为什么瑞士能提供完美的寄宿学校体验

在facebook上分享
在google上分享
在twitter上分享
在linkedin上分享

我在英国寄宿系统工作了30多年后,于2016年9月来到瑞士,在那里我还在两所全女子学校担任了十多年的校长。

过去的一年对我来说是一个有趣而陡峭的学习曲线,因为我已经开始接受寄宿制的传统。 瑞士 并看到我们作为一个国家和一个系统的地位是多么的独特。

在Surval工作期间,我惊讶地发现,作为一所真正的国际全寄宿学校的校长,与我以前的经历有多么不同。

我遇到过一些家庭,他们的教育根源在于英国的寄宿传统,了解他们的观点以及那些选择瑞士路线的人为什么会这样做,这很有意思。

We all recognise the importance of the British boarding tradition and the impact it has had throughout the world: at its core, the emphasis on values. However, I have spoken with international families this year who are turning their backs on the UK as they consider their options for the education of their daughters – amongst their observations, is a perception that some of these core values are becoming somewhat diluted.

In defence of the institutions which I have been proud to serve in, I point out perhaps it is more a case of different priorities being foisted on 英国的寄宿学校尤其是越来越多的框框心态的束缚,因为法规的负担过重,以及强调纸张而不是人。

这给这些独立的机构带来了越来越多的挑战。 英国寄宿学校 他们还面临着对助学金的筹款和发展举措的强制强调,因为他们被期望使自己越来越容易被那些无法负担这种教育的家庭所接受。

除此之外,英国寄宿制度的核心也受到了经济形势变化的打击,因为被挤压的中产阶级一直是这些学校的根本。

在瑞士,我一直为以下情况感到振奋和鼓舞 寄宿学校 我曾访问过那些强调家庭的学校,要么是那些由同一家族世代拥有的学校,要么是那些像苏瓦尔这样的学校,家庭精神是我们提供服务的核心。这种精神的基础是勇气、好奇心、开放和诚实的价值观,它对一个核心家庭和我们的学校一样至关重要。

At Surval, we are all international students, all far from home, and we all have to look after each other, just as a family should.

虽然我们是一个小家庭,但我们是一个国际化的家庭,这意味着我们的视野没有任何狭隘的地方。我们希望我们的女孩参与社会责任,了解她们每个人都有改变世界的巨大机会,发展全球视野,这将在未来为她们服务,并帮助她们到达她们想要去的地方。

我们的环境在很多方面都有帮助。

每一天,我们都在山和湖的景色中醒来。我们的环境是一个美丽的、鼓舞人心的和丰富的环境。它提供了许多世界上最好的东西。自然世界提供了一个调色板和一个游乐场。我们的地理位置使我们能够方便地前往欧洲各地的城市,我们的学生可以从文化丰富的机会中受益。离米兰只有三个小时的路程,离日内瓦机场也只有一个多小时的路程,世界就是我们的牡蛎。

日内瓦本身提供了一系列无与伦比的机构,它们在外交、接待和商业方面引领世界--我们与其中许多机构建立了牢固的关系,它们可以帮助我们的学生发展他们未来的数学和全球视野。

如果更广阔的世界是很容易进入的。 瑞士 在这个越来越不确定的世界上,蒙特勒也为家庭提供了一个安全和稳定的地点。我们的女孩能够和她们的朋友一起步行到蒙特勒,在那里她们可以享受愉快的晚餐,或者花时间购物,探索这个湖边天堂的亮点。

我曾是一所拥有450名学生的学校的校长,该校无法像我们这里一样提供如此丰富的内容。这是一个非常小的国家,但机会是大规模的。这使我们能够为我们的每一个学生提供适合她的特殊需要的教育和丰富的内容,帮助她达到她想要达到的目标。


If the emphasis in the UK has become more about academic hot-housing, where four year olds are being coached, this is not what we are about. We have Ivy League parents, whose own educational roots lie in the British boarding model now opting to send their daughters to Switzerland and we are delighted they are choosing Surval.

我们的重点不是为学校取得最好的成绩。它是关于每个女孩达到她的最佳状态。

Enlightened parents are looking to place girls in a different atmosphere to prepare them for making a difference in the world and this is 他们为什么选择瑞士.

作者:帕特里夏-伍德豪斯夫人,索尔瓦尔-蒙特勒的校长

撰写人

苏瓦尔-蒙特勒

Surval Montreux

Surval Montreux是瑞士一所独特的国际全寄宿学校,面向12-19岁的女孩。我们提供广泛的学习课程:国际认可的IGCSE/A Level和美国高中课程;冬令营和夏令营;以及Surval Swiss Gap Experience,Surval自己的大学预科准备课程。我们的许多学生继续在瑞士、英国和美国学习商业管理、法律和国际关系。

A small country – with a lot to offer. Why Switzerland provides the perfect Boarding school experience

I came to Switzerland in September 2016 after more than 30 years of working in the British boarding system, where I also spent more than a decade as headmistress at two all girls’ schools. 
 
This past year has been an interesting and steep learning curve for me as I have come to embrace the boarding tradition in Switzerland and see quite how uniquely placed we are as a country and a system.


During my time at Surval, I have been surprised at how different it is being a Principal of a truly international full-boarding school to my previous experiences. 

I have met families who have their educational roots in the British boarding tradition, and it has been interesting learning about their perspectives and why those who have chosen the Swiss route have done so. 


 
We all recognise the importance of the British boarding tradition and the impact it has had throughout the world: at its core, the emphasis on values. However, I have spoken with international families this year who are turning their backs on the UK as they consider their options for the education of their daughters – amongst their observations, is a perception that some of these core values are becoming somewhat diluted.  

In defence of the institutions which I have been proud to serve in, I point out perhaps it is more a case of different priorities being foisted on boarding schools in the UK, notably the strictures of an increasingly box-ticking mentality over-burdened by regulations and the emphasis on paper rather than the person. 


 
This has put increasing challenges on these independent British boarding schools who have also been faced with an enforced emphasis on fundraising and development initiatives for bursaries as they are expected to make themselves increasingly accessible to families who cannot afford this education.  

In addition to this, the heart of the British boarding system has been dealt a blow by the changing economic situation for the squeezed middle class who have been fundamental to these schools. 

In Switzerland, I have been heartened and encouraged by the number of boarding schools I have visited and their emphasis on family, either those owned for generations by the same family, or those like Surval for whom a family ethos lies at the heart of what we offer. This ethos is grounded in the values of courage, curiosity, openness and honesty and it is as crucial to a nuclear family as it is to our school. 

At Surval, we are all international students, all far from home, and we all have to look after each other, just as a family should. 


 
Although we are a small family, the fact that we are an international one means there is nothing small-minded about our outlook. We want our girls to engage in social responsibility, to understand the tremendous opportunities they each have to make a difference in the world, to develop global perspectives that will serve them in the future and help them get to where they want to be.

Our setting helps in many ways.

Every day we wake to a view of the mountains and the lake. Ours is a beautiful, inspirational and enriching environment. It’s one that provides the best of so many worlds. The natural world provides both a palette and a playground. Our location gives us easy access to cities across Europe, where our students can benefit from cultural enrichment opportunities. Just three hours from Milan and a little over an hour from Geneva airport, the world is our oyster.

Geneva itself offers an unparalleled array of institutions that lead the world in diplomacy, in hospitality and business – and we have fostered strong relationships with many of them who can help our students in developing their future maths and global perspectives.
 

 
If the wider world is easily accessible, Switzerland also offers families a location that offers safety and stability in this increasingly uncertain world. Our girls are able to walk down to Montreux with their friends where they can enjoy a delightful dinner or time shopping and exploring the highlights of this lakeside haven. 

I have been a head of a school of 450 pupils that was not able to offer such enrichment that we can here. This is a very small country but the opportunities are on a large scale. And this allows us to offer each and every one of our students education and enrichment that suits her particular needs, helping her to get to where she wants to be.

 
If the emphasis in the UK has become more about academic hot-housing, where four year olds are being coached, this is not what we are about. We have Ivy League parents, whose own educational roots lie in the British boarding model now opting to send their daughters to Switzerland and we are delighted they are choosing Surval.

Our emphasis is not about achieving the best result for the school. It is about every girl reaching her best.

Enlightened parents are looking to place girls in a different atmosphere to prepare them for making a difference in the world and this is why they are choosing Switzerland.

By Mrs Patricia Woodhouse, Principal of Surval Montreux


Surval Montreux

Surval Montreux

Territet
Set in a stunning location overlooking Lake Geneva, Surval Montreux is a unique private international boarding school for girls between the ages of 12 and 19. Founded in 1961, the ...
Read More

Leave a comment