寻找我的声音。反思我充满旅行的青少年时代

下面的反思是由2018级学生杰西卡-梅尼埃写的。

16岁时,我把收集目的地、航空里程和单程飞机票作为一种爱好。我的物品在我乘坐的航班的23公斤重量限制内很合适,而我的行李箱的疲劳的轮子在机场出发和到达大厅的迷宫中找到了庇护。我把三种语言像行李一样挂在嘴边,沉重而挣扎;在我父亲的母语法语和我母亲的南非本土英语之间艰难地游走,两者都有,但都不觉得是家。我在一个国家显得太像法国人,而在另一个国家又太像英国人,因此我采用了我的第三种方言,一种由混合和磨练的音调和口音自我构建的混杂物,一种根据气候和地理目的地而上升和滚动、倾斜和下降的语言。

法国塞文山脉的一个年轻的我

我出生在南非,一个被推到裂开的红色非洲大陆底部深处的土地,一个拥有11种官方语言的国家。我在这里度过了我的青春岁月,赤脚在炎热的沙滩上奔跑,在英语、南非荷兰语和祖鲁语之间,我被阳光、啤酒和大量的俚语所喂养,这些俚语对南非人以外的人来说完全没有意义。我的南非主义从未成熟到足以扎根和发展的程度;九岁时,我被从我的大家庭和朋友的纠缠中拉出来,一头扎进德克萨斯州达拉斯的干燥沙漠中。

正是在这里,我在美国的影响下度过了两年,我很快学会了抽签,你们这些人,并向国旗宣誓效忠。我过着柠檬水摊、女向导和万圣节的美国梦。我在学校里和学校外都得到了拥抱,每个人都是赢家,但是一旦我不再需要跌跌撞撞地走过一个热闹的地方,或者不再被脚、码或英里绊倒,就是收拾东西继续前进的时候了。

普罗旺斯的一个完美的夏天很快就到来了......三个朦胧的夏天是在一个被夹在圣维克托尔和埃克斯普罗旺斯之间的翻倒的艺术家房子里度过的。法语突然充满了我的味觉,我的舌头和我的世界。

从那个令人昏昏欲睡的干燥的法国夏天开始,我们就在时差的影响下进入了新加坡这个潮湿而有序的城市。法国人的淡定很快就被一种听话的、简短的英语版本所取代,这种英语被称为新加坡语。它是直接的、简短的、脆性的,有点像我们所依赖的公共交通。新加坡是安全的、闪亮的、略带机器人色彩的;单词的使用很经济,回答问题时肯定会在句子的末尾加上 "La/h"。在热带午后的大雨和鸡肉炒饭之间,我迅速了解到,为了适应环境,你必须在空白处涂色,因为大多数事情 "不能做,啦!"

摩洛哥马拉喀什的一个夜市

我还没来得及收起我高效的例行工作,就发现自己被改道到了曼谷。在这个城市里,我在摩托车出租车后面坐着,在水上出租车上保持平衡,在嘟嘟车上抓着。我通过基本的生存泰语和街头食品,用膝盖做桌面,用人行道做椅子。我被发音、不成文的规则和辣椒烫伤了舌头,然后用椰子饭中的粘稠芒果来抚慰它。我学会了随波逐流,忍受污垢、气味、洪水甚至政变。

但很快我的沙爹让位给了蛋黄酱,我收拾了我的凉鞋和纱笼,我收起了我的Wai's,用Vous et Tu取代了它们。我在行李箱里装满了纪念品,在曼谷的混乱中关上了它,然后在法国普罗旺斯昏昏欲睡的山区打开了它。我接受了艾克斯的乡土气息,在湖里游泳,从悬崖上跳下,采取了一种户外生活和态度;每周的市场、音乐节和水果采摘。我软化的舌头很快就被南方的行话弄得又厚又重,我学会了大声而坚定地发音,疯狂地打手势,同时为了更好地理解,我还加入了骂人的话。没过多久,我就具备了成为一名优秀的马赛水手的条件。然而,在 "普罗旺斯的一年 "之后,我们闩上了百叶窗,向北前进。到了里尔,那里有一年的雨水和温暖的人们。食物不同,风景平淡,方言介于口齿不清和口齿不清之间,听起来完全不像我开始掌握的法语。

当我的行李箱变得潮湿并略带霉味时,我发现了一所旅行学校--THINK Global School。这所学校的教室不是标准的4×5教室,而是以泰国真正的稻田或秘鲁的山脉为装饰,以探索、理解和拥抱现实生活的学习为精神。对于陷入外籍人士生活方式的语言障碍的学生来说,这是一个完美的选择。

与THINK全球学校一起在秘鲁徒步旅行

正是在这里,在秘鲁,高原夺走了我的呼吸,我的法语在这里变成了西班牙语。就在这里,在摩洛哥,我戴着头巾,法语又一次从我的舌头上滚落。就在这里,在旧金山的LGBTQ社区,我的口音又回来了;就在这里,在不列颠哥伦比亚省,当我在利洛特的灌木丛中蹒跚而行时,我的口音又让位于更柔和的加拿大语。

最近我回到了我的第一个家--南非,放暑假(南方的冬天),带着一系列的传统、采用的习俗和语言,我没有出生时的仪式感,但它们现在已经成为我随行人员的一部分,跟随我形成了我挪用的方言的一部分。为了平息我复杂的语言危机,更是为了适应;当我在一个瞬息万变的地方旅行时,我借用和模仿口音,形成我自己独特的方言,我可以用它来称呼我自己。

因此,当人们在第一次听我讲话后问:"你从哪里来?"无处可去,我想。

"到处都是,"我回答。

Finding My Voice: Reflecting on My Travel-Filled Teenage Years

le-regent-logoThe following reflection was written by Class of 2018 student Jessica Meniere.


At sixteen, I’ve made a hobby out of collecting destinations, air miles and one way plane tickets. My belongings fit well within the 23kg weight limit of the flights that I take, and the fatigued wheels of my suitcase find refuge in the maze of airport departure and arrival halls. I carry three languages like luggage on my lips, heavy and struggling; gutturally navigating between my father’s native French and my mother’s indigenous South African English, both, yet neither feel quite like home. I seem too French in one country, and too English in the other, and as a result I have adopted my third dialect, a self-constructed mishmash of mixed and honed intonations and accents, one that rises and rolls, pitches and falls depending on the climate and geographical destination.

A young me in Cevennes, France

I was born in South Africa, a land shoved deep at the bottom of the cracked red African continent, a country that is home to 11 official languages. I spent my youth here, running barefoot over hot beach sand, and in between English, Afrikaans and Zulu, I was fed on sunshine, boerewors and an abundance of slang that makes absolutely no sense to anyone other than South Africans. My South Africanism never matured long enough to take root and develop; and at the age of nine, I was pulled from the tangle of my extended family and friends and shipped headlong into the dry desert heat of Dallas, Texas.

It was here that I spent two years under the American influence, I quickly learnt to drawl, y’all and pledge my allegiance to the flag. I lived the American dream of lemonade stands, girl guides and Halloween. I was hugged in and out of school and everyone was a winner, but as soon as I no longer had to stumble my way through a hootenanny, or no longer tripped over feet, yards or miles it was time to pack up and move along.

A perfect summer in Provence quickly followed… Three hazy summer months spent in a tumble down artist house that was caught and wedged between the St Victoire and Aix en Provence. Frenchness suddenly filled my palate, my tongue and my world.

Straight from that lethargic dry French summer we burst jet lagged into the clammy and orderly city of Singapore. The French nonchalance was quickly replaced with an obedient and clipped version of English, referred to as Singlish. It was direct, short and brittle, somewhat like the public transport that we came to rely upon. Singapore was safe, shiny and slightly robotic; words were spent economically and answers most certainly included a ‘La/h” at the end of their sentences. In between the tropical afternoon downpours, and the chicken fried rice, I learnt quickly that in order to fit in you had to colour inside the margins because most things “cannot be done, lah!”

A night market in Marakkech, Morocco

Before I could tuck away my efficient routines, I found myself rerouted to Bangkok. A city that saw me side saddled behind motorcycle taxis, balancing on water taxis and holding on to tuk tuks. I picked my way through basic survival Thai, and street food, making table tops out of my knees and the sidewalks my chairs. I burnt my tongue on pronunciations, unwritten rules and chilli, and soothed it with sticky mangoes in coconut rice. I learnt to go with the flow, the dirt, the smells, the floods and even a coup d’etat.

But soon my satays gave way to soufflés, I packed away my sandals and sarongs, I put away my Wai’s and replaced them with Vous et Tu. I filled my suitcase with souvenirs, and closed it on the chaos of Bangkok, only to open it in the drowsy mountains of Provence, France. I embraced the provincialism of Aix, swam in lakes, dived from cliffs, adopting an outdoor life and attitude of; weekly markets, music festivals and fruit picking. My softened tongue soon became thick and heavy with the Southern lingo, I learnt to pronounce words loudly and with conviction, gesticulating wildly, while throwing in expletives for better understanding. It wasn’t long before I had the makings of a fine Marseilles’ sailor. However, after a ‘year in Provence’ we bolted the shutters and headed North. To Lille, where a year of rain and warm people ensued. The food was different, the landscape flat, and the dialect was caught between a lisp and a drawl, and sounded nothing like the French that I was beginning to master.

While my suitcase grew damp and slightly musty, I fell upon a traveling school, THINK Global School. A school whose classrooms are not the standard 4×5, but rather decorated by the real rice paddies of Thailand, or mountains of Peru, with an ethos of exploration, understanding and embracing real life learning. The perfect fit for a student caught in the language barrier of an expat lifestyle.

Hiking in Peru with THINK Global School

It was here, in Peru where the altitude stole my breathe, where my French morphed into Spanish. It was here, in Morocco clothed in my Hijab where once again French rolled off my tongue. It was here, in San Francisco amongst an LGBTQ community that the drawl returned to my lips, or here, in British Columbia as I trundled through the undergrowth in Lillooet that the drawl gave way to a softer gentler Canadian lilt.

I recently returned to South Africa, my first home, for summer break (winter down South) with a collection of traditions, adopted customs and languages that I have no birth rite to, but that have now become part of my entourage that follow me around to form part of my appropriated vernacular. In order to quell my complex linguistic crises, and even more so to fit in; while traveling a transient landscape, I have borrowed and imitated accents to form my very own distinctive dialect that I can use to call my own.

So, when people ask after hearing me talk for the first time “Where are you from?,” nowhere, I think.

“Everywhere,” I answer.


THINK Global School

THINK Global School

New York
Welcome THINK Global School is a fully accredited traveling high school where you’ll live and learn in four countries a year, making unforgettable connections between your education and the world ...
Read More

Leave a comment