Wie man in der Sixth Form überlebt - und gedeiht

Der Eintritt in die Oberstufe einer Schule ist eine aufregende Zeit voller neuer Erfahrungen, da sich die Schüler auf ihre Lieblingsfächer konzentrieren können.

Doch damit einher geht der stressige Prozess der Vorbereitung auf die A-Levels, die Bewerbungen für die Universität und - haben wir die Prüfungen schon erwähnt? Karen Prout, Head of Sixth Form an der Harrow International School Bangkok, ist eine Expertin in allen Aspekten des Sixth-Form-Lebens. Sie hat bereits Hunderte von Schülern dieser Tages- und Internatsschule mit britischem Lehrplan an Top-Universitäten auf der ganzen Welt geführt, darunter Cambridge und Yale.
Sie hat den folgenden Ratschlag:

Ratschläge zum Überleben - und Gedeihen - in der Sixth Form

Sie müssen nicht wissen, was Sie an der Universität studieren wollen, oder sogar welches Land, wenn Sie mit den A-Levels beginnen.

Studenten ändern oft ihre Meinung, wenn sie beginnen, A-Level-Fächer in größerer Tiefe zu erkunden. Mein Rat ist, Ihre Optionen breit zu halten und das zu wählen, was die Universitäten der Russell Group in Großbritannien "erleichternde" Fächer nennen.

Scheuen Sie sich nie, um Hilfe zu bitten

von Lehrern und Mitgliedern des Sixth Form Teams. Wir haben volles Verständnis für den Stress des A-Level-Studiums - ein geteiltes Problem ist ein halbes Problem.

Having English as a second language isn’t a barrier to join the top universities.

In Harrow Bangkok haben wir einige Schüler, die in unsere Sixth Form eintreten, nachdem sie nur zwei Jahre lang Englisch gelernt haben. Mit harter Arbeit und der Unterstützung der Lehrer schließen sie mit hervorragenden A Level Ergebnissen ab und gehen auf die besten Universitäten der Welt.

Feiertage sind wichtig!

Wir sagen unseren Schülern, wie wichtig es ist, gut zu essen, Zeit mit der Familie zu verbringen und sich auf ihr allgemeines Wohlbefinden zu konzentrieren. Unsere Schüler sind voll in eine Vielzahl von Programmen eingebunden, die die Schule anbietet, von gemeinnütziger Arbeit bis hin zu Führungsrollen und Sport.

Um in Vorstellungsgesprächen an der Universität wirklich zu glänzen,

die Nachrichten lesen und informierte Meinungen zu aktuellen Themen entwickeln. Die Universitäten suchen nach Studenten, die eine echte Leidenschaft für das Lernen und ein bestimmtes Gebiet haben. Finden Sie Ihre Leidenschaft und Sie werden nie einen Tag in Ihrem Leben arbeiten!
Bewertungen von Studenten:
Warum ich Harrow Bangkok für die Sixth Form gewählt habe:

Rückblick-Pligne

Ich hoffe, Medizin an der Universität zu studieren - es ist wirklich hilfreich, in der Sixth Form zu sein, da wir eine Medics Society haben, die uns hilft, auf unseren Karriereweg hinzuarbeiten. Das Rayleigh Centre ist fantastisch. Die meisten unserer Kurse finden in diesem brandneuen Gebäude statt, so dass es sich anfühlt, als wäre es nur für uns Sixth Formers.
Pligne

Rezension-Natalie

I was at school in Vietnam before I came here. I was attracted to Harrow Bangkok as I want to study A Levels so I can apply to Oxford and Cambridge – the Sixth Form tutors here offer intensive help for this application process. I take part in the Model United Nations (MUN) that the School runs, which develops our confidence and leadership skills, and gives us the chance to meet people from other countries.
Natalie

Rückblick-Gund

Ein Schüler in Harrow Bangkok zu sein bedeutet, dass man immer volle Unterstützung für das hat, was man tun möchte. Als ich mit meinen Freunden eine Wohltätigkeitsgruppe gründen wollte, traf ich mich mit dem Team "Leadership in Action" der Schule, das mir half, dies in die Tat umzusetzen und Reisen zu organisieren, um unterprivilegierte Schulen in vielen Provinzen in ganz Thailand zu unterrichten. Ich glaube, dass Harrow Bangkok das beste Sixth Form Team in Bangkok hat. Sie verbringen unzählige Stunden damit, uns mit neuen Möglichkeiten auszustatten, um uns mit den Fähigkeiten auszustatten, die wir brauchen, um in der Zukunft erfolgreich zu sein.
Gund

How to survive – and thrive – at Sixth Form

Harrow-International-School-Bangkok-Logo
Joining a school Sixth Form is an exciting time full of new experiences, as students can focus their studies on their favourite subjects.

But with this comes the stressful process of revision for A Levels, university applications, and did we mention exams? Harrow International School Bangkok’s Head of Sixth Form, Karen Prout, is an expert in every aspect of Sixth Form life, having guided hundreds of students at this British Curriculum day and boarding school onto top universities around the world including Cambridge and Yale.
She has the following advice:

Advice to survive – and thrive – at Sixth Form
You don’t need to know what you want to study at university, or even what country, when you start A Levels.

Students often change their mind when they start exploring A Level subjects in greater depth. My advice is to keep your options broad and choose what the Russell Group universities in the UK call ‘facilitating’ subjects.

Never be afraid to ask for help

from teachers and members of the Sixth Form Team. We fully understand the stresses of A Level study – a problem shared is a problem halved.

Having English as a second language isn’t a barrier to join the top universities.

At Harrow Bangkok we have some students who join our Sixth Form having only studied in English for two years and, with hard work and teacher support, they graduate with superb A Level results and go onto the best universities in the world.

Holidays are important!

We tell our students how important it is to eat well, spend time with family and focus on their overall wellbeing. Our students are fully involved in a wide number of programmes the School offers, from community service to leadership roles and sports.

To really shine in university interviews,

read the news and develop informed opinions on current issues. Universities are looking for students who have a genuine passion for learning and a particular field. Find your passion and you will never work a day in your life!

Reviews from Students:
Why I chose Harrow Bangkok for Sixth Form:

Review-Pligne

I hope to study medicine at university – it’s really helpful being in the Sixth Form as we have a Medics Society to help us work towards our career path. The Rayleigh Centre is amazing; most of our classes takes place in this brand new building, so it feels like it’s just for us Sixth Formers.
Pligne

Review-Natalie

I was at school in Vietnam before I came here. I was attracted to Harrow Bangkok as I want to study A Levels so I can apply to Oxford and Cambridge – the Sixth Form tutors here offer intensive help for this application process. I take part in the Model United Nations (MUN) that the School runs, which develops our confidence and leadership skills, and gives us the chance to meet people from other countries.
Natalie

Review-Gund

Being a student at Harrow Bangkok means you always have full support of what you want to do. When I wanted to form a charity group with my friends, I met with the School’s Leadership in Action team, who helped me to make this a reality and organise trips to educate underprivileged schools in many provinces across Thailand. I believe that Harrow Bangkok has the best Sixth Form team in Bangkok. They spend countless hours providing us with new opportunities to equip us with the skills we need to be successful in the future.
Gund

LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS SCHOOL

Harrow-International-School-Bangkok-Logo
English National Curriculum

Harrow Bangkok is accepting admissions to their Sixth Form. To arrange a tour or make an application call 02503 7222 or email admissions@harrowschool.ac.th

Learn-More-Button

Leave a comment