活在一个日益全球化的世界中,公司不断扩大海外并与来自世界各地的客户打交道。在两个具有完全相同技能和经验的候选人之间,提供另一种或两种语言的人可以说,可以找到这份工作。这位经济学家还指出,虽然根据一个乐观的估计,但世界一半的人可能会在2050年之前说英语,但“仍然会留下数十亿人,而数十亿的人仍然更快乐(并且更愿意花钱)自己的语言,”文章总结道。另外,研究表明,对外语的知识会带来经济利益。

5。你可以打动周围的人!

无论是与您的朋友在订购“羊角面包aux amandes avec du chocolat chaud chaud”的餐饮咖啡馆,还是用正确的发音与当地人交谈,学习外语必然会给您留下深刻的印象。当然,给人们留下深刻印象不应该是您选择学习外语的原因,但这是一个不错的分支!

6。它可以帮助您在海外学习或居住

如果您正在寻找生活中的兴奋和冒险,那么外语可能只是正在等待打开的门。为什么不去欧洲生活一段时间?还是南美呢?无论您想要什么,都知道第二语言会突然缩小世界并带给您一生的机会!

不列颠尼加的国际母语日

大不列颠学生,父母和工作人员庆祝国际母语日。这是一个由联合国教科文组织创立的假期,旨在庆祝多语言和保护母语免受灭绝。一天始于一场神话般的游行,学生们必须展示自己的国家服装和旗帜。大不列颠是一个跨国社区,共同在语言群体中共同努力,为学生提供有趣的活动,以便在下午参与,这些活动解释了构成不列颠尼卡家族的各种文化和母语语言。


Britannica International School,上海 rel =“ noopener noreferrer”> ”
大不列颠国际学校(Britannica International School)为成为英国拥有的英国托管学校而感到自豪,并拥有英国教师。在前法国特许经营权和上海中心的15分钟内,该学校以辨别上海家庭的首选国际学校的声誉而闻名。

“

Top Reasons to Learn a Foreign Language

le-regent-logoOn the 21st February, Britannica students, parents and staff recently celebrated International Mother Language Day.

We asked around the Britannica School community why they thought that learning a foreign language was a good idea, and why the school puts so much emphasis on this as well as maintaining pupils’ mother tongue here are some of the answers students, parents and pupils came up with!


“It helps you develop confidence”

Learning a foreign language is an incredibly rewarding experience and a serious confidence booster. It will help you to overcome some of your fears and doubts, learn more about yourself, meet new people, and perhaps travel to places you would’ve never dared to visit before.

They say it increases your brain power

A psychologist at York University in Toronto, Ellen Bialystok, has found that students who study foreign languages tend to score better on standardised tests than their monolingual peers, particularly in the categories of math, reading, and vocabulary. Additionally, a study conducted around the same time at University College London has shown that learning other languages altered grey matter – the area of the brain which processes information – in the same way exercise builds muscles.

It really alters your travel experiences

Travel is not just about taking pretty pictures and posting them on Facebook or Instagram, or spending a week in a 5-star all-inclusive resort. Learning a foreign language, even as little as a handful of phrases, will make your travel experiences so much better. Not only will the knowledge of the language the locals speak result in warm smiles it might bring you opportunities that you’d never dreamt of. Best of all, it will enrich your life by offering you a deeper understanding of the culture and history of the people you’ll encounter.

It will help you get a better job

We live in an increasingly globalised world and companies are constantly expanding overseas and dealing with clients from all over the world. Between two candidates with the exact same skill set and experience, the person who offers another language or two is arguably much more likely to get the job. The Economist also points outs that while, according to one optimistic estimate, half the world’s people might speak English by 2050, “that still leaves billions who will not, and billions of others who remain happier (and more willing to spend money) in their own language,” the article concludes. Plus, studies show that knowledge of a foreign language brings economic benefits.

You can impress people around you!

Whether at a fancy cafe with your friends ordering ‘des croissants aux amandes avec du chocolat chaud’ using correct pronunciation, or talking with the locals in their native tongue, learning a foreign language is bound to impress more than a few people around you. Of course, impressing people should not be the reason why you choose to learn a foreign language, but it’s a nice offshoot!

It helps you to study or live overseas

If you’re looking for some excitement and adventure in your life, a foreign language might just be the door that’s waiting to be opened. Why not go and live in Europe for a while? Or what about South America? Whatever it is that you want, knowing a second language will suddenly shrink the world and bring you opportunities of a lifetime!

International Mother Language Day at Britannica


Britannica students, parents and staff celebrated International Mother Language Day. This is a holiday founded by UNESCO to celebrate multilingualism and to protect native languages from extinction. The day started with a fabulous parade where students got to show their national costumes and flags. Britannica is a multinational community that worked together in language groups to provide fun activities for students to participate in during the afternoon that explained the variety of cultures and mother tongue languages that make up the Britannica family.



LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS SCHOOL

le-regent-college-logo

Britannica International School is proud to be a British Owned, British Managed school and is staffed with British Teachers. Within fifteen minutes of the Former French Concession and centrally located in Shanghai, the school has a reputation as an international school of first choice for discerning Shanghai families.

Learn-More-Button

Leave a comment