Les meilleures écoles en mer

Les écoles en mer sont de plus en plus populaires dans le monde entier. Découvrez les meilleures écoles en mer et les avantages d'étudier dans une école en mer.

Avantages d'étudier dans une école en mer

Chaque élève est différent. Certains recherchent des écoles traditionnelles dans un cadre traditionnel. D'autres recherchent des alternatives où ils peuvent réaliser leur potentiel à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la salle de classe.

Une école en mer est différente. Bien que l'enseignement en salle de classe soit comparable à celui des autres écoles terrestres, les élèves participent activement à la vie à bord et ont la possibilité de se déplacer d'un endroit à l'autre.

Il s'agit d'écoles entièrement accréditées qui ont remplacé les écoles traditionnelles de type "brick-and-mortar" par des navires - grands voiliers de 90 ans, répliques plus jeunes et bateaux de croisière.

2016 Aug 17 Provisions [Photo par Kelsey Hamel]

Les rigueurs de l'environnement maritime

Vivre en mer et naviguer autour du monde présente des défis réels au quotidien. Les écoles en mer sont petites et les élèves vivent les uns près des autres, souvent sans communication régulière avec les personnes de leur foyer. De telles expériences contribuent à développer d'importantes compétences de vie telles que l'indépendance, l'empathie et la communication.

Lorsque vous fréquentez une école sur un navire, il y a toujours des tâches à accomplir. Un navire doit être navigué 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Quelqu'un doit faire le guet à chaque heure de la journée. Et la sécurité est primordiale dans l'environnement maritime. Lorsque l'on demande aux élèves d'effectuer ces tâches, on leur demande d'assumer leur part de responsabilité pour le bien commun. Si une personne ne se présente pas au quart, quelqu'un d'autre devra prendre sa place. C'est grâce à des expériences comme celles-ci que les élèves développent au quotidien le sens des responsabilités, de l'imputabilité et de l'éthique du travail.

2017 Mar 5 Amanda, Maggie, Andrea Holy Stoning Aft Deck [Photo by Kelsey Hamel]

Opportunités en mer

Bien que la vie en mer soit difficile, elle offre aux étudiants des opportunités que personne d'autre n'aura. Ils auront l'occasion de découvrir de multiples cultures dans plusieurs pays sur plusieurs continents en un an. Ils auront l'occasion de vivre des couchers et des levers de soleil du haut d'un grand navire au milieu de l'océan Atlantique. Ils auront l'occasion d'acquérir un avantage sur tous les autres en apprenant et en expérimentant comment surmonter les défis et construire une histoire qui les distinguera dans n'importe quel processus de candidature à l'université ou à un emploi.

2016 Sep 15 Bella et Nic avec un tuyau d'incendie [Photo par Kelsey Hamel]
Crédit photos : A+ World Academy

Les meilleures écoles en mer

Supprimer les filtres

Best Schools at Sea

Schools at sea are more and more popular worldwide. Discover The Best Schools at sea and the benefits to study in a school at sea.

Benefits of studying in a school at sea

Every student is different. Some look for traditional schools in traditional settings. Others search for alternatives where they can fulfil their potential inside and outside of the classroom.

A school as sea is different. Although their class room instruction is comparable with other land based schools, students also take an active part in shipboard life and have the opportunity to move from one place to the other.

These schools are fully accredited schools that have replaced the traditional brick-and-mortar schools with Ships – 90 year old tall ships, younger replicas and cruise ships.

2016 Aug 17 Provisions [Photo by Kelsey Hamel]

The rigours of a maritime environment
Living at sea and sailing around the world presents real life challenges on a daily basis. Schools at sea are small and students live close to each other, often without regular communication with people at home. Experiences like these help develop important life skills such as independence, empathy and communication.

When you attend a school on a ship there are always tasks that needs to be done. A ship must be navigated 24/7. Someone needs to stand lookout every hour of the day. And safety is paramount in the maritime environment. When students are asked to perform these tasks, they are asked to take their part of the responsibility for a common good. If one person does not show up for watch, someone else will need to fill his/her place. It’s through experiences like these that students develop a sense of responsibility, accountability and work ethic on a daily basis.

2017 Mar 5 Amanda, Maggie, Andrea Holy Stoning Aft Deck [Photo by Kelsey Hamel]

Opportunities at sea
While life at sea is challenging it allows students opportunities that no one else will have. They will have the opportunity to experience multiple cultures in multiple countries on multiple continents in one year. They will have the opportunity to experience sunsets and sunrises from the top of a tall ship in the middle of the Atlantic ocean. They will have the opportunity to gain an advantage over everyone else through learning and experiencing how to overcome challenges and building a story that will set them apart in any college or job application process.

2016 Sep 15 Bella and Nic with firehose [Photo by Kelsey Hamel]

Credit Photos: A+ World Academy



Our selection of the Best Schools at sea


A+ World Academy

A+ World Academy

Bern
A+ World Academy is a boarding school on a Tall Ship – “high school on a boat”. Up to 60 students in grades 11 and 12 live and work the ...
Read More
Class Afloat – West Island College International

Class Afloat – West Island College International

Lunenburg
Class Afloat is one of the world's leading experiential education programmes. Students sail a magnificent tall ship to 20 ports on 4 continents, while earning full academic credits through rigorous ...
Read More




Request information

Let our member schools know that you are interested in learning about their school. Provide your information below to request further information. You request will be typically processed in less than 24h.













Leave a comment